Members

We are a group of scientists with a broad background not only in mass spectrometry applied to proteomics and metabolomics, but also in biochemistry, molecular biology and cell biology. Our specialist facilities enhance our research and are also available to external partners, whether this be the wider academic scientific community, or the industrial and commercial sectors. Our experience covers a wide range of research topics including clinical biomarker research, disease mechanisms and plant metabolism.
Mass Spec team
Carl

Professor Carl Smythe

Director and Professor of Cell Biology
Tel: +44 (0) 114 222 4643
C.G.W.Smythe@sheffield.ac.uk
University profile page
https://twitter.com/carlsmythe

Dr Mark Collins

Dr Mark Collins

Deputy Director, Senior Lecturer in Biological Mass Spectrometry
Expertise: Proteomics
Tel: +44 (0) 114 222 2303
Mark.Collins@sheffield.ac.uk
University profile page

Dr Adelina E. Acosta Martin

Dr Adelina E. Acosta Martin

Facility Manager
Expertise: Proteomics
Tel: +44 (0) 114 222 4676
A.Acosta-Martin@sheffield.ac.uk
University profile page

Heather W

Dr Heather Walker

Facility Manager
Expertise: Metabolomics
Tel: +44 (0) 114 222 0033
H.J.Walker@sheffield.ac.uk
University profile page

Simon

Mr Simon Thorpe

Technical Manager
Expertise: Molecular analysis, small molecules
Tel: +44 (0) 114 222 9480/1
s.j.thorpe@sheffield.ac.uk

Mrs Gemma Newsome

Mrs Gemma Newsome

Research Technician
Expertise: Metabolomics
Tel: +44 (0) 114 222 0098
g.newsome@sheffield.ac.uk

Sharon

Ms Sharon Spey

Research Technician
Expertise: Molecular analysis, small molecules
Tel: +44 (0) 114 222 9480
S.E.Spey@sheffield.ac.uk

Lydia

Ms Lydia Kiesel

Research Technician
Expertise: Proteomics
Tel: +44 (0) 114 222 4676
l.kiesel@sheffield.ac.uk

Heather G

Ms Heather Grievson

Research Technician
Expertise: Inductively Coupled Plasma Spectroscopy & Metabolomics
Tel: +44 (0) 114 222 9557
H.Grievson@sheffield.ac.uk

Work with us

Our facilities enhance research within the University of Sheffield and are also available to external partners, including the wider academic scientific community and commercial sectors.

What can we do for your research?

Publications

Our work in the Faculty of Science Mass Spectrometry Centre has contributed to high impact research publications. We have compiled a list of the most important ones.

Publications page