Academic staff

Teaching and research

Name Role Phone Room Email
Booth, Dr Chris Reader in Experimental Particle Physics
3rd Year Physics Tutor
Head of 3rd Year Physics Teaching Laboratory
0114 22 23541 D24 c.booth@sheffield.ac.uk
Buckley, Dr Alastair Senior Lecturer in Organic Electronics
Lead Organiser for White Rose Industrial Physics Academy (WRIPA)
Student Academic Rep Coordinator
0114 22 23597 E49 alastair.buckley@sheffield.ac.uk
Cadby, Dr Ashley Senior Lecturer in Soft Matter Physics
MSc Biological Imaging Course Director
Biological Safety Officer
0114 22 24280 D21 a.cadby@sheffield.ac.uk
Cartwright, Dr Susan Senior Lecturer in Particle Physics and Astrophysics
Director of Learning and Teaching
Schools Liaison
0114 22 24572 D22 s.cartwright@sheffield.ac.uk
Chakrabarti, Dr Buddhapriya Senior Lecturer in Biological Physics
International Recruitment lead
0114 22 23764 E34 b.chakrabarti@sheffield.ac.uk
Clarke, Prof Nigel Professor of Condensed Matter Physics Theory 0114 22 24273 E43 n.clarke@sheffield.ac.uk
Costanzo, Prof Davide Professor of Experimental Particle Physics
MRes Particle Physics Course Director
+41227664475 CERN d.costanzo@sheffield.ac.uk
Crowther, Prof Paul Professor of Astrophysics
Head of Department
0114 22 24291 F09a paul.crowther@sheffield.ac.uk
Daw, Dr Ed Reader in Gravitational Waves and Dark Matter Physics
Physics Study Abroad Tutor
0114 22 24353 D28 e.daw@sheffield.ac.uk
Dhillon, Prof Vik Professor of Astrophysics 0114 22 24528 E40 vik.dhillon@sheffield.ac.uk
Durham, Dr Mack Lecturer in Biological Physics
Degree with Employment Experience Tutor
0114 22 24537 F32 w.m.durham@sheffield.ac.uk
Fox, Prof Mark Professor of Optical Physics
4th Year Physics Tutor
0114 22 24527 E14 mark.fox@sheffield.ac.uk
Geoghegan, Prof Mark Professor of Soft Matter Physics
Postgraduate Taught Director
0114 22 23544 D19 mark.geoghegan@sheffield.ac.uk
Goodwin, Prof Simon Professor of Theoretical Astrophysics
Chair of Recruitment team
0114 22 23585 E48 s.goodwin@sheffield.ac.uk
Grell, Dr Martin Senior Lecturer in Physics
Foundation Year Tutor
0114 22 23598 D30 m.grell@sheffield.ac.uk
Hawkins, Dr Rhoda Senior Lecturer in Biological Physics Theory 0114 22 24524 F36 rhoda.hawkins@sheffield.ac.uk
Hobbs, Prof Jamie Professor of Physics
Head of Biological Physics Research Group
REF lead
Chemical Physics Tutor
0114 22 24532 F07 jamie.hobbs@sheffield.ac.uk
Jones, Prof Richard Professor of Physics
Head of Materials Physics Group
Chair of Equality and Diversity committee
0114 22 29820 D26 r.a.l.jones@sheffield.ac.uk
Kok, Dr Pieter Reader in Quantum Information Theory
1st Year Physics Tutor
0114 22 23538 E12a p.kok@sheffield.ac.uk
Krizhanovskii, Dr Dimitry Reader in Condensed Matter Physics
Postgraduate Research Director
MRes Quantum Photonics & Nanomaterials Course Director
0114 22 24295 E16 d.krizhanovskii@sheffield.ac.uk
Kudryavtsev, Prof Vitaly Professor of Particle Physics
2nd Year Physics Tutor
0114 22 24531 E45 v.kudryavtsev@sheffield.ac.uk
Lidzey, Prof David Professor of Physics 0114 22 23501 E34b d.g.lidzey@sheffield.ac.uk
Littlefair, Dr Stuart Reader in Astrophysics
2nd Year Astronomy Tutor
Personal Tutor Coordinator
0114 22 24525 F29 s.littlefair@sheffield.ac.uk
Malek, Dr Matthew Lecturer in Experimental Particle Physics
Lead Organiser for Undergraduate Open Days
0114 22 23763 E15 m.malek@sheffield.ac.uk
Mowbray, Prof David Professor of Physics
Senior Tutor
Nanjing Tech Programme lead
0114 22 24561 E19 d.mowbray@sheffield.ac.uk
Mullaney, Dr James Lecturer in Observational Astrophysics
Astrophysics Study Abroad Tutor
0114 22 23512 F19 j.mullaney@sheffield.ac.uk
Skolnick, Prof Maurice Professor of Condensed Matter Physics
Head of Semiconductor Physics Research Group
0114 22 24277 E20 m.skolnick@sheffield.ac.uk
Spooner, Prof Neil Professor of Particle Physics and Astrophysics
Head of Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics Research Group
0114 22 24422 E23 n.spooner@sheffield.ac.uk
Tadhunter, Prof Clive Professor of Astrophysics
Head of Astrophysics Research Group
3rd/4th Year Astronomy Tutor
0114 22 24300 E37 c.tadhunter@sheffield.ac.uk
Tartakovskii, Prof Sasha Professor of Solid State Physics
Director of Research and Innovation
0114 22 24545 E24 a.tartakovskii@sheffield.ac.uk
Thompson, Prof Lee Professor of Particle Physics and Astrophysics
Head of Undergraduate Admissions
Assistant Faculty Director for Research & Innovation
0114 22 24577 E41 l.thompson@sheffield.ac.uk
Tovey, Prof Dan Professor of Particle Physics
Chair of Infrastructure Committee
0114 22 23546 F31 d.r.tovey@sheffield.ac.uk
Vickey, Dr Trevor Senior Lecturer in Particle Physics and Astrophysics
UCAS days Coordinator
0114 22 23509 D27 t.vickey@sheffield.ac.uk
Whittaker, Prof David Professor of Condensed Matter Physics Theory
Theoretical Physics Tutor
Timetabling Officer
Staff Development Champion
0114 22 23537 E12b d.m.whittaker@sheffield.ac.uk
Wilson, Dr Luke Reader in Semiconductor Physics
Faculty Director for Learning & Teaching
0114 22 23532 E17 luke.wilson@sheffield.ac.uk

Teaching-focused

Name Role Phone Room Email
Inskip, Dr Katherine University Teacher in Astrophysics
1st Year Astronomy Tutor
Study Support Tutor
Disability Liaison Officer
Library Liaison
Innovative Physics Education Group (iPEG) Coordinator
0114 22 24540 E47 k.inskip@sheffield.ac.uk
Mears, Dr Matt University Teacher in Physics
Head of 2nd Year Physics Teaching Laboratory
0114 22 24289 D29 m.mears@sheffield.ac.uk
Quinn, Dr Mark University Teacher in Physics
Head of 1st Year Physics Teaching Laboratory
Departmental Employability Lead
0114 22 24574 D18 m.quinn@sheffield.ac.uk

Research-focused

Name Role Phone Room Email
Anastopoulos, Dr Christos Royal Society University Research Fellow; PPAP Group 0114 22 24523 F42 c.anastopoulos@sheffield.ac.uk
Campbell, Dr Earl EPSRC Advanced Fellow; LDSD Group 0114 22 24288 E12 e.campbell@sheffield.ac.uk
Chekhovich, Dr Evgeny Royal Society University Research Fellow; LDSD Group 0114 22 24543 F23 e.chekhovich@sheffield.ac.uk
Clark, Dr Jenny Vice-Chancellor's Advanced Fellow; Materials Physics Group
Laser Safety Officer
0114 22 23526 D16 jenny.clark@sheffield.ac.uk
Lohwasser, Dr Kristin Research Fellow; PPAP Group 0114 22 24547 F25 k.lohwasser@sheffield.ac.uk
Maund, Dr Justyn Senior Research Fellow; Astronomy Group 0114 22 24352 F39 j.maund@sheffield.ac.uk
Parker, Dr Richard Royal Society Dorothy Hodgkin Fellow; Astronomy Group 0114 22 23560 F22 r.parker@sheffield.ac.uk