Current PhD students

Funded PhD students and their research areas and supervisors.

Students talk in seminar room
Off

Our students receive financial support to undertake their studies from a variety of sources. These include UK Research Councils (particularly ESRC and EPSRC), University funding (both fee waivers and scholarships offering maintenance funding), and overseas governments and funding organisations (for example, CONACYT for students from Mexico).

Name Email Research area Primary supervisor
Fatima Ajia fajia1@sheffield.ac.uk Public communications in the adaptive water utility Liz Sharp
Ryan Bellinson r.bellinson@sheffield.ac.uk Coproducing urban climate change and environmental governance: A case study of Greater Manchester Beth Perry
Simon Benten swbenten1@sheffield.ac.uk Spatially sensitive measures of health inequality in England Alasdair Rae
Katherine Blaker keblaker1@sheffield.ac.uk Reconnecting planning, people and place in former industrial communities Andy Inch
Helen Brown hlbrown2@sheffield.ac.uk Understanding attitudes and perceptions amongst older people of housing and housing processes in an era of rising demand Malcolm Tait
Rachael Bust trp10rab@sheffield.ac.uk Minerals planning - new government, new opportunity? Aidan While
Cihan Cagil trp11ctc@sheffield.ac.uk The Istanbul International Financial Center and World City Planning in Istanbul John Henneberry
Fiona Calder f.calder@sheffield.ac.uk Involving customers in directing water supply and sewerage outcomes Liz Sharp
Carlo Chan kycchan1@sheffield.ac.uk Urban planning and ageing Malcolm Tait
Juliet de Little jmdelittle1@sheffield.ac.uk Planning for resilience under multi-stakeholder risk management Liz Sharp
Abdulla Difalla adifalla1@sheffield.ac.uk Toward a relational understanding of informal areas in Saudi Arabia Ryan Powell
Hoda Elhalaby haelhalaby1@sheffield.ac.uk The effect of NGOs interventions on urban villages in Egypt Steve Connelly
John Erskine john.erskine@sheffield.ac.uk The informal economy in Yorkshire coalfield communities John Flint
Dario Ferrazzi dferrazzi1@sheffield.ac.uk Housing, crime and the city: re-addressing the urban crime question Rowland Atkinson
Manuel Heckel mheckel1@sheffield.ac.uk Urban governance and finance in sub-Saharan Africa Glyn Williams
Philippa Hughes phughes4@sheffield.ac.uk Community land trusts John Flint
Minki Jeong mjeong7@sheffield.ac.uk The relationship between urban digitisation and creativity in cities Ryan Powell
George Jewitt g.jewitt@sheffield.ac.uk A better tomorrow: paternalism, totalitarianism, democracy Peter Bibby
Chan-Woo Kim cwkim1@sheffield.ac.uk Commercial real estate rental markets in Europe Craig Watkins
Stephanie Lacey svlacey1@sheffield.ac.uk The impact of female homelessness on children's educational experiences in inner-city schools Michele Lancione
Carl Lee clee37@sheffield.ac.uk Purpose built student accommodation (PBSA) development nexus in Sheffield 2000-2019. Sarah Payne
Hakjin Lee hlee58@sheffield.ac.uk Neighbourhood planning: localism, community participation and conflicts Andy Inch
Wanying Li WLi94@sheffield.ac.uk Residential Redevelopment: Eviction and the reconstruction of space in the lower half of Chongqing, China Amparo Tarazona Vento
Yixin Liu yliu155@sheffield.ac.uk Gated communities in China Rowland Atkinson
Vanessa Lo cvlo1@sheffield.ac.uk Understanding the housing decision-making processes of elderly people Malcolm Tait
Ruth Lucas rmlucas2@sheffield.ac.uk The housing crisis and the changing role of th housing professional in England John Flint
Emmanuel Maiyanga eimaiyanga1@sheffield.ac.uk Household water practices in a rapidly urbanising city Liz Sharp
Abraham Mariech AMMariech1@sheffield.ac.uk Housing and disability within urban informality in Eldoret, Kenya Paula Meth
Jonathan Marsden jcmarsden1@sheffield.ac.uk Making space for coproduction Andy Inch
Martha Mingay mmingay1@sheffield.ac.uk Community land trusts and the housing crisis John Flint
Fatima Mohammed fzmohammed1@sheffield.ac.uk Resettlement and rehabilitation initiatives in Nigeria Tom Goodfellow
Naomi Oates nemoates1@sheffield.ac.uk Water service provision practices in Malawi    Steve Connelly
Inken Oldsen-thor Straten ioldsen-thorstraten1@sheffield.ac.uk Property development towards more just cities Paula Meth
Marion Oveson m.a.oveson@sheffield.ac.uk Civic universities and social justice Lee Crookes
Jenny Patient jspatient1@sheffield.ac.uk Trade Unions and a 'just' transition to low carbon Beth Perry
Alexandra Payling apayling1@sheffield.ac.uk Gendering the economic imaginary of the 'Northern Powerhouse' city-regions Tim May
Martyna Piliszewska mppiliszewska1@sheffield.ac.uk Why do they stay? Exploring the reasons why homeless Polish migrant workers remain in a state of prolonged destitution in post-Brexit Britain Michele Lancione
Selam Robi swrobi1@sheffield.ac.uk Industrial park cities in Ethiopia Tom Goodfellow
Hayyan Rozi hrozi1@sheffield.ac.uk Low carbon city planning in Riyadh City, Saudi Arabia Liz Sharp
Patricia Schappo pschappo1@sheffield.ac.uk Street markets as multi-purpose development strategies for urban environments Melanie Lombard
Rami Shamseen rshamseen1@sheffield.ac.uk Decentralisation and the growth of core cities Craig Watkins
Taekyung Song trp12ts@sheffield.ac.uk Economic and social development in South Korea Aidan While
Emma Stevens estevens4@sheffield.ac.uk Collective action and discourse coalitions of energy and climate change Steve Connelly
Sri Suryani ssuryani1@sheffield.ac.uk Displacements and urban water infrastructure in Jakarta, Indonesia Michele Lancione
Charlotte van der Lijn cjcvanderlijn1@sheffield.ac.uk Understanding spatial housing choice and demand Sarah Payne
Jeni Vine javine1@sheffield.ac.uk Building cohesive neighbourhoods: conflict and rank awareness Ryan Powell
Chao Wang cwang47@sheffield.ac.uk The involvement of Chinese civil society in environmental planning Steve Connelly
Yu-Tung Wu YWu165@sheffield.ac.uk Housing and intergenerational inequality in the Taipei metropolitan area Ryan Powell
Jiaxi Yang JYang68@sheffield.ac.uk Rural development and Governance in China Aidan While
Said Zaaneen SYSZaaneen1@sheffield.ac.uk Urban refugee camps in the Gaza Strip Tom Goodfellow
Noranida Zainal n.zainal@sheffield.ac.uk Public participation in regeneration in Kuala Lumpur Tom Goodfellow