Departmental tutors

Contact information for departmental tutors.


These are the departmental tutors in each academic department, for both inbound and outbound students. Some departments have different tutors for European and non European destinations.

Inbound students

The departmental tutors should be your first point of contact for academic questions while you are in Sheffield.

Outbound students

The role of the departmental tutor is to give continual academic advice from enquiry stage right through to when you are overseas.

They help you identify relevant courses at the overseas universities, they're contactable while you're abroad, and they ensure you always meet your Sheffield degree requirements.

You must discuss your options with them before you submit an application.

Department Name Email
Aerospace Engineering Academic: Dr Giuliano Punzo

Academic: Dr Jane Rempel

Support: Paul Dennington


Support: Sue Edwards

Automatic Control & Systems Engineering

Academic: Prof Zi-Qiang Lang

Support: ACSE Support

Bioengineering Academic: Dr Chris Holland
Biosciences Academic: Dr Martin Zeidler
Chemical & Biological Engineering

Academic: Dr Yajue Wu 

Support: Marine Percival


Academic: Prof Lee Brammer (non EU)

Academic: Dr Ahmed Iraqi (EU)

Support: Michelle Bates

Civil & Structural Engineering

Academic: Dr Maurizio Guadagnini

Support: Alice Thomas

Computer Science Academic: Dr Tony Simons

BA East Asian Studies

East Asian Studies (incoming)

Academic: Dr David Tobin

Support: Katie Langwith


Academic: Dr Georgios Efthyvoulou

Support: Rachel Watson

Support: Sarah Inkson

Electronic & Electrical Engineering

Academic: Dr Jonathan Mayo-Maldonado


Academic: Dr Agnes Lehoczky


Academic: Dr Harsh Trivedi

Academic support: Audrey Small (semester 1)

Academic support: Dr Wendy Michallat (semester 2)

Support: Eleanor Madley (outbound)


Academic: Dr Sihan Li

Support: Thom Sullivan


Academic: Dr Caroline Bland (German and Austrian incoming and outbound)

Academic support: Dr Henriette Louwerse (Dutch incoming and outbound)

Support: Eleanor Madley (outbound)


Academic: Dr Louise Johnson (incoming and outbound EU)

Academic support: Dr Carmen Ramos Villar (Portuguese incoming and outbound)

Support: Eleanor Madley (outbound)


Academic: Prof Martial Staub

Support: Catherine Anderson


Academic: Dr Pawel Surowiec


Academic: Dr Jan Woudstra

Support: Helen Morris

Support: Emma Shaw (Year in Practice)


Academic: Luiza Pereira

Support: Colby Parker

Management School

Academic: Dr Richard Bruce

Support: Daniel Hector

Materials Science and Engineering

Academic: Dr Hajime Kinoshita

Academic: Dr Ashley Willis (non EU)

Academic: Dr Cristina Manolache (EU)

Mechanical Engineering

Academic: Dr Hassan Ghadbeigi

Support: Cristin Goodyear

Modern Language Teaching Centre (MLTC) Support: Paul Jepson
Music Academic: Neil McSweeney
Nursing and Midwifery Academic: Mick Ashman

Academic: Professor Eric Olson

Support: Anne-Marie Frisby

Support: Patrizia Baldi


Academic: Dr James Mullaney


Academic: Dr Luke Ulas

Support: Nicola Moore

Psychology Support: Liz Fotherby (incoming)
Russian and Slavonic

Academic: Dr Adam Fergus  

Support: Eleanor Madley (outbound)

Sheffield Methods Institute Academic: Dr Abigail Tazzyman
Sociological Studies

Academic: Dr Hannah Lewis

Support: Lucy Bloom

Urban Studies and Planning

Academic: Dr Lee Crookes

Support: Rachel Plumb

A world top-100 university

We're a world top-100 university renowned for the excellence, impact and distinctiveness of our research-led learning and teaching.