Teaching staff

If you aren’t sure who to contact then get in touch using our general contact details.

Staff A-Z

A B C D E F G H J K L M N O P R S T W Z
Name Role Department Email address Telephone Surname

A

Aitken, Dr Jonathan M. University Teacher in Robotics Department of Automatic Control and Systems Engineering jonathan.aitken@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 5660 A
Anderson, Dr Sean Senior Lecturer Department of Automatic Control and Systems Engineering s.anderson@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 5608 A
Askes, Professor Harm Head of Interdisciplinary Engineering Interdisciplinary Engineering h.askes@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 5769 A
Atallah, Professor Kais Professor in Electrical Engineering Department of Electronic and Electrical Engineering k.atallah@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 5812 A

B

Baldacchino, Dr Tara University Teacher Department of Automatic Control and Systems Engineering t.baldacchino@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 5230 B
Balikhin, Professor Michael Professor of Space Systems Department of Automatic Control and Systems Engineering m.balikhin@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 5628 B
Barthorpe, Dr Rob Lecturer Department of Mechanical Engineering r.j.barthorpe@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 7762 B
Beck, Professor Stephen B M Head of Multidisciplinary Engineering Education Department of Mechanical Engineering s.beck@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 7730 B
Benaissa, Dr Mohammed Senior Lecturer Department of Electronic and Electrical Engineering m.benaissa@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 5899 B
Bhattacharya, Dr Pinaki Lecturer in Solid Biomechanics Department of Mechanical Engineering p.bhattacharya@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 0156 B
Bogdanov, Dr Kirill Lecturer Department of Computer Science k.bogdanov@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 1847 B

C

Curiel-Sosa, Dr Jose L Lecturer in Aircraft Design and Aeroelasticity Department of Mechanical Engineering j.curiel-sosa@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 7857 C

D

Dean, Dr Julian Lecturer in Materials Science Department of Materials Science and Engineering j.dean@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 5473 D
Dervilis, Dr Nikolaos Senior Lecturer Department of Mechanical Engineering n.dervilis@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 7816 D

E

Esnaola, Dr Iñaki Senior Lecturer Department of Automatic Control and Systems Engineering esnaola@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 5648 E

F

Fedun, Dr Viktor Senior Lecturer in Control and Systems Engineering Department of Automatic Control and Systems Engineering v.fedun@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 5197 F
Professor in Electromagnetic Structure Design Department of Electronic and Electrical Engineering L.Ford@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 5904 F
Foreman, Dr Joel University Teacher Department of Materials Science and Engineering j.foreman@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 5920 F
Foster, Professor Martin Professor of Energy Storage & Conversion Department of Electronic and Electrical Engineering m.p.foster@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 5392 F
Foster, Professor Martin Professor of Energy Storage and Conversion Department of Electronic and Electrical Engineering m.p.foster@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 5392 F

G

Gibbs, Dr Beverley Director of Learning and Teaching (Strategy) Department of Mechanical Engineering b.gibbs@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 7732 G
Griffo, Dr Antonio Senior Lecturer Department of Electronic and Electrical Engineering a.griffo@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 5050 G
Gross, Dr Roderich Senior Lecturer in Robotics and Computational Intelligence Department of Automatic Control and Systems Engineering r.gross@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 5610 G

H

Hand, Professor Russell J Director of Learning & Teaching Department of Materials Science and Engineering r.hand@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 5943 H
Hayes, Dr Simon Deputy Course Director Aerospace Engineering s.a.hayes@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 5516 H
He, Professor Shuisheng Professor of Thermofluids Department of Mechanical Engineering s.he@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 7756 H
Hepple, Dr Mark Reader Department of Computer Science m.hepple@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 1829 H
Horoshenkov , Professor Kirill V Professor of Acoustics Department of Mechanical Engineering k.horoshenkov@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 7855 H
Howell, Dr Robert J Director of Aerospace Engineering Department of Mechanical Engineering r.howell@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 7725 H

J

Jackson, Professor Martin Professor of Advanced Metals Processing Department of Materials Science and Engineering martin.jackson@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 5474 J
Jewell, Professor Geraint Professor Department of Electronic and Electrical Engineering g.jewell@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 5845 J
Jones, Dr Bryn Senior Lecturer Department of Automatic Control and Systems Engineering b.l.jones@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 5613 J

K

Kadirkamanathan, Professor Visakan Director of Rolls-Royce University Technology Centre in Control and Systems Engineering Department of Automatic Control and Systems Engineering visakan@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 5680 K
Khamas, Dr Salam Lecturer Department of Electronic and Electrical Engineering s.khamas@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 5824 K
Khandelwal, Dr Bhupendra Lecturer Department of Mechanical Engineering b.khandelwal@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 3656 K
Kinoshita, Dr Hajime Senior Lecturer in Materials Chemistry Department of Materials Science and Engineering h.kinoshita@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 5930 K
Krynkin, Dr Anton Lecturer Department of Mechanical Engineering a.krynkin@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 7847 K

L

Lang, Professor Zi-Qiang Professor of Complex Systems Analysis and Design Department of Automatic Control and Systems Engineering z.lang@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 5623 L
Liu, Dr Wei Senior Lecturer Department of Electronic and Electrical Engineering w.liu@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 5813 L
Lord, Dr Charles Lecturer Department of Mechanical Engineering c.lord@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 7888 L

M

Ma, Professor Lin Professor of Fluid Dynamics Department of Mechanical Engineering lin.ma@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 215 7212 M
Mahfouf, Professor Mahdi Head of the Intelligent Systems Research Laboratory Department of Automatic Control and Systems Engineering +44 114 222 5607 M
Marzo, Dr Alberto Senior Lecturer Department of Mechanical Engineering a.marzo@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 0155 M
Mihaylova, Professor Lyudmila Professor of Signal Processing and Control Department of Automatic Control and Systems Engineering L.S.Mihaylova@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 5675 M
Mumtaz, Dr Kamran Senior Lecturer Department of Mechanical Engineering k.mumtaz@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 7789 M
Mylon, Dr Pete University Teacher Department of Mechanical Engineering pete.mylon@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 5805 M

N

Nicolleau, Dr Franck C G A Senior Lecturer Department of Mechanical Engineering f.nicolleau@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 7867 N
Nowakowski, Dr Andrew F. Lecturer Department of Mechanical Engineering a.f.nowakowski@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 7812 N

O

Ohkitan, Professor Koji Lecturer Department of Mechanical Engineering k.ohkitani@shef.ac.uk +44 114 222 3861 O

P

Pinna, Dr Christophe Senior Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering Department of Mechanical Engineering c.pinna@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 7831 P
Polson, Mr David Senior University Teacher in Mechanical Design Department of Mechanical Engineering d.polson@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 7750 P
Pope, Dr Simon A Lecturer Department of Automatic Control and Systems Engineering s.a.pope@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 5186 P
Punzo, Dr Giuliano Lecturer Department of Automatic Control and Systems Engineering g.punzo@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 5233 P

R

Ricco, Dr Pierre Senior Lecturer Department of Mechanical Engineering p.ricco@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 7726 R
Rockett, Dr Peter Lecturer Department of Electronic and Electrical Engineering P.Rockett@sheffield.ac.uk R
Rossiter, Dr J Anthony Reader Department of Automatic Control and Systems Engineering j.a.rossiter@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 5685 R

S

Simons, Dr Anthony Senior Lecturer Department of Computer Science a.j.simons@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 1838 S
Slatter, Dr Tom Senior Lecturer Department of Mechanical Engineering tom.slatter@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 7772 S
Soulatiantork, Dr Payam University Teacher in Industrial Automation Department of Automatic Control and Systems Engineering p.soulatiantork@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 5654 S
Struth, Professor Georg Professor of Theoretical Computer Science Department of Computer Science g.struth@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 1846 S

T

Taylor, Dr Ramsay University Teacher Department of Computer Science r.g.taylor@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 1843 T
Tennant, Professor Alan Personal Chair Department of Electronic and Electrical Engineering a.tennant@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 5438 T
Thackray, Dr Richard Lecturer in Steelmaking Department of Materials Science and Engineering r.thackray@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 5963 T
Thomas, Dr Meurig University Teacher in Metallurgy Aerospace Engineering meurig.thomas@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 5946 T
Tomlinson, Dr Rachel Senior Lecturer Department of Mechanical Engineering r.a.tomlinson@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 7757 T
Travis, Dr Karl P Reader in Computational Physics and Nuclear Waste Disposal Department of Materials Science and Engineering k.travis@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 5483 T
Trodden, Dr Paul Lecturer Department of Automatic Control and Systems Engineering p.trodden@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 5679 T
Tsakiropoulos, Professor Panos Emeritus Professor of Metallurgy Department of Materials Science and Engineering p.tsakiropoulos@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 5960 T

W

Wagg, Professor David Professor of Nonlinear Dynamics Department of Mechanical Engineering david.wagg@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 0168 W
Walkinshaw, Dr Neil Senior Lecturer in Testing Department of Computer Science N.Walkinshaw@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 1968 W
Wei, Dr Hua-Liang Senior Lecturer Department of Automatic Control and Systems Engineering w.hualiang@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 5198 W
Woolley, Dr Robert Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering Department of Mechanical Engineering rob.woolley@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 7711 W
Wynne, Professor Bradley Culham Chair in Materials Technology Department of Materials Science and Engineering b.wynne@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 6026 W

Z

Zhang, Professor Yang Professor of Combustion and Energy Department of Mechanical Engineering yz100@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 222 7880 Z