Research staff

Contact details for the research staff in the Department of Electronic and Electrical Engineering.

A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  J  K  L  M  N  P  R  S  T  U  W  X  Y  Z


A

Name Role Research group Contact

Dr Robert Airey

Postdoc Research Fellow

National Epitaxy Facility T: + 44 114 222 5820
E: r.airey@sheffield.ac.uk
Mrs Rabab Alsharif Research Associate   E: rabab.alsharif@sheffield.ac.uk
Mr Fernando Alvarez Gonzalez Research Associate in Condition Monitoring of Inverter-fed Electrical Machines Electrical Machines & Drives Group E: f.alvarezgonzalez@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Ratil Ashique Research Associate in Piezoelectric and Resonant Converters Electrical Machines & Drives Group E: r.h.ashique@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Sajid Asif Research Associate in Frequency Agile Radio Communications Group

T: +44 (0)114 222 5888
E: s.asif@sheffield.ac.uk

B

Name Role Research group Contact
Dr Nasser Babazadeh Device Fabrication Engineer Semiconductor Materials & Devices Group E: n.babazadeh@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Jie Bai Research Associate Centre for GaN Materials and Devices T: + 44 114 222 5163
E: j.bai@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Saraswati Behera Research Associate in Semiconductor Nanophotonics Semiconductor Materials & Devices Group E: s.behera@sheffield.ac.uk
Mr Nicholas Boone Research Associate   E: nick.boone@sheffield.ac.uk

C

Name Role Research group Contact
Dr Yuefei Cai Research Associate   E: yuefei.cai@sheffield.ac.uk
Mr Michal Cerveny Research Associate   E: m.cerveny@sheffield.ac.uk
Mr Chen Chen Doctoral Research Fellowship in Wireless Communications Communications Group E: c.chen2@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Ed Clarke Senior Research Fellow National Epitaxy Facility E: edmund.clarke@sheffield.ac.uk

D

Name Role Research group Contact
Mr Tiantai Deng Research Engineer   E: t.deng@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Srikanth Reddy Devireddy Research Associate in GaN Electronic Devices and Circuits Semiconductor Materials & Devices Group E: s.devireddy@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Simon Dimler Research Associate in Photodiodes Semiconductor Materials & Devices Group E: s.dimler@sheffield.ac.uk

E

Name Role Research group Contact
Dr Jason Ede Research Fellow Electrical Machines & Drives Group

T: +44 (0) 114 222 5852
E: j.d.ede@sheffield.ac.uk

Mr Mohammad Eissa Research Associate in Communications   E: m.eissa@sheffield.ac.uk

F

Name Role Research group Contact
Dr Stephen Forrest Research Fellow Electrical Machines & Drives Group T: + 44 114 222 5852
E: s.j.forrest@shef.ac.uk
Dr Paul Fry Research Associate Electrical Machines & Drives Group T: + 44 114 222 5384
E: p.w.fry@sheffield.ac.uk

G

Name Role Research group Contact
Mr Suneal Ghataora Research Assistant in III-Nitride Nano-Lasers Semiconductor Materials & Devices Group E: s.ghataora@sheffield.ac.uk
Mr Matthew Grainger Instrumentation Research Engineer   E: matt.grainger@sheffield.ac.uk

H

Name Role Research group Contact
Dr Im Sik Han Research Associate in Semiconductor Epitaxy Integrated with Optical Lithography Semiconductor Materials & Devices Group E: i.han@sheffield.ac.uk
Mr Brett Harrison Research Engineer National Epitaxy Facility T: + 44 114 222 5212
E: b.a.harrison@sheffield.ac.uk
Mr Stephen Henthorn Research Associate   E: s.henthorn@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr David Hewitt Research Associate in Power Electronics Electrical Machines & Drives Group E: david.hewitt@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Khoa Dang Hoang Research and Development Engineer Electrical Machines & Drives Group T: + 44 114 222 5566
E: k.hoang@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Matthew Hobbs Research Associate Semiconductor Materials & Devices Group T: + 44 1246 581 404 
E: M.Hobbs@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Richard Hodgkinson Research Associate in Metal Additive Manufacturing Thermal Metrology Semiconductor Materials & Devices Group E: r.hodgkinson@sheffield.ac.uk
Mr Liren Huang Research Associate   E: liren.huang@sheffield.ac.uk

J

Name Role Research group Contact
Mr Sheng Jiang Research Associate in GaN Power Switching Devices Semiconductor Materials & Devices Group E: sheng.jiang@sheffield.ac.uk

K

Name Role Research group Contact
Dr Andrey Krysa Senior Research Fellow National Epitaxy Facility T: + 44 114 222 5819
E: a.krysa@sheffield.ac.uk

L

Name Role Research group Contact
Mr Wei Li Research Associate in Biophotonics   E: wei.li@sheffield.ac.uk
Mr Yanxin Li Research Associate in Integrated Power Electronics for Electric Vehicles Electrical Machines & Drives Group E: g.li@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Panagiotis Lazari Research Associate in Electrical Machines Electrical Machines & Drives Group E: panos.lazari@sheffield.ac.uk

M

Name Role Research group Contact
Dr Xiaolin Mou Research Associate   E: x.mou@sheffield.ac.uk


N

Name Role Research group Contact
Mr Ali Navabi Naeini Research Assistant in Piezoelectric Power Supplies National Epitaxy Facility E: a.navabi@sheffield.ac.uk


P

Name Role Research group Contact
Dr Pallavi K Patil Research Associate in Molecular Beam Epitaxy - National Epitaxy Facility Communications Group E: p.patil@sheffield.ac.uk

R

Name Role Research group Contact
Dr Dmitry Revin Research Associate in Biophotonics Semiconductor Materials & Devices Group E: d.revin@sheffield.ac.uk
Mr Thomas Rockett Research Associate in Metal Additive Manufacturing Thermal Metrology Semiconductor Materials & Devices Group E: t.b.rockett@sheffield.ac.uk

S

Name Role Research group Contact
Dr Elisa M Sala
 
Research Fellow in MOVPE Semiconductor Materials & Devices Group T: + 44 114 222 5212 
E: e.m.sala@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Yu Shao Marie Curie Research Fellow    
Mr Matthew Smith Research Associate in Energy Storage Systems Electrical Machines & Drives Group E: matt.j.smith@sheffield.ac.uk

T

Name Role Research group Contact
Dr Petrica Taras KTP Associate in Novel Electrical Machines, Power Electronics & Controls Electrical Machines & Drives Group E: petrica.taras@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Ofogh Tizno Research Associate in Semiconductor Photonic Devices National Epitaxy Facility E: o.tizno@sheffield.ac.uk
Mr Aristotelis Trapalis Research Associate in Molecular Beam Epitaxy National Epitaxy Facility E: a.trapalis@sheffield.ac.uk

U

Name Role Research group Contact
Dr Sana Ullah Research Associate in Electrical Machines Electrical Machines & Drives Group E: sana.ullah@sheffield.ac.uk

W

Name Role Research group Contact
Mr Tao Wang Research Associate in Wind Power, Permanent Magnet Generators and Controls Electrical Machines & Drives Group E: tao.wang@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Benjamin White Research Associate in Infrared Photodiodes Semiconductor Materials & Devices Group E: ben.white@sheffield.ac.uk

X

Name Role Research group Contact
Dr Shaoshen Xue Research Associate in Wind Power, Permanent Magnet Generators and Controls Electrical Machines & Drives Group E: s.xue@sheffield.ac.uk

Y

Name Role Research group Contact
Mr Hongyang Yan Research Associate   E: h.yan@sheffield.ac.uk
Mr Georgios Yiannakou Research Associate   E: g.yiannakou@sheffield.ac.uk
Mr Anshan Yu Research Associate in Electrical Machines Electrical Machines & Drives Group E: ayu3@sheffield.ac.uk

Z

Name Role Research group Contact
Mr Aleksandr Zaitcev Research Associate in Communications Communications Group E: a.zaitcev@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Jiliang Zhang Marie Curie Research Fellowship Communications Group E: jiliang.zhang@sheffield.ac.uk
Ms Yixin Zhang Doctoral Research Fellowship in Wireless Communications Communications Group E: yixin.zhang@sheffield.ac.uk
Mr Rui Zhao Research Associate in Power & Energy Systems Electrical Machines & Drives Group E: r.zhao@sheffield.ac.uk

Top 10 in the UK

We're in the top 10 UK Electronic and Electrical Engineering Departments (The World University Rankings 2020).