Departmental tutors

Contact information for departmental tutors.

Off

These are the departmental tutors in each academic department, for both inbound and outbound students. Some departments have different tutors for European and non European destinations.

Inbound students

The departmental tutors should be your first point of contact for academic questions while you are in Sheffield.

Outbound students

The role of the departmental tutor is to give continual academic advice from enquiry stage right through to when you are overseas.

They help you identify relevant courses at the overseas universities, they're contactable while you're abroad, and they ensure you always meet your Sheffield degree requirements.

You must discuss your options with them before you submit an application.

Department Name Email
Aerospace Engineering Academic: Dr Giuliano Punzo g.punzo@sheffield.ac.uk
Archaeology

Academic: Dr Jane Rempel

Support: Paul Dennington 

j.rempel@sheffield.ac.uk

p.j.dennington@sheffield.ac.uk

Architecture

Academic: Dr Eva Sopéoglou

e.sopeoglou@sheffield.ac.uk

Automatic Control & Systems Engineering

Academic: Prof Zi-Qiang Lang

Support: ACSE Support

z.lang@sheffield.ac.uk

acse-support@sheffield.ac.uk

Bioengineering Academic: Dr Chris Holland christopher.holland@sheffield.ac.uk
Biosciences Academic: Dr Martin Zeidler m.zeidler@sheffield.ac.uk
Chemical & Biological Engineering

Academic: Dr Yajue Wu 

Support: Marine Percival

y.wu@sheffield.ac.uk

m.percival@sheffield.ac.uk

Chemistry

Academic: Prof Lee Brammer (non EU)

Academic: Dr Ahmed Iraqi (EU)

Support: Michelle Bates 

lee.brammer@sheffield.ac.uk

a.iraqi@sheffield.ac.uk

m.bates@sheffield.ac.uk

Civil & Structural Engineering

Academic: Dr Maurizio Guadagnini

Support: Alice Thomas 

m.guadagnini@sheffield.ac.uk

a.v.thomas@sheffield.ac.uk

Computer Science Academic: Dr Tony Simons a.j.simons@sheffield.ac.uk

BA East Asian Studies

East Asian Studies (incoming)

Academic: Dr David Tobin

Support: Katie Langwith

d.tobin@sheffield.ac.uk

k.l.langwith@sheffield.ac.uk

Economics

Academic: Dr Georgios Efthyvoulou

Support: Rachel Watson

Support: Sarah Inkson

g.efthyvoulou@sheffield.ac.uk

r.watson@sheffield.ac.uk

s.inkson@sheffield.ac.uk

Electronic & Electrical Engineering

Academic: Dr Jonathan Mayo-Maldonado

j.mayo@sheffield.ac.uk

English

Academic: Dr Agnes Lehoczky

a.lehoczky@sheffield.ac.uk

French

Academic: Dr Harsh Trivedi

Academic support: Audrey Small (semester 1)

Academic support: Dr Wendy Michallat (semester 2)

Support: Eleanor Madley (outbound)

H.Trivedi@sheffield.ac.uk

A.Small@sheffield.ac.uk

W.Michallat@sheffield.ac.uk

slc-yearabroad@sheffield.ac.uk

Geography

Academic: Dr Sihan Li

Support: Thom Sullivan

sihan.li@sheffield.ac.uk

tom.sullivan@sheffield.ac.uk

Germanic

Academic: Dr Caroline Bland (German and Austrian incoming and outbound)

Academic support: Dr Henriette Louwerse (Dutch incoming and outbound)

Support: Eleanor Madley (outbound)

c.bland@sheffield.ac.uk

h.louwerse@sheffield.ac.uk

slc-yearabroad@sheffield.ac.uk

Hispanic

Academic: Dr Louise Johnson (incoming and outbound EU)

Academic support: Dr Carmen Ramos Villar (Portuguese incoming and outbound)

Support: Eleanor Madley (outbound)

P.L.Johnson@sheffield.ac.uk

C.RamosVillar@sheffield.ac.uk

slc-yearabroad@sheffield.ac.uk

History

Academic: Prof Martial Staub

Support: Hayley Smith

history.international@sheffield.ac.uk

Journalism

Academic: Dr Jared Ahmad

j.ahmad@sheffield.ac.uk

Landscape

Academic: Dr Jan Woudstra

Support: Helen Morris

Support: Emma Shaw (Year in Practice)

j.woudstra@sheffield.ac.uk

h.morris@sheffield.ac.uk

emma.shaw@sheffield.ac.uk

Law

Academic: Luiza Pereira

Support: Colby Parker

law.exchanges@sheffield.ac.uk

Management School

Academic: Dr Richard Bruce

Support: Daniel Hector

mgt.erasmus-sa@sheffield.ac.uk

Materials Science and Engineering

Academic: Dr Hajime Kinoshita

h.kinoshita@sheffield.ac.uk
Mathematics

Academic: Dr Ashley Willis (non EU)

Academic: Dr Cristina Manolache (EU)

a.p.willis@sheffield.ac.uk

c.manolache@sheffield.ac.uk

Mechanical Engineering

Academic: Dr Hassan Ghadbeigi

Support: Cristin Goodyear

h.ghadbeigi@sheffield.ac.uk

c.goodyear@sheffield.ac.uk

Modern Language Teaching Centre (MLTC) Support: Paul Jepson mltc@sheffield.ac.uk
Music Academic: Neil McSweeney n.mcsweeney@sheffield.ac.uk
Nursing and Midwifery Academic: Mick Ashman m.ashman@sheffield.ac.uk
Philosophy

Academic: Professor Eric Olson

Support: Anne-Marie Frisby

Support: Patrizia Baldi

e.olson@sheffield.ac.uk

a-m.frisby@sheffield.ac.uk

p.baldi@sheffield.ac.uk

Physics

Academic: Dr James Mullaney

j.mullaney@sheffield.ac.uk

Politics

Academic: Dr Luke Ulas

Support: Nicola Moore

l.a.ulas@sheffield.ac.uk

n.moore@sheffield.ac.uk

Psychology Support: Liz Fotherby (incoming) l.fotherby@sheffield.ac.uk
Russian and Slavonic

Academic: Dr Adam Fergus  

Support: Eleanor Madley (outbound)

a.fergus@sheffield.ac.uk

slc-yearabroad@sheffield.ac.uk

Sheffield Methods Institute Academic: Dr Abigail Tazzyman a.tazzyman@sheffield.ac.uk
Sociological Studies

Academic: Dr Hannah Lewis

Support: Lucy Bloom

h.j.lewis@sheffield.ac.uk

sociological.studies@sheffield.ac.uk

Urban Studies and Planning

Academic: Dr Lee Crookes

Support: Rachel Plumb

l.crookes@sheffield.ac.uk

usp@sheffield.ac.uk

A world top-100 university

We're a world top-100 university renowned for the excellence, impact and distinctiveness of our research-led learning and teaching.