PhD students

If you aren’t sure who to contact then get in touch using our general contact details.

Off

Contact the Department of Physics and Astronomy

Name Research Group Phone Room Email
Ait Yahia, Mr Mehdi Materials and Biological Physics 0114 22 24271 E35 maityahia1@sheffield.ac.uk
Albariqi, Mr Ibrahim Materials and Biological Physics N/A N/A iaalbariqi1@sheffield.ac.uk
Algethami, Mrs Rasha Materials and Biological Physics 0114 22 23584 G11c rssalgethami1@sheffield.ac.uk
Alghanem, Miss Hussah Materials and Biological Physics 0114 22 23516 F27 halghanem1@sheffield.ac.uk
Alkousa, Mr Thaer Astrophysics 0114 22 23504 E18 talkousa1@sheffield.ac.uk
Alomari, Mrs Anaam Materials and Biological Physics 0114 22 24530 F03 aaalomary1@sheffield.ac.uk
Alrheli, Mr Ahmad Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics 0114 22 23547 D36a afalrheli1@sheffield.ac.uk
Alshammari, Mr Fahad Materials and Biological Physics N/A N/A fkalshammari1@sheffield.ac.uk
Barbiero, Mr Andrea Inorganic Semiconductors N/A N/A abarbiero1@sheffield.ac.uk
Blackburn, Mr Dom Materials and Biological Physics 0114 22 23536 G34 dblackburn1@sheffield.ac.uk
Blaylock-Squibbs, Mr George Astrophysics 0114 22 23504 E18 gablaylock-squibbs1@sheffield.ac.uk
Brown, Mr Alex Astrophysics 0114 22 23504 E18 ajbrown2@sheffield.ac.uk
Bu Ali, Mrs Eman Materials and Biological Physics 0114 22 23588 E28 embuali1@sheffield.ac.uk
Callus, Ms Elena Inorganic Semiconductors 0114 22 23550 E13a ecallus1@sheffield.ac.uk
Catley, Mr Thomas Materials and Biological Physics 0114 22 23584 G11c tcatley1@sheffield.ac.uk
Chen, Mr Xuchao Inorganic Semiconductors 0114 22 23527 E46 xchen154@sheffield.ac.uk
Chen, Miss Yan Materials and Biological Physics 0114 22 23536 G34 ychen419@sheffield.ac.uk
Cizauskas, Mr Marius Inorganic Semiconductors 0114 22 24569 E50 mcizauskas1@sheffield.ac.uk
Claronino, Mr Peter Materials and Biological Physics N/A N/A pjclaronino1@sheffield.ac.uk
Colclough, Mr Cameron Materials and Biological Physics N/A N/A ccolclough1@sheffield.ac.uk
Connell, Miss Nicola Materials and Biological Physics 0114 22 23503 F14 nconnell1@sheffield.ac.uk
Costin, Mr Nathan Materials and Biological Physics 0114 22 23503 F14 nacostin1@sheffield.ac.uk
Cullen, Miss Alice Inorganic Semiconductors 0114 22 23550 E13a arcullen1@sheffield.ac.uk
D'Agnese, Mr Mattiangelo Materials and Biological Physics N/A N/A mdagnese1@sheffield.ac.uk
Delphan, Mr Anthonin Inorganic Semiconductors N/A N/A adelphan1@sheffield.ac.uk
Dowling, Mr Toby Inorganic Semiconductors 0114 22 23527 E46 tdowling1@sheffield.ac.uk
Dyte, Mr Harry Inorganic Semiconductors 0114 22 23527 E46 hedyte1@sheffield.ac.uk
Ellul, Mr Anthony Inorganic Semiconductors N/A N/A aellul1@sheffield.ac.uk
Fannon, Mr Jack Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics N/A N/A jepfannon1@sheffield.ac.uk
Fraser, Mr William Materials and Biological Physics N/A N/A whfraser1@sheffield.ac.uk
Foster, Mr Robert Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics 0114 22 23559 Neutron Building rjfoster1@sheffield.ac.uk
Gabana, Mr Kutlwano Materials and Biological Physics N/A N/A kgabana1@sheffield.ac.uk
Gahan, Miss Lianne Materials and Biological Physics N/A N/A ldgahan1@sheffield.ac.uk
Garbutt, Mr James Astrophysics 0114 22 23504 E18 jagarbutt1@sheffield.ac.uk
Gibbions, Mr Nigel Materials and Biological Physics 0114 22 23584 G11c ngibbions1@sheffield.ac.uk
Gordon, Mr Rob Materials and Biological Physics 0114 22 23588 E28 rhgordon1@sheffield.ac.uk
Greer, Mr James Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics N/A N/A jgreer1@sheffield.ac.uk
Gregorio, Mr Robert Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics 0114 22 23574 D35 robert.gregorio@sheffield.ac.uk
Gurman, Mr Francis Materials and Biological Physics N/A N/A fgurman1@sheffield.ac.uk
Hallacy, Mr Luke Inorganic Semiconductors N/A N/A lmhallacy1@sheffield.ac.uk
Holden, Mr Luke Astrophysics 0114 22 23504 E18 lholden2@sheffield.ac.uk
Hollows, Mr Ian Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics N/A N/A ijhollows1@sheffield.ac.uk
Hook, Mr Daniel Materials and Biological Physics 0114 22 23588 E28 dzhook1@sheffield.ac.uk
Houghton, Miss Rebecca Astrophysics 0114 22 23504 E18 rhoughton1@sheffield.ac.uk
Hudzik, Miss Emilia Materials and Biological Physics 0114 22 24579 G12 emhudzik1@sheffield.ac.uk
Hutchings, Mr Oscar Inorganic Semiconductors 0114 22 24569 E50 omhutchings1@sheffield.ac.uk
Israel, Mr Henry Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics N/A N/A htisrael1@sheffield.ac.uk
Jones, Mr Matt Materials and Biological Physics 0114 22 24271 E35 mpjones1@sheffield.ac.uk
Kumar, Mr Praveen Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics 0114 22 23553 E18a pkumar3@sheffield.ac.uk
Lewitt, Miss Lucy Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics N/A N/A llewitt1@sheffield.ac.uk
Li, Mr Qiaodan Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics 0114 22 23547 D36a qli112@sheffield.ac.uk
Liew, Mr Derick Materials and Biological Physics 0114 22 23588 E28 dklliew1@sheffield.ac.uk
Louca, Mr Charalambos Inorganic Semiconductors 0114 22 24569 E50 clouca1@sheffield.ac.uk
Lovett, Mr Seth Inorganic Semiconductors 0114 22 24569 E50 slovett1@sheffield.ac.uk
Maguire, Mrs Helen Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics 0114 22 23508 D44 hrmaguire1@sheffield.ac.uk
Martin, Mr Nicholas Inorganic Semiconductors N/A N/A nmartin3@sheffield.ac.uk
Mason, Mr Dustin Astrophysics 0114 22 23504 E18 dmason3@sheffield.ac.uk
McCarthy, Miss Maxine Inorganic Semiconductors N/A N/A mmmccarthy1@sheffield.ac.uk
McElwee, Mr Jordan Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics 0114 22 23547 D36a jmmcelwee1@sheffield.ac.uk
McLaughlin, Miss Summer Astrophysics 0114 22 23504 E18 sajmclaughlin1@sheffield.ac.uk
McLean, Mr Ali Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics N/A D45 ali.mclean@sheffield.ac.uk
Millington-Hotze, Mr Peter Inorganic Semiconductors 0114 22 23527 E46 pmillington-hotze1@sheffield.ac.uk
Mistry, Mr Timesh Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics 0114 22 23547 D36a timesh.mistry@sheffield.ac.uk
Mohaghegh, Ms Mina Materials and Biological Physics 0114 22 23503 F14 mmohaghegh1@sheffield.ac.uk
Morris, Mr Alexander Inorganic Semiconductors 0114 22 24569 E50 ajmorris2@sheffield.ac.uk
Mostyn, Miss Clementine Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics N/A N/A cfmostyn1@sheffield.ac.uk
Müller, Mr Jonathan Inorganic Semiconductors N/A N/A jramueller1@sheffield.ac.uk
Neal, Mr Robbie Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics 0114 22 23574 D35 rjneal1@sheffield.ac.uk
Nguyen, Miss Lan Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics 0114 22 23574 D35 vclnguyen1@sheffield.ac.uk
Norfolk, Mr Mitchell Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics 0114 22 23508 D44 mnorfolk1@sheffield.ac.uk
O'Kane, Miss Mary Materials and Biological Physics 0114 22 23536 G34 mokane1@sheffield.ac.uk
Orgill, Mr Joe Materials and Biological Physics 0114 22 24579 G12 jorgill1@sheffield.ac.uk
O'Rourke, Mr Chris Inorganic Semiconductors 0114 22 24569 E50 corourke2@sheffield.ac.uk
Orpwood, Mr Jo Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics 0114 22 23553 E18a jorpwood1@sheffield.ac.uk
Perry, Mr Mitchell Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics 0114 22 23553 E18a mitchell.perry@sheffield.ac.uk
Pidgeon, Mr James Materials and Biological Physics 0114 22 23588 E28 jppidgeon1@sheffield.ac.uk
Postill, Mr Michael Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics 0114 22 23508 D44 mpostill1@sheffield.ac.uk
Pringle, Mrs Helen Materials and Biological Physics 0114 22 24271 E35 hpringle1@sheffield.ac.uk
Puddefoot, Mr Joshua Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics N/A N/A jpuddefoot1@sheffield.ac.uk
Quintavalle, Miss Armanda Inorganic Semiconductors 0114 22 23550 E13a aottavianoquintavalle1@sheffield.ac.uk
Randerson, Mr Sam Inorganic Semiconductors 0114 22 24569 E50 sranderson1@sheffield.ac.uk
Rushton, Mr Tom Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics N/A N/A trushton1@sheffield.ac.uk
Saoucha, Mr Kamal Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics 0114 22 23508 D44 ksaoucha1@sheffield.ac.uk
Scott, Mr Harry Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics 0114 22 23574 D35 hjscott1@sheffield.ac.uk
Singleton, Mr Adam Astrophysics 0114 22 23504 E18 ajsingleton1@sheffield.ac.uk
Spooner, Miss Emma Materials and Biological Physics 0114 22 23536 G34 elkspooner1@sheffield.ac.uk
Steele, Mr Elliot Materials and Biological Physics 0114 22 23503 F14 emsteele1@sheffield.ac.uk
Swift, Mr Harrison Materials and Biological Physics 0114 22 24530 F03 hswift3@sheffield.ac.uk
Taylor, Miss Zara Inorganic Semiconductors N/A N/A zstaylor1@sheffield.ac.uk
Thornber, Mr Tim Materials and Biological Physics N/A N/A tthornber1@sheffield.ac.uk
Toth, Mr Christopher Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics N/A N/A cbtoth1@sheffield.ac.uk
Tranter, Miss Jemima Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics 0114 22 23553 E18a jtranter2@sheffield.ac.uk
Travers, Mr Dan Materials and Biological Physics 0114 22 23516 F27 djtravers1@sheffield.ac.uk
Trebell, Mr Mawgan Materials and Biological Physics N/A N/A mpbtrebell1@sheffield.ac.uk
Wan, Mr Chak [Shing] Materials and Biological Physics N/A N/A swan6@sheffield.ac.uk
Weekes, Mr Michael Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics 0114 22 23547 D36a mweekes1@sheffield.ac.uk
Wild, Mr James Astrophysics 0114 22 23504 E18 jwild2@sheffield.ac.uk
Williams, Miss Anne Materials and Biological Physics N/A Firth Court F09 aswilliams2@sheffield.ac.uk
Wilson, Mr Steve Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics 0114 22 23559 Neutron Building stephen.wilson@sheffield.ac.uk
Zglam, Mr Ala Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics 0114 22 23574 D35 aazglam1@sheffield.ac.uk
REF 2021 illustration

Research Excellence Framework 2021

We have been rated 1st in the UK in terms of the quality of our research. In the latest REF, 100 per cent of research and impact from our department has been classed as world-leading or internationally excellent.

Find a PhD

Search for PhD opportunities at Sheffield and be part of our world-leading research.