Postgraduate Research Students

Below is a list of current postgraduate research students in the Department of Human Communication Sciences. Where available, each person's name links through to their personal profile.

Student Title Supervisor Email
Al-Batati, Hanadi Aphasia intervention in Saudi Arabia Dr. Ruth Herbert and Dr. Catherine Tattersall haal-batati1@sheffield.ac.uk
Alkheraiji, Noaf Noaf is developing a speech production test for Arabic speaking children with and without developmental difficulties. Dr. Ben Rutter and Dr. Blanca Schaefer nfalkheraiji1@sheffield.ac.uk
Allen, Sarah Use of apps and other mobile technology with adults with acquired communication disorders Dr. Catherine Tattersall and Dr. Ruth Herbert sallen8@sheffield.ac.uk
Almuzaini, Shams       Shams is investigating dual and plural noun production in Arabic speakers with agrammatic aphasia. Dr. Ruth Herbert and Dr. Catherine Tattersall soalmuzaini1@sheffield.ac.uk
Anderson, Elizabeth Elizabeth is exploring the relationship between verbs and argument structure in neurologically intact and impaired speakers. Dr. Ruth Herbert and Prof. Patricia Cowell ecanderson1@sheffield.ac.uk
Atapattu, Dinushee Dinushee's PhD compares the expressive language skills of single unit recall (naming) and cohesive speech in monolingual Sinhala and bilingual Sinhala-English, normal and aphasic populations. Dr. Ruth Herbert and Dr. Emma Gregory aatapattu1@sheffield.ac.uk
Binte Jalil, Sajlia Sajlia's research is on communication in Malay-English bilinguals with a Traumatic Brain Injury with specific interest in code-mixing patterns in their conversation. Prof. Ray Wikinson and Dr. Ruth Herbert hcp11sb@sheffield.ac.uk
Bear, Rachel Rachel’s research uses Conversation Analysis to investigate the feedback strategies parents use in phonological therapy Dr. Sarah Spencer and Prof. Ray Wilkinson rebear1@sheffield.ac.uk
Black, Rachael Rachael's project will explore the experiences of parents of people with profound and multiple learning disabilities by using participative research methods. Rachael will work collaboratively with a group of parent co-researchers to devise a research question and an overall research design. Dr. Judy Clegg hcp12rab@sheffield.ac.uk
Blake, Kate Role of speech and language therapist as an intermediary for children in the criminal justice system. Dr. Traci Walker and Dr. Judy Clegg kblake1@sheffield.ac.uk
Borowka, Marta Cross-linguistic transfer of phonological and morphological awareness in Polish-English bilingual children. mborowka1@sheffield.ac.uk
Brooks, Rosemarie Improving literacy in struggling readers in the early years school environment Dr. Jenny Thomson and Dr. Meesha Warmington R.Brooks@sheffield.ac.uk
Buddery, Andrew Andrew will be investigating priming of sentence structures in speakers with aphasia. Dr. Ruth Herbert and Prof. Patricia Cowell APGBuddery1@sheffield.ac.uk
Calladine, Samantha Sam's project aims to develop and refine a therapy approach for very young children with speech difficulties associated with cleft palate. Dr. Sarah Spencer and Dr. Blanca Schaefer s.calladine@sheffield.ac.uk
Cameron, Helen Helen’s research is exploring clinical and everyday interactions in young children with language and communication impairments using a conversation analytic approach. Prof. Ray Wilkinson and Dr. Judy Clegg h.m.cameron@sheffield.ac.uk
Dixon, Chris Literacy development in children learning English as an additional language and how it can be supported in primary school years 4 to 6. Dr. Silke Fricke and Dr. Jenny Thomson Chris.Dixon@sheffield.ac.uk
Dyson, Lucy Lucy is investigating implicit assessment of lexical semantics (word meaning) for people with acquired language difficulties and examining how performance relates to cognitive function. Dr. Ruth Herbert and Dr. Catherine Tattersall lucy.dyson@sheffield.ac.uk
Emerson, Kathryn Kathryn's doctoral research will use Conversation Analysis to investigate the interaction between choirs and conductors, and how we talk and gesture about music. Prof. Ray Wilkinson (HCS) and Dr. Victoria Williamson (Department of Music) kemerson1@sheffield.ac.uk
Greenhalgh, Emma Emma's research uses Conversation Analysis to investigate how Second Language Teachers and Speech and Language Therapists teach and assess language. Prof. Ray Wilkinson (HCS) and Dr. Oksana Afitska (School of English) ejgreenhalgh1@sheffield.ac.uk
Hapsari, Indri Additional Intervention Techniques for Children with Speech and Language Delay Dr. Sarah Spencer and Dr. Judy Clegg ihapsari1@sheffield.ac.uk
Hartshorne, Mary Mary is evaluating the impact of a communication programme in secondary schools. Dr. Judy Clegg and Dr. Sarah Spencer hcp11mvh@sheffield.ac.uk
Haw, Caroline Caroline's research involves working collaboratively with people with aphasia to develop best practice in making information accessible to people with language impairment after a stroke. Dr. Ruth Herbert and Dr. Emma Gregory c.haw@sheffield.ac.uk
Machin, Eleanor Phonological Awareness, Intelligence and Dyslexia Dr. Jenny Thomson emmachin1@sheffield.ac.uk
Malley, Nicola Communication between people with dementia and their partners: Understanding and improving conversational interaction. Dr TS Walker, Professor M Reuber & Dr C Tattersall nicola.malley@sheffield.ac.uk
Munhoz Xavier, Carla Cristina Dr. Traci Walker and Dr. Ben Rutter ccmunhozxavier1@sheffield.ac.uk
Niepelt, Rebekka Rebekka is investigating speech processing in stammering. Dr. Jenny Thomson and Dr. Blanca Schaefer r.niepelt@sheffield.ac.uk
Patrick, Kathryn Kathryn's research is looking at speech and language therapy intervention for children with significant and persistent speech sound difficulties associated with cleft palate. Her intervention is utilising usage based phonology theory and visual feedback techniques. Dr. Silke Fricke and Dr. Ben Rutter kjpatrick1@sheffield.ac.uk
Prieler, Tanja Tanja is looking at the effect of exposure to digital text on early literacy development. Dr. Jenny Thomson and Dr. Meesha Warmington tprieler1@sheffield.ac.uk
Rees, Jo Jo is looking at therapy outcome measures  for adults with cleft palate in Europe, Africa and Asia. Prof. Ray Wilkinson and Dr. Sarah Spencer jsrees1@sheffield.ac.uk
Schroeter, Anne Anne is carrying out an empirical investigation of pronunciation problems of young learners of English as a foreign language - identification and remedial strategies. Dr. Sandra Whiteside and Dr. Stuart Cunningham a.schroeter@sheffield.ac.uk
Sehgal, Siddharth Siddharth is studying optimal strategies and enhancing state-of-the-art modelling techniques for dysarthric speech recognition. Dr. Stuart Cunningham and Prof. Roger Moore (Computer Science) hcp09ss@sheffield.ac.uk
Simon, Santhosh An investigation of the acoustic parameters underlying vocal mimicry. Dr. Stuart Cunningham santhosh.simon@sheffield.ac.uk
Turki, Deema Issues of bilingual language development in the Saudi Arabian context. Dr. Silke Fricke & Dr. Sarah Spencer dfturki1@sheffield.ac.uk
Turner, Kim Kim is investigating language skills and the effects of speech and language therapy with young offenders in a custodial setting. Dr. Judy Clegg and Dr. Sarah Spencer Kim.Turner@sheffield.ac.uk
Wealer, Cyril Cyril is testing the effectiveness of a pre-literacy intervention in a multilingual setting. He is exploring questions related to cross-language transfer of pre-literacy skills. Dr. Silke Fricke (The University of Sheffield) and
Dr. Pascale Engel de Abreu (University of Luxembourg)

cwealer1@sheffield.ac.uk

cyril.wealer@uni.lu

Zosimidou, Alexandra Alexandra is developing an oral language intervention for children that have English as an Additional Language (EAL) in Y3. The project will look at how targeting oral language skills can improve reading comprehension skills for children with EAL. Dr.Silke Fricke (HCS) and Dr. Hannah Nash (University of Leeds) alex.zosimidou@sheffield.ac.uk