Teaching staff - meet the team

An interdisciplinary team with a wealth of experience in teaching and research.

Our courses are interdisciplinary which means that you'll be taught by academic experts from across the Faculty of Engineering, but also fellow lecturers from within the University. Here are just some of the staff who play a key role in the running and teaching of the course.


Course Director (NEW)

RH2019

Dr Robert Howell
Email: r.howell@sheffield.ac.uk
T: +44 (0)114 22 27725

Deputy Course Director (NEW)

hayes-small

Dr Simon Hayes
Email:
s.a.hayes@sheffield.ac.uk
T: +44 (0)114 22 25516

Head of Interdisciplinary Engineering

harm-small

Prof. Harm Askes
Email: h.askes@sheffield.ac.uk
T: +44 (0)114 22 25769

Undergraduate Admissions Tutor

jaitken-small

Dr Jonathan Aitken
Email: jonathan.aitken@sheffield.ac.uk
T: +44 (0)114 22 25660

Year Tutor

Kamran_Mumtaz

Dr Kamran Mumtaz
Email: k.mumtaz@sheffield.ac.uk
T: +44 (0)114 22 27789

Year Tutor

GPsmall

Dr Giuliano Punzo
Email: g.punzo@sheffield.ac.uk
T: +44 (0)114 22 25233


Academic Staff

Below is a list of current academic staff in Aerospace. Each person’s name links through to their personal profile where available.

Name Role Telephone Email
Anderson, Dr. Sean Senior Lecturer 0114 22 25608 s.anderson@sheffield.ac.uk
Atallah, Prof. Kais Lecturer 0114 22 25812 k.atallah@sheffield.ac.uk
Baldacchino, Dr. Tara University Teacher 0114 22 25230 t.baldacchino@sheffield.ac.uk
Balikhin, Prof. Michael A. Lecturer 0114 22 25628 m.balikhin@sheffield.ac.uk
Barthorpe, Dr. Rob Lecturer / Employability Lead for Aerospace 0114 22 27762 r.j.barthorpe@sheffield.ac.uk
Beck, Prof. Stephen Head of Multidisciplinary Engineering 0114 222 7730 s.beck@sheffield.ac.uk
Benaissa, Dr. Mohammed Lecturer 0114 22 25899 m.benaissa@sheffield.ac.uk
Bhattacharya, Dr. Pinaki Lecturer 0114 22 20156 p.bhattacharya@sheffield.ac.uk
Bogdano, Dr. Kirill Lecturer 0114 22 21847 k.bogdanov@sheffield.ac.uk
Curiel-Sosa, Dr. Jose L. Lecturer 0114 22 27857 j.curiel-sosa@sheffield.ac.uk
Dean, Dr. Julian Lecturer 0114 222 5473 j.dean@sheffield.ac.uk
Dervilis, Dr. Nikolaos Senior Lecturer 0114 22 27816 n.dervilis@sheffield.ac.uk
Esnaola, Dr. Inaki Senior Lecturer 0114 222 5648 esnaola@sheffield.ac.uk
Fedun, Dr. Viktor Senior Lecturer 0114 22 25197 v.fedun@sheffield.ac.uk
Ford, Dr Lee Lecturer 0114 22 25904 l.ford@sheffield.ac.uk
Foreman, Dr. Joel University Teacher 0114 22 25920 j.foreman@sheffield.ac.uk
Foster, Prof. Martin Lecturer 0114 22 25392 m.p.foster@sheffield.ac.uk
Gibbs, Dr Beverley Senior University Teacher 0114 22 27732 b.gibbs@sheffield.ac.uk
Gould, Dr. Chris Lecturer 0114 22 25803 c.gould@sheffield.ac.uk
Griffo, Dr. Antonio Lecturer 0114 22 25050 a.griffo@sheffield.ac.uk
Gross, Dr. Roderich Senior Lecturer 0114 22 25610 r.gross@sheffield.ac.uk
Hand, Prof. Russell Reader 0114 22 25465 r.hand@sheffield.ac.uk
He, Prof. Shuisheng Lecturer 0114 22 27756 s.he@sheffield.ac.uk
Hepple, Dr. Mark Reader 0114 222 1829 m.hepple@sheffield.ac.uk
Horoshenkov, Prof. Kirill. V. Lecturer 0114 222 7855 k.horoshenkov@sheffield.ac.uk
Jackson, Dr. Martin Reader 0114 22 25474 martin.jackson@sheffield.ac.uk
Jewell, Dr. Geraint Lecturer 0114 22 25845 g.jewell@sheffield.ac.uk
Jones, Dr. Bryn Senior Lecturer 0114 222 5613 b.l.jones@sheffield.ac.uk
Kadirkamanatha, Prof. Visakan Director of Rolls-Royce University Technology Centre 0114 22 25680 visakan@sheffield.ac.uk
Khamas, Dr. Salam Lecturer 0114 22 25824 s.khamas@sheffield.ac.uk
Khandelwa, Dr. Bhupendra Lecturer 0114 22 23656 b.khandelwal@sheffield.ac.uk
Kinoshita, Dr. Hajime Senior Lecturer 0114 22 25930 h.kinoshita@sheffield.ac.uk
Krynkin, Dr. Anton Lecturer 0114 222 7847 a.krynkin@sheffield.ac.uk
Lang, Prof. Zi-Qiang Lecturer 0114 222 5623 z.lang@sheffield.ac.uk
Liu, Dr. Wei Lecturer 0114 22 25813 w.liu@sheffield.ac.uk
Lord, Dr. Charles Lecturer 0114 22 27888 c.lord@sheffield.ac.uk
Ma, Prof. Lin Lecturer 0114 22 57212 lin.ma@sheffield.ac.uk
Mahfouf, Prof. Mahdi Lecturer 0114 22 25607 m.mahfouf@sheffield.ac.uk
Marzo, Dr. Alberto Senior Lecturer 0114 22 20155 a.marzo@sheffield.ac.uk
Mylon, Dr. Pete University Teacher / Academic Lead iForge 0114 222 5805 pete.mylon@sheffield.ac.uk
Mihaylova, Dr. L Lecturer 0114 22 25675 l.s.mihaylova@sheffield.ac.uk
Nicolleau, Dr. Franck C. G. A. Senior Lecturer 0114 22 27867 f.nicolleau@sheffield.ac.uk
Nowakowski, Dr Andrew Lecturer 0114 22 27812 a.f.nowakowski@sheffield.ac.uk
Ohkitan, Prof. Koji Lecturer 0114 22 23861
Pinna, Dr. Christophe Senior Lecturer 0114 22 27831 c.pinna@sheffield.ac.uk
Polson, Mr David Senior University Teacher 0114 22 27750 d.polson@sheffield.ac.uk
Pope, Dr. Simon Lecturer 0114 222 5186 s.a.pope@sheffield.ac.uk
Ricco, Dr. Pierre Senior Lecturer 0114 22 27726 p.ricco@sheffield.ac.uk
Rockett, Dr. Peter Lecturer 0114 22 25355 p.rockett@sheffield.ac.uk
Rossiter, Dr. J. Anthony Reader 0114 22 25685 j.a.rossiter@sheffield.ac.uk
Simons, Dr. Tony Senior Lecturer 0114 22 21838 a.j.simons@sheffield.ac.uk
Slatter, Dr. Tom Senior Lecturer 0114 22 27772 tom.slatter@sheffield.ac.uk
Soulatiantork, Dr. Payam University Teacher 0114 222 5654 p.soulatiantork@sheffield.ac.uk
Struth, Dr. George Lecturer 0114 22 21846 g.struth@sheffield.ac.uk
Taylor, Dr. Ramsay University Teacher 0114 22 21843 r.g.taylor@sheffield.ac.uk
Tennant, Prof. Alan Senior Lecturer 0114 22 25438 a.tennant@sheffield.ac.uk
Thackray, Dr. Richard Lecturer & Recruitment Director 0114 22 25963 r.thackray@sheffield.ac.uk
Tomlinson, Dr. Rachel Senior Lecturer 0114 22 27757 r.a.tomlinson@sheffield.ac.uk
Travis, Dr. Karl Reader 0114 22 25483 k.travis@sheffield.ac.uk
Trodden, Dr. Paul Lecturer 0114 22 25679 p.trodden@sheffield.ac.uk
Tsakiropoulo, Prof. Panos Lecturer 0114 22 25960 p.tsakiropoulos@sheffield.ac.uk
Wagg, Prof. David Lecturer 0114 22 20168 david.wagg@sheffield.ac.uk
Walkinshaw, Dr. Neil Senior Lecturer 0114 22 21968 n.walkinshaw@sheffield.ac.uk
Wooley, Dr. Robert Lecturer 0114 22 27711 rob.woolley@sheffield.ac.uk
Wei, Dr. Hua-Liang Senior Lecturer 0114 22 25198 w.hualiang@sheffield.ac.uk
Wynne, Prof. Bradley Culham Chair in Materials Technology 0114 22 26026 b.wynne@sheffield.ac.uk
Zhang, Prof. Yang Lecturer 0114 22 27880 yz100@sheffield.ac.uk