Meet the Executive Team

President and Vice-Chancellor

Professor Koen Lamberts

Professor Koen Lamberts

Professor Lamberts is a cognitive psychologist with an extensive track record in experimental and theoretical research on human perception and memory, for which he has been awarded prizes from the Experimental Psychology Society and the British Psychological Society.

Throughout his career he has held a number of significant leadership roles in higher education, including Chair of the N8 group of research-intensive universities in the north of England. He joins us from the University of York.

Provost and Deputy Vice-Chancellor

Professor Gill Valentine

Working closely with the President and Vice-Chancellor, Gill has the responsibility of delivering a number of the University's key aims and priorities in the region, nationally and internationally.

Gill is also our University's senior LGBT+ champion.

Professor Gill Valentine


Professor Dave Petley

Professor Dave Petley

Vice-President for Research and Innovation

Dave provides the strategic lead for research and innovation across the University. He is responsible for developing and delivering the University's research strategy, ensuring that the local community gains maximum benefits from research at Sheffield. 

Leads on: Research and Innovation

Professor Wyn Morgan

Vice-President for Education

Wyn's role is to ensure excellence and innovation in teaching and learning for all students including undergraduate, postgraduate, overseas students and those studying for University of Sheffield qualifications overseas.

Leads on: Learning and Teaching Strategy

Wyn Morgan

Vice-Presidents and Heads of Faculty

Susan Fitzmaurice

Professor Susan Fitzmaurice

Interim Vice-President and Head of the Faculty of Arts and Humanities

Professor Susan Fitzmaurice will take the lead in directing the faculty, which has over 350 staff and 3,500 undergraduate and postgraduate students.

Professor Dame Pamela Shaw

Vice-President and Head of the Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health

During her eminent career Pam has supervised the research training of over 100 colleagues and generated over £52 million in research funding. In 2014, she was made a Dame in recognition of her exceptional contribution to neurosciences.

Pam Shaw

Mike Hounslow

Professor Mike Hounslow

Vice-President and Head of the Faculty of Engineering

Mike is an enthusiastic champion of engineering as a profession and discipline and believes that the history and achievements of Sheffield – both the University and City – make it an ideal place to show why.

Professor John Derrick

Interim Vice-President and Head of the Faculty of Science

John graduated with a degree in Mathematics from the University of Nottingham, before taking his DPhil in Oxford. From 1990 to 2005 he worked at the University of Kent at Canterbury then moved to Sheffield in 2005. He was Head of Department in Computer Science between 2009 and 2015. In 2015 he was appointed to the post of Deputy PVC for Research and Innovation. John joined the Faculty of Science towards the end of 2017.

 John Derrick

Professor Craig Watkins

Professor Craig Watkins

Interim Vice-President and Head of the Faculty of Social Sciences

Craig joined the University's Department of Town and Regional Planning in February 2004 and was promoted to Reader in September 2004. He also served as Head of Town and Regional Planning, before taking up the post of Faculty Director of Research & Innovation.

Professional Services Members

Andrew Dodman

Chief Operating Officer

Andy leads the University's Corporate Services, which includes Human Resources; Corporate Communications; Development, Alumni Relations and Events; Global Engagement; Public Affairs; Health and Safety; Sport Sheffield; Partnerships and Regional Engagement.

Andy Dodman

Helen Dingle

Helen Dingle

Chief Financial Officer

As Chief Financial Officer, Helen is responsible for developing and implementing dynamic and future-focussed financial strategies to support the University's aims, whilst maintaining sound financial oversight and administration in managing the University's financial affairs.

Rob Sykes

Director of Academic Services

Rob provides overall leadership and/or coordination of a number of key professional services, namely Academic Programmes and Student Engagement (APSE), Student Support Services, English Language Teaching Centre, Student Recruitment and Admissions, Research Services, Planning and Insight, Estates and Facilities Management, Corporate Information and Computing Services, the Library and the University's Strategic Change Office.


Strategy and Governance

Dr Tony Strike

University Secretary

Dr Tony Strike

Also in attendance:

David Swinn
Secretary to the UEB
Head of Governance

Matthew Borland
Minute Secretary to the UEB
Senior Governance and Policy Officer

Nick Button
Minute Secretary to the UEB
Policy Officer