19 January 2021

ScHARR students win awards for academic excellence and achievement

Congratulations to our students on winning the Enderby, Akehurst and Hutchinson Awards.

Three images of student profiles

The awards are named after Professor Pamela Mary Enderby, Emeritus Professor of Community Rehabilitation, Professor Ron Akehurst, Emeritus Professor of Health Economics and Emeritus Professor Allen Hutchinson.

Julie Winstone (left)

Many congratulations to Julie Winstone on winning The Enderby Prize for the best part-time student in ScHARR. The prize is awarded annually to the part-time student who is judged to have made the most exceptional achievement, taking account of personal challenges.

On winning the award Julie said, “It is an honour to receive the Enderby Prize. Studying for an MSc in International Health Technology Assessment and Reimbursement at the University of Sheffield has been an amazing and rewarding experience. I would like to thank everyone at ScHARR for delivering a world-class course. In particular, I would like to thank Sue Harnan, Jim Chilcott, and Edith Poku for their guidance, support, and inspiration. I dedicate this prize to my Dad (who passed away while I was studying for this Masters degree) for his endless love and encouragement.”

Yücel Karakış (centre)

Many congratulations to Yücel Karakış, winner of ScHARR’s Akehurst Prize for Excellence in Health Economics. Yücel graduated this week from ScHARR’s MSc Health Economics and Decision Modelling (HEDM) programme.

On winning the award, Yücel said, “I am very happy and proud of receiving the 2019-2020 Akehurst Prize for Excellence in Health Economics due to my success in the HEDM Course. I believe that the HEDM Course equipped me very well with the skills needed in the field of health technology assessment and economic modelling. I would like to thank the developers of this comprehensive programme and our lecturers in ScHARR, who are very competent at their profession. They all have been very helpful during this difficult period. I would also like to thank my classmates in the HEDM course for their warm friendship. It has been very fruitful to discuss and share information with them. Due to the pandemic, we all experienced unprecedented difficulties. Therefore, I believe all the staff of ScHARR and my friends in HEDM achieved great success by completing the 2019-2020 academic year."

Sam Tomlinson-Perez (right)

Many congratulations to ScHARR’s Master of Public Health graduate, Sam Tomlinson-Perez, on winning the Allen Hutchinson Prize in Public Health. The Allen Hutchinson Prize is awarded once annually to the most outstanding graduate of ScHARR’s Master of Public Health taught course.

On winning the award, Sam said, ‘I feel extremely honoured to have been given this award. The Masters in Public Health course has given me a great foundation for my future career in medicine, providing me with a wide range of knowledge and skills that I did not have before. It has also been a privilege to meet and become friends with other students from all over the world! The teaching and support available has been of the highest quality and I would like to say a huge thank you to everyone at ScHARR for the effort they have put in to make this course work, especially in this turbulent year.’

Postgraduate taught scholarships

Explore scholarships for postgraduate taught courses starting in 2021, including:

  • 100+ scholarships worth £10,000 each for home fee paying students
  • 150 scholarships worth 25 per cent of the tuition fee for international students