12 October 2012

RCUK PhD Studentship

Applications are invited for a (3 year) PhD studentship funded by EPSRC and STFC in the Department of Automatic Control and Systems Engineering.

For a list of projects available for the EPSRC studentship please see: http://shef.ac.uk/acse/prospectivepg/phd/projects

The STFC studentship is in the Space Systems Group and projects are available in one of the following areas:

  • Plasma waves in solar, space and astrophysical plasmas
  • Solar-terrestrial relations MHD dynamo and turbulence
  • Collisionless shocks
  • Plasma environment of Venus
  • Space Weather

The studentship may be supplemented by income from assistance in tutorials.

Applications are invited from Engineering, Mathematics and Physics students who have graduated or expect to graduate with a first or upper-second class degree.
The studentship is available commencing January 2013. The screening of applications will begin after 15th November 2012 and applications will be considered until the positions are filled.


The studentship is funded by the STFC and EPSRC and for Home students cover tuition fees and a bursary at the standard RCUK rate of £13,590 per annum for 2012/13. Other EU students may be funded for fees only.

Student eligibility:

To be eligible for a full award (stipend and fees) a student must have:

  • Settled status in the UK, meaning they have no restrictions on how long they can stay and
  • Been ‘ordinarily resident’ in the UK for 3 years prior to the start of their studies, this means they must have been normally residing in the UK and
  • Not been residing in the UK wholly or mainly for the purpose of full-time education (This does not apply to UK or EU nationals)

Eligibility details are available at: http://www.epsrc.ac.uk/funding/students/Pages/eligibility.aspx and http://www.stfc.ac.uk/Funding+and+Grants/641.aspx

How to apply:

Applications should be sent to Debbie Proctor, email d.proctor@sheffield.ac.uk and must include a covering letter outlining the proposed project area, CV, exam result transcripts, any relevant publications and the names and contact details of two references.

For additional information regarding the EPSRC studentship please contact Professor Daniel Coca (d.coca@sheffield.ac.uk) and regarding the STFC studentship please contact Professor Misha Balikhin (m.balikhin@sheffield.ac.uk) or Dr Viktor Fedun (v.fedun@sheffield.ac.uk).