Departmental contacts

Contact information for departmental study abroad advisers.

These are the departmental advisers in each academic department, for both inbound and outbound students. Some departments have different advisers for European and non European destinations.

Inbound students

The departmental advisers should be your first point of contact for academic questions whilst you are in Sheffield.

Outbound students

The role of the adviser is to give continual academic advice from enquiry stage right through to when you are overseas.

They help you identify relevant courses at the overseas universities, they're contactable while you're abroad, and they ensure you always meet your Sheffield degree requirements.

You must discuss your options with them before you submit an application.

Department Name Email
Aerospace Engineering Academic: Dr Giuliano Punzo g.punzo@sheffield.ac.uk
Animal & Plant Science

Academic: Prof Jonathan Leake (outbound non EU)

Academic: Dr Christian Voigt (outbound EU and all incoming)

j.r.leake@sheffield.ac.uk

c.a.voigt@sheffield.ac.uk

Archaeology

Academic: Prof Maureen Carroll 

Support: Paul Dennington 

p.m.carroll@sheffield.ac.uk

p.j.dennington@sheffield.ac.uk

Architecture Academic: Dr Claudia Rojas-Bernal  c.rojas-bernal@sheffield.ac.uk
Automatic Control & Systems Engineering

Academic: Prof Zi-Qiang Lang

Support: Liz Woodward 

z.lang@sheffield.ac.uk

acse-studyabroad@sheffield.ac.uk

Biomedical Science Academic: Dr Martin Ziedler  m.zeidler@sheffield.ac.uk
Bioengineering Academic: Dr Michael Trikic  m.trikic@sheffield.ac.uk
Chemical & Biological Engineering

Academic: Dr Yajue Wu 

Support: Marine Percival

y.wu@sheffield.ac.uk

m.percival@sheffield.ac.uk

Chemistry

Academic: Prof Lee Brammer (non EU)

Academic: Dr Ahmed Iraqi (EU)

Support: Michelle Bates 

lee.brammer@sheffield.ac.uk

a.iraqi@sheffield.ac.uk

m.bates@sheffield.ac.uk

Civil & Structural Engineering

Academic: Dr Maurizio Guadagnini

Support: Alice Thomas 

m.guadagnini@sheffield.ac.uk

a.v.thomas@sheffield.ac.uk

Computer Science Academic: Dr Maria-Cruz Villa-Uriol m.villa-uriol@sheffield.ac.uk

BA East Asian Studies

East Asian Studies (incoming)

Academic: Dr Hyun Kyong (Hannah) Chang

Support: Mrs Clea Carroll

hyun.chang@sheffield.ac.uk

clea.carroll@sheffield.ac.uk

Economics

Academic: Dr Vassilis Sarantides

Support: David McCourt

v.sarantides@sheffield.ac.uk

david.mccourt@sheffield.ac.uk

Electronic & Electrical Engineering Academic: Dr Milijana Odavic m.odavic@sheffield.ac.uk
English Academic: Dr Agnes Lehoczky a.lehoczky@sheffield.ac.uk
French

Academic: Dr Maxime Goergen (outbound EU)

Academic: Dr Christine Baycroft (incoming EU)

Academic: Dr Kristine Horner (Luxembourg incoming and outbound)

Support: Eleanor Madley (outbound EU)

maxime.goergen@sheffield.ac.uk

c.baycroft@sheffield.ac.uk

k.horner@sheffield.ac.uk

slc-yearabroad@sheffield.ac.uk

Geography

Academic: Dr Manoj Menon

Support: Thom Sullivan

m.menon@sheffield.ac.uk

tom.sullivan@sheffield.ac.uk

Germanic

Academic: Dr Giles Harrington (outbound EU)

Academic: Dr Caroline Bland (incoming EU)

Academic: Dr Henriette Louwerse (Dutch incoming and outbound)

Support: Eleanor Madley (outbound EU)

g.e.harrington@sheffield.ac.uk

c.bland@sheffield.ac.uk

h.louwerse@sheffield.ac.uk

slc-yearabroad@sheffield.ac.uk

Hispanic

Academic: Dr Peter Watt (incoming and outbound EU)

Support: Eleanor Madley (outbound EU)

p.watt@sheffield.ac.uk

slc-yearabroad@sheffield.ac.uk

History

Academic: Dr Erin Maglaque

Support: Hayley Smith

e.maglaque@sheffield.ac.uk

h.m.smith@sheffield.ac.uk

Human Communication Sciences Academic: Dr Traci Walker traci.walker@sheffield.ac.uk
Journalism

Academic: Dr Jared Ahmad

Support: Jess Meacham

j.ahmad@sheffield.ac.uk

jess.meacham@sheffield.ac.uk

Landscape

Academic: Mrs Emma Shaw (non EU)

Academic: Dr Eckart Lange (EU)

Support: Helen Morris

emma.shaw@sheffield.ac.uk

e.lange@sheffield.ac.uk

h.morris@sheffield.ac.uk

Management School

Academic: Dr Chantal Cantarelli

Support: Nathan Hobson

c.c.cantarelli@sheffield.ac.uk

mgt.erasmus-sa@sheffield.ac.uk

Materials Science and Engineering

Academic: Dr Hajime Kinoshita

h.kinoshita@sheffield.ac.uk
Mathematics

Academic: Dr Ashley Willis (non EU)

Academic: Dr Tobias Berger (EU)

a.p.willis@shef.ac.uk

t.t.berger@sheffield.ac.uk

Mechanical Engineering

Academic: Dr Inna Gitman

Support: Cristin Goodyear

i.gitman@sheffield.ac.uk

c.goodyear@sheffield.ac.uk

Molecular Biology & Biotechnology Academic: Dr Liz Alvey e.alvey@sheffield.ac.uk
Music Academic: Dr George Nicholson g.nicholson@sheffield.ac.uk
Nursing and Midwifery Academic: Mr Mick Ashman m.ashman@sheffield.ac.uk
Philosophy Academic: Prof Eric Olson e.olson@sheffield.ac.uk
Physics

Academic: Dr Ed Daw (Physics and Theoretical Physics)

Academic: Dr James Mullaney (Physics & Astrophysics)

e.daw@sheffield.ac.uk

j.mullaney@sheffield.ac.uk

Politics Academic: Dr Nasos Roussias a.roussias@sheffield.ac.uk
Russian and Slavonic

Academic: Prof Evgeny Dobrenko (Russian - incoming and outbound EU)

Academic: Mr Luděk Knittl (Czech & Polish - incoming and outbound EU)

Support: Eleanor Madley (outbound EU)

e.dobrenko@sheffield.ac.uk

l.knittl@sheffield.ac.uk

slc-yearabroad@sheffield.ac.uk

Sheffield Methods Institute Academic: Dr Aneta Piekut a.piekut@sheffield.ac.uk
Sociological Studies

Academic: Dr Julie Walsh

j.c.walsh@sheffield.ac.uk

Urban Studies and Planning

Academic: Dr Berna Keskin

Support: Jo Mirfield

b.keskin@sheffield.ac.uk

j.mirfield@sheffield.ac.uk

A world top-100 university

We're a world top-100 university renowned for the excellence, impact and distinctiveness of our research-led learning and teaching.