Meet the team

Profiles and responsibilities of colleagues on the University Executive Board.

Professor Koen Lamberts - President & Vice-Chancellor

President and Vice-Chancellor

Professor Koen Lamberts

Professor Lamberts is a cognitive psychologist with an extensive track record in experimental and theoretical research on human perception and memory, for which he has been awarded prizes from the Experimental Psychology Society and the British Psychological Society.

Professor Gill Valentine - Provost and Deputy Vice-Chancellor

Provost and Deputy Vice-Chancellor

Professor Gill Valentine

Working closely with the President and Vice-Chancellor, Gill has the responsibility of delivering a number of the University's key aims and priorities in the region, nationally and internationally.

Gill is also our University's senior LGBT+ champion.


Professor Mary Vincent

Professor Mary Vincent

Vice-President for Education

Mary's role is to ensure excellence and innovation in teaching and learning for all students, including undergraduate, postgraduate, overseas students and those studying for University of Sheffield qualifications overseas.

Professor Sue Hartley

Professor Sue Hartley OBE

Vice-President for Research & Innovation

Sue leads on the University’s research and innovation activity, including research excellence, flagship institutes, Research Excellence Framework (REF), research income and impact, as well as overseeing the University’s innovation, partnerships, and commercialisation activities. Sue is also the institutional lead for sustainability.

Vice-Presidents and Heads of

Headshot of Geraint Jewell

Professor Geraint Jewell

Vice-President and Head of the Advanced Manufacturing Group

Professor Susan Fitzmaurice - Vice-President and Head of the Faculty of Arts and Humanities

Professor Susan Fitzmaurice

Vice-President and Head of the Faculty of Arts and Humanities

Susan takes the lead in directing the faculty, which has over 350 staff and 3,500 undergraduate and postgraduate students.

Professor Conchúr Ó Brádaigh

Professor Conchúr Ó Brádaigh

Vice-President and Head of the Faculty of Engineering

Professor Ashley Blom

Professor Ashley Blom

Vice-President and Head of the Faculty of Health

Professor John Derrick - Vice-President and Head of Faculty of Science

Professor John Derrick

Vice-President and Head of the Faculty of Science

John graduated with a degree in Mathematics from the University of Nottingham, before taking his DPhil in Oxford. From 1990 to 2005 he worked at the University of Kent at Canterbury then moved to Sheffield in 2005. He was Head of Department in Computer Science between 2009 and 2015. In 2015 he was appointed to the post of Deputy PVC for Research and Innovation. John joined the Faculty of Science towards the end of 2017.

Professor Craig Watkins - Vice-President and Head of the Faculty of Social Sciences

Professor Craig Watkins

Vice-President and Head of the Faculty of Social Sciences

Craig joined the University's Department of Town and Regional Planning in February 2004 and was promoted to Reader in September 2004. He also served as Head of Town and Regional Planning, before taking up the post of Faculty Director of Research and Innovation.

Professional Services Members

Joanne Jones

Joanne Jones

Chief Financial Officer

As Chief Financial Officer, Joanne oversees the Finance, Infrastructure and Commercial Services Group, comprising: Finance & Commercial; Accommodation and Commercial Services; Estates and Facilities Management; and IT Services. Joanne is responsible for developing and implementing dynamic and future-focussed financial strategies to support the University's aims, whilst maintaining sound financial oversight and administration in managing the University's financial affairs.

Rob Sykes, Chief Operating Officer

Rob Sykes

Chief Operating Officer

As Chief Operating Officer, Rob oversees the Academic Services and External Relations Group: Library Services; Research Services; Planning, Projects and Business Intelligence; Student Recruitment, Marketing and Admissions; Student Support Services; Academic Programmes and Student Engagement; Global Engagement; Partnerships and Regional Engagement; Campaigns and Alumni Relations; and Corporate Communications. 

Director of Human Resources, Ian Wright

Ian Wright

Director of Human Resources

As Director of Human Resources (HR), Ian has leadership responsibility across the four key HR teams: HR Business Partnering and Employee Relations, Organisational Development and Employee Engagement, HR & Recruitment Services and Reward. Ian also has executive responsibility for the Health & Safety Directorate as part of the One University agenda.

In Attendance

Tracy Wray

Tracy Wray

Director of Corporate Communications & External Relations

Tracy is responsible for the operational leadership of the Corporate Communication department which covers all media & PR, digital/social, marketing, internal/external communications across all audience groups. She also has responsibility for public affairs and sustainability.

University Secretary's Office

Jeannette Strachan

Jeannette Strachan

University Secretary

As University Secretary, Jeannette works to ensure the highest standards of governance in liaison with the Chair of Council, President and Vice-Chancellor, University Executive Board members and Professional Services Directors.

Also in attendance:

David Swinn
Secretary to the UEB, Head of Governance

Matthew Borland
Minute Secretary to the UEB, Senior Governance and Policy Officer

Dr Edward Smith
Minute Secretary to the UEB, Senior Governance Officer

Kate Sullivan
Minute Secretary to the UEB, Senior Governance Officer