STOP-OHSS study

Shaping and Trialling Outpatient Protocols for Ovarian HyperStimulation Syndrome.

On
STOP OHSS project logo

A feasibility study and randomised controlled trial, with internal pilot, to assess the clinical and cost-effectiveness of earlier active management of OHSS.

This study is funded by the National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) Health Technology Assessment Programme (NIHR128137). The views expressed are those of the author(s) and not necessarily those of the NIHR or the Department of Health and Social Care.


Background

Ovarian hyperstimulation syndrome (OHSS) is a side-effect of assisted reproductive treatments (ARTs) and is caused by overstimulation of the ovaries, resulting in fluid retention in the abdomen (ascites), dehydration and in critical cases, respiratory distress and disturbed renal and liver functions. 

OHSS can be classified as early or late. Early OHSS is caused by the ovarian stimulation drugs given during ARTs and occurs usually within 7 days after the final drug (hCG) is given. Late OHSS usually occurs 10 days or more after the administration of hCG and is caused by endogenous hCG of a resulting pregnancy. 

Currently, treatment is only usually provided once OHSS has progressed to a severe state and the patient requires intensive inpatient treatment. Prior to this, patients are monitored and provided with medication and advice to enable rehydration. In uncontrolled, small studies, paracentesis (drainage of the ascites) provided in the outpatient setting has been shown to prevent the need for hospitalisation if administered soon after OHSS develops; this needs to be confirmed by high quality trials.

Connect with us on Twitter


The study

The study aims to establish the clinical and cost-effectiveness, safety, and acceptability of outpatient paracentesis (OP) as an active management for women with moderate or severe OHSS, in a multi-centre adaptive randomised controlled trial (RCT) with internal pilot to assess the feasibility of conducting the RCT.

In phase 1, qualitative interviews were undertaken with clinicians and patients to explore the feasibility and acceptability of the earlier active management protocols and RCTs. The results of these interviews were fed back to clinicians during a consensus event in order to confirm protocols. In parallel, a retrospective review of patient notes was undertaken at the proposed RCT centres in order to validate the parameters used for the RCTs. 

In phase 2, the study will undergo a pragmatic, two-arm, parallel-group, adaptive, open label, superiority, confirmatory, group sequential, individual RCT with one interim analysis for futility early stopping. A total of 224 women with moderate or severe (early or late) OHSS will be randomised to the trial. The women will be undergoing In vitro fertilisation (IVF) including intracytoplasmic sperm injection (ICSI) and intrauterine insemination (IUI). Participants will be randomised (1:1) to receive outpatient paracentesis (OP) plus increased self-monitoring, or conservative management (usual care). The primary outcome measure will be OHSS related hospitalisations for at least 24 hours within 28 days of randomisation. 

The trial will include an internal pilot after 15 months of recruitment to assess the feasibility of conducting the RCT. An interim analysis will be performed for futility early stopping when 65% (73 per arm) of the maximum required participants have accrued primary outcome data on hospitalisation.


Study team

Name

Role

Organisation

Contact

Mostafa Metwally

Chief Investigator

Sheffield Teaching Hospitals

mmetwally@nhs.net

Cara Mooney

Trial Manager

University of Sheffield

c.d.mooney@sheffield.ac.uk

David White

CTRU Lead

University of Sheffield

d.a.white@sheffield.ac.uk

Robin Chatters

Assistant CTRU Lead

University of Sheffield

r.chatters@sheffield.ac.uk

Katie Ridsdale

Research Assistant

University of Sheffield

k.ridsdale@sheffield.ac.uk

Sarah Gonzalez

Trials Support Officer

University of Sheffield

s.k.gonzalez@sheffield.ac.uk

Clare Pye

Lead Research Nurse

Sheffield Teaching Hospitals

clare.pye1@nhs.net

Jodie Bradder

Senior Research Nurse

Sheffield Teaching Hospitals 

jodie.bradder1@nhs.net

Munya Dimairo

Statistician

University of Sheffield

m.dimairo@sheffield.ac.uk

Tracey Young

Lead Health Economist 

University of Sheffield

t.a.young@sheffield.ac.uk

Laura Flight

Health Economist

University of Sheffield

l.flight@sheffield.ac.uk

Amanda Loban

Head of Data Management

University of Sheffield

a.loban@sheffield.ac.uk

Richard Simmonds

Data Manager

University of Sheffield

r.p.simmonds@sheffield.ac.uk

Alicia O'Cathain

Lead Qualitative Researcher

University of Sheffield

a.ocathain@sheffield.ac.uk

Elizabeth Lumley

Qualitative Researcher

University of Sheffield

e.lumley@sheffield.ac.uk

Raj Mather

Clinical Expertise

Manchester University NHS Foundation Trust

Raj.Mathur@mft.nhs.uk

Andrew Drakeley

Clinical Expertise

Liverpool Women's NHS Foundation Trust

Andrew.Drakeley@lwh.nhs.uk

Ying Cheong

Clinical Expertise

University of Southampton

Ying.Cheong@uhs.nhs.uk

Angela Pinder 

Sponsor Representative

Sheffield Teaching Hospitals

angela.pinder@nhs.net

Flagship institutes

The University’s four flagship institutes bring together our key strengths to tackle global issues, turning interdisciplinary and translational research into real-world solutions.