Pedagogical Research

Our group conducts research into learning and teaching to improve the way that we prepare students for positions of senior responsibility in health practice, research and training.

A group of students listen to a lecture
Off

Our vision is to create a world-respected source for pedagogical research that transforms our students' learning experience.

We recognise that Public Health competencies depend largely on knowledge and skill development in areas not directly related to the students’ disciplinary background. Our research addresses this by evaluating and sharing research on transdisciplinary learning in public health and related areas.

We also recognise the role that technology can play in advancing a forward-looking education that allows students to mobilise knowledge to advance critical reasoning that will be essential to tackling health challenges of our time. We continuously evaluate different technological solutions in our teaching and develop effective knowledge mobilisation and critical reasoning teaching and learning activities. 

We take a Programme Level Approach to learning and teaching. 

Theme Leads

Muhammad Saddiq (m.i.saddiq@sheffield.ac.uk)

Peter Grabowski (p.grabowski@sheffield.ac.uk)

People

Luke Miller (l.miller@sheffield.ac.uk)

Emma S Hock (emma.hock@sheffield.ac.uk)

Robert Akparibo (r.akparibo@sheffield.ac.uk)

Liz Williams (e.a.williams@sheffield.ac.uk)      

Julie Balen (j.balen@sheffield.ac.uk)  

Hannah Jordan (h.c.jordan@sheffield.ac.uk)

Claire Beecroft (c.beecroft@shef.ac.uk)

Vanessa Halliday (vanessa.halliday@sheffield.ac.uk)

Richard Cooper (richard.cooper@sheffield.ac.uk)

Sarah Crede (s.h.crede@sheffield.ac.uk)

Sally Ohlsen (s.ohlsen@sheffield.ac.uk)

Projects

  • Powell, K., Woods, H.B., & Rimmer, M., (2016) Development of methods-based peer support network for dissertation supervisors. Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry, and Health Curriculum Development Fund Award)
  • Julie Dickinson and Richard Cooper (2015) MDH Learning & Teaching Enhancement Fund Application Student Engagement and Feedback on Distance and E-learning Courses – Exploring Staff and Student Experiences in the Faculty and University
  • Richard Cooper - Learning to Prescribe (DoH funded project exploring university training for non-medical prescribing); 

Flagship institutes

The University’s four flagship institutes bring together our key strengths to tackle global issues, turning interdisciplinary and translational research into real-world solutions.