Faculty leadership

Our leadership team set the overall strategy and direction for the Faculty of Science, supporting our departments to accomplish world-class research and provide the best for our students.


Professor John Derrick

Vice-President and Head of Faculty

John graduated with a degree in Mathematics from the University of Nottingham, before taking his DPhil in Oxford.

From 1990 to 2005 he worked at the University of Kent at Canterbury then moved to Sheffield in 2005. He was Head of Department in Computer Science between 2009 and 2015.

In 2015 he was appointed to the post of Deputy PVC for Research and Innovation. John joined the Faculty of Science towards the end of 2017.

Full academic profile

Professor Andrew Fleming

Director of Research and Innovation

After completing an undergraduate degree and PhD at the University of Cambridge, Andrew led a successful research career at ETH-Zurich and the University of Bern in Switzerland, which he has continued since joining the University of Sheffield as Professor of Plant Science in 2004.

As Director of Research and Innovation he is responsible for defining the science research strategy, nurturing collaboration and supporting academics to pursue new research of a world-class standard.

Full academic profile

Dr Adam Hodgson

Director of Recruitment and International Relations

Having completed his undergraduate degree and PhD at the University of Sheffield, Adam worked for several years in the NHS before returning to the University to design and deliver a highly successful masters course, Human and Molecular Genetics MSc, and NHS work placements scheme that helps to reduce NHS patient backlogs.

Since 2021, he has brought this experience to the Director of Recruitment role, in which he is responsible for working with academic departments to attract the most talented and promising science students from across the world.

Full academic profile

Penny Jackson

Director of Operations

Penny joined the University in 2020 after spending seven years as Director of Operations for the College of Science and Engineering at the University of Leicester. Prior to that, she worked for AstraZeneca in a number of different roles.As Director of Operations, Penny works closely with the Faculty Vice-President and the other Faculty Directors to shape the strategic direction of Science at the University of Sheffield and ensure its success in teaching and research.

Professor Luke Wilson

Director of Learning and Teaching

Luke served as Director of Teaching in the Department of Physics and Astronomy before taking on his Faculty role.

He is a highly experienced lecturer in semiconductor physics, who has led the development of a specialist undergraduate laboratory for quantum optics experiments and spearheaded a number of outreach activities at the Royal Society.

Full academic profile

Heads of departments

The heads of our academic departments oversee all aspects of work in their departments, from recruiting the best students to producing great new research.

School of Biosciences

Professor Rob Freckleton

Email: r.freckleton@sheffield.ac.uk

Phone: +44 114 222 0123

Department of Chemistry

Professor Simon Jones

Email: simon.jones@sheffield.ac.uk

Phone: +44 114 222 9483

School of Mathematics and Statistics

Professor Jeremy Oakley

Email: somas-hos@shef.ac.uk

Phone: +44 114 222 3853

Department of Physics and Astronomy

Professor Paul Crowther

Email: physics-hod@sheffield.ac.uk

Phone: 44 114 222 4291

Department of Psychology

Professor Elizabeth Milne

Email: psy-hod@sheffield.ac.uk

Phone: +44 114 222 6558

A world top-100 university

We're a world top-100 university renowned for the excellence, impact and distinctiveness of our research-led learning and teaching.