Departmental contacts

Contact information for departmental advisers.

Off

These are the departmental advisers in each academic department, for both inbound and outbound students. Some departments have different advisers for European and non European destinations.

Inbound students

The departmental advisers should be your first point of contact for academic questions whilst you are in Sheffield.

Outbound students

The role of the adviser is to give continual academic advice from enquiry stage right through to when you are overseas.

They help you identify relevant courses at the overseas universities, they're contactable while you're abroad, and they ensure you always meet your Sheffield degree requirements.

You must discuss your options with them before you submit an application.

Department Name Email
Aerospace Engineering Academic: Dr Giuliano Punzo g.punzo@sheffield.ac.uk
Animal & Plant Science

Academic: Prof Jonathan Leake (outbound non EU)

Academic: Dr Christian Voigt (outbound EU and all incoming)

j.r.leake@sheffield.ac.uk

c.a.voigt@sheffield.ac.uk

Archaeology

Academic: Dr Gianna Ayala

Support: Paul Dennington 

g.ayala@sheffield.ac.uk

p.j.dennington@sheffield.ac.uk

Architecture Academic: Dr Claudia Rojas-Bernal  c.rojas-bernal@sheffield.ac.uk
Automatic Control & Systems Engineering

Academic: Prof Zi-Qiang Lang

Support: ACSE Support

z.lang@sheffield.ac.uk

acse-support@sheffield.ac.uk

Biomedical Science Academic: Dr Martin Zeidler m.zeidler@sheffield.ac.uk
Bioengineering Academic: Dr Mahnaz Arvaneh m.arvaneh@sheffield.ac.uk
Chemical & Biological Engineering

Academic: Dr Yajue Wu 

Support: Marine Percival

y.wu@sheffield.ac.uk

m.percival@sheffield.ac.uk

Chemistry

Academic: Prof Lee Brammer (non EU)

Academic: Dr Ahmed Iraqi (EU)

Support: Michelle Bates 

lee.brammer@sheffield.ac.uk

a.iraqi@sheffield.ac.uk

m.bates@sheffield.ac.uk

Civil & Structural Engineering

Academic: Dr Maurizio Guadagnini

Support: Alice Thomas 

m.guadagnini@sheffield.ac.uk

a.v.thomas@sheffield.ac.uk

Computer Science Academic: Dr Tony Simons a.j.simons@sheffield.ac.uk

BA East Asian Studies

East Asian Studies (incoming)

School of East Asian Studies Learning and Teaching Team

Support: Mrs Clea Carroll

seas@sheffield.ac.uk

clea.carroll@sheffield.ac.uk

Economics

Academic: Dr Vassilis Sarantides

Support: David McCourt

v.sarantides@sheffield.ac.uk

david.mccourt@sheffield.ac.uk

Electronic & Electrical Engineering Academic: Dr Milijana Odavic m.odavic@sheffield.ac.uk
English Academic: Dr Agnes Lehoczky a.lehoczky@sheffield.ac.uk
French

Academic: Dr Maxime Goergen (French and Swiss incoming and outbound - semester 1)

Academic: Dr Kristine Horner (Luxembourg incoming and outbound - semester 1)

Academic: Dr Sophie Watt (French, Swiss and Luxembourg incoming and outbound - semester 2)

Support: Eleanor Madley (outbound EU)

maxime.goergen@sheffield.ac.uk

k.horner@sheffield.ac.uk

s.watt@sheffield.ac.uk

slc-yearabroad@sheffield.ac.uk

Geography

Support: Thom Sullivan

tom.sullivan@sheffield.ac.uk

Germanic

Academic: Dr Caroline Bland (German and Austrian incoming and outbound - semester 1)

Academic: Dr Seán Williams (German and Austrian incoming and outbound - semester 2)

Academic: Dr Henriette Louwerse (Dutch incoming and outbound)

Support: Eleanor Madley (outbound EU)

c.bland@sheffield.ac.uk

s.m.williams@sheffield.ac.uk

h.louwerse@sheffield.ac.uk

slc-yearabroad@sheffield.ac.uk

Hispanic

Academic: Dr Peter Watt (incoming and outbound EU)

Support: Eleanor Madley (outbound EU)

p.watt@sheffield.ac.uk

slc-yearabroad@sheffield.ac.uk

History

Academic: Dr Erin Maglaque

Support: Hayley Smith

e.maglaque@sheffield.ac.uk

h.m.smith@sheffield.ac.uk

Human Communication Sciences Academic: Dr Traci Walker traci.walker@sheffield.ac.uk
Journalism

Academic: Dr Jared Ahmad

Support: Jess Meacham

j.ahmad@sheffield.ac.uk

jess.meacham@sheffield.ac.uk

Landscape

Academic: Dr Jan Woudstra

Support: Helen Morris

Support: Mrs Emma Shaw (Year in Practice)

j.woudstra@sheffield.ac.uk

h.morris@sheffield.ac.uk

emma.shaw@sheffield.ac.uk

Law Support: Steph Symonds law.exchanges@sheffield.ac.uk
Management School

Academic: Dr Chantal Cantarelli

Support: Nathan Hobson

c.c.cantarelli@sheffield.ac.uk

mgt.erasmus-sa@sheffield.ac.uk

Materials Science and Engineering

Academic: Dr Hajime Kinoshita

h.kinoshita@sheffield.ac.uk
Mathematics

Academic: Dr Ashley Willis (non EU)

Academic: Dr Tobias Berger (EU)

a.p.willis@sheffield.ac.uk

t.t.berger@sheffield.ac.uk

Mechanical Engineering

Academic: Dr Inna Gitman

Support: Cristin Goodyear

i.gitman@sheffield.ac.uk

c.goodyear@sheffield.ac.uk

Molecular Biology & Biotechnology Academic: Dr Liz Alvey e.alvey@sheffield.ac.uk
Music Academic: Prof Adrian Moore a.j.moore@sheffield.ac.uk
Nursing and Midwifery Academic: Mr Mick Ashman m.ashman@sheffield.ac.uk
Philosophy

Academic: Dr Jules Holroyd

Support: Anne-Marie Frisby

J.D.Holroyd@sheffield.ac.uk

a-m.frisby@sheffield.ac.uk

Physics

Academic: Dr James Mullaney

j.mullaney@sheffield.ac.uk

Politics

Academic: Dr Nasos Roussias

Support: Nicola Moore

a.roussias@sheffield.ac.uk

n.moore@sheffield.ac.uk

Psychology Support: Liz Fotherby (incoming only) l.fotherby@sheffield.ac.uk
Russian and Slavonic

Academic: Dr Adam Fergus (Russian - incoming and outbound)  

Academic: Mr Luděk Knittl (Czech & Polish - incoming and outbound)

Support: Eleanor Madley (outbound EU)

a.fergus@sheffield.ac.uk

l.knittl@sheffield.ac.uk

slc-yearabroad@sheffield.ac.uk

Sheffield Methods Institute Academic: Dr Aneta Piekut a.piekut@sheffield.ac.uk
Sociological Studies

Academic: Dr Hannah Lewis

h.j.lewis@sheffield.ac.uk

Urban Studies and Planning

Academic: Dr Lee Crookes

Support: Allanah Millsom

l.crookes@sheffield.ac.uk

a.millsom@sheffield.ac.uk

A world top-100 university

We're a world top-100 university renowned for the excellence, impact and distinctiveness of our research-led learning and teaching.