Departmental contacts

Contact information for departmental advisers.

Off

These are the departmental advisers in each academic department, for both inbound and outbound students. Some departments have different advisers for European and non European destinations.

Inbound students

The departmental advisers should be your first point of contact for academic questions whilst you are in Sheffield.

Outbound students

The role of the adviser is to give continual academic advice from enquiry stage right through to when you are overseas.

They help you identify relevant courses at the overseas universities, they're contactable while you're abroad, and they ensure you always meet your Sheffield degree requirements.

You must discuss your options with them before you submit an application.

Department Name Email
Aerospace Engineering Academic: Dr Giuliano Punzo g.punzo@sheffield.ac.uk
Archaeology

Academic: Dr Gianna Ayala

Support: Paul Dennington 

g.ayala@sheffield.ac.uk

p.j.dennington@sheffield.ac.uk

Architecture

Academic: Eva Sopéoglou

Academic: Iulia Statica 

e.sopeoglou@sheffield.ac.uk

i.statica@sheffield.ac.uk

Automatic Control & Systems Engineering

Academic: Prof Zi-Qiang Lang

Support: ACSE Support

z.lang@sheffield.ac.uk

acse-support@sheffield.ac.uk

Bioengineering Academic: Dr Mahnaz Arvaneh m.arvaneh@sheffield.ac.uk
Biosciences Academic: Dr Martin Zeidler m.zeidler@sheffield.ac.uk
Chemical & Biological Engineering

Academic: Dr Yajue Wu 

Support: Marine Percival

y.wu@sheffield.ac.uk

m.percival@sheffield.ac.uk

Chemistry

Academic: Prof Lee Brammer (non EU)

Academic: Dr Ahmed Iraqi (EU)

Support: Michelle Bates 

lee.brammer@sheffield.ac.uk

a.iraqi@sheffield.ac.uk

m.bates@sheffield.ac.uk

Civil & Structural Engineering

Academic: Dr Maurizio Guadagnini

Support: Alice Thomas 

m.guadagnini@sheffield.ac.uk

a.v.thomas@sheffield.ac.uk

Computer Science Academic: Dr Tony Simons a.j.simons@sheffield.ac.uk

BA East Asian Studies

East Asian Studies (incoming)

Academic: Dr David Tobin

Support: Mrs Clea Carroll

d.tobin@sheffield.ac.uk

clea.carroll@sheffield.ac.uk

Economics

Academic: Dr Vassilis Sarantides

v.sarantides@sheffield.ac.uk

Electronic & Electrical Engineering Academic: Dr Milijana Odavic m.odavic@sheffield.ac.uk
English

Academic: Dr Agnes Lehoczky

a.lehoczky@sheffield.ac.uk

French

Academic: Dr Sophie Watt (French, Swiss and Luxembourg incoming and outbound)

Support: Eleanor Madley (outbound EU)

s.watt@sheffield.ac.uk

slc-yearabroad@sheffield.ac.uk

Geography

Academic: Dr Ruth Little

Support: Thom Sullivan

ruth.little@sheffield.ac.uk

tom.sullivan@sheffield.ac.uk

Germanic

Academic: Dr Caroline Bland (German and Austrian incoming and outbound)

Academic: Dr Henriette Louwerse (Dutch incoming and outbound)

Support: Eleanor Madley (outbound EU)

c.bland@sheffield.ac.uk

h.louwerse@sheffield.ac.uk

slc-yearabroad@sheffield.ac.uk

Hispanic

Academic: Dr Peter Watt (incoming and outbound EU)

Support: Eleanor Madley (outbound EU)

p.watt@sheffield.ac.uk

slc-yearabroad@sheffield.ac.uk

History

Academic: Prof Martial Staub

Support: Hayley Smith

history.international@sheffield.ac.uk

Journalism

Academic: Dr Jared Ahmad

Support: Jess Meacham

j.ahmad@sheffield.ac.uk

jess.meacham@sheffield.ac.uk

Landscape

Academic: Dr Jan Woudstra

Support: Helen Morris

Support: Mrs Emma Shaw (Year in Practice)

j.woudstra@sheffield.ac.uk

h.morris@sheffield.ac.uk

emma.shaw@sheffield.ac.uk

Law

Academic: Luiza Pereira

Support: Steph Symonds

l.pereira@sheffield.ac.uk

law.exchanges@sheffield.ac.uk

Management School

Academic: Dr Chantal Cantarelli

Support: Gary Fung

c.c.cantarelli@sheffield.ac.uk

mgt.erasmus-sa@sheffield.ac.uk

Materials Science and Engineering

Academic: Dr Hajime Kinoshita

h.kinoshita@sheffield.ac.uk
Mathematics

Academic: Dr Ashley Willis (non EU)

Academic: Dr Tobias Berger (EU)

a.p.willis@sheffield.ac.uk

t.t.berger@sheffield.ac.uk

Mechanical Engineering

Academic: Dr Hassan Ghadbeigi

Support: Cristin Goodyear

h.ghadbeigi@sheffield.ac.uk

c.goodyear@sheffield.ac.uk

Modern Language Teaching Centre (MLTC) Support: Jess Hannington mltc@sheffield.ac.uk
Music Academic: Dr Mark Doffman m.doffman@sheffield.ac.uk
Nursing and Midwifery Academic: Mr Mick Ashman m.ashman@sheffield.ac.uk
Philosophy

Academic: Jules Holroyd

Support: Anne-Marie Frisby

Support: Patrizia Baldi

j.d.holroyd@sheffield.ac.uk

a-m.frisby@sheffield.ac.uk

p.baldi@sheffield.ac.uk

Physics

Academic: Dr James Mullaney

j.mullaney@sheffield.ac.uk

Politics

Academic: Dr Nasos Roussias

Support: Nicola Moore

a.roussias@sheffield.ac.uk

n.moore@sheffield.ac.uk

Psychology Support: Liz Fotherby (incoming only) l.fotherby@sheffield.ac.uk
Russian and Slavonic

Academic: Dr Adam Fergus (Russian - incoming and outbound)  

Academic: Mr Luděk Knittl (Czech & Polish - incoming and outbound)

Support: Eleanor Madley (outbound EU)

a.fergus@sheffield.ac.uk

l.knittl@sheffield.ac.uk

slc-yearabroad@sheffield.ac.uk

Sheffield Methods Institute Academic: Dr Abigail Tazzyman a.tazzyman@sheffield.ac.uk
Sociological Studies

Academic: Dr Lorna Warren

l.warren@sheffield.ac.uk

Urban Studies and Planning

Academic: Dr Lee Crookes

l.crookes@sheffield.ac.uk

A world top-100 university

We're a world top-100 university renowned for the excellence, impact and distinctiveness of our research-led learning and teaching.