Academic staff

Contact details for the academic staff in the Department of Electronic and Electrical Engineering.


Academic staff

A  B  C  D  F  G  H  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  R  S  T  W  Z


A

Name Role Research group Contact
Abhayaratne, Dr Charith Lecturer Communications Group T: + 44 114 222 5893
E: c.abhayaratne@sheffield.ac.uk
Atallah, Professor Kais Professor in Electrical Engineering Electrical Machines & Drives Group T: + 44 114 222 5812
E: k.atallah@sheffield.ac.uk

B

Name Role Research group Contact
Ball, Mr Eddie Reader in RF Engineering Communications Group T: + 44 114 222 5839
E: e.a.ball@sheffield.ac.uk
Benaissa, Dr Mohammed Senior Lecturer Communications Group T: + 44 114 222 5899
E: m.benaissa@sheffield.ac.uk

C

Name Role Research group Contact
Chen, Dr Xiao Lecturer in Electrical Machines Electrical Machines & Drives Group T: + 44 114 222 5827
E: xiao.chen@sheffield.ac.uk
Chu, Dr Xiaoli Reader in Wireless Communications Communications Group T: + 44 114 222 5903
E: x.chu@sheffield.ac.uk
Cook, Dr Gregory Senior Lecturer in Electromagnetics Communications Group T: + 44 114 222 5838
E: g.cook@sheffield.ac.uk

D

Name Role Research group Contact
David, Professor John

(Departmental Director of Admissions)
Personal Chair Semiconductor Materials & Devices Group T: + 44 114 222 5185
E: j.p.david@sheffield.ac.uk
Davidson, Dr Jonathan Lecturer Electrical Machines & Drives Group T: + 44 114 222 5825
E: jonathan.davidson@shef.ac.uk
De Souza, Professor Merlyne Chair in Micro Electronics Semiconductor Materials & Devices Group T: + 44 114 222 5167
E: m.desouza@sheffield.ac.uk

F

Name Role Research group Contact
Farrer, Dr Ian Senior Lecturer - Semiconductor Epitaxy Semiconductor Materials & Devices Group T: + 44 114 222 5860
E: i.farrer@sheffield.ac.uk
Ford, Dr Lee Reader Communications Group T: + 44 114 222 5904
E: l.ford@sheffield.ac.uk
Foster, Professor Martin Professor of Energy Storage & Conversion Electrical Machines & Drives Group T: + 44 114 222 5392
E: m.p.foster@sheffield.ac.uk

G

Name Role Research group Contact
Gladwin, Dr Daniel Senior Lecturer Electrical Machines & Drives Group T: + 44 114 222 5849
E: d.gladwin@sheffield.ac.uk
Good, Dr Tim Research Associate in Communications Communications Group E: tim.good@sheffield.ac.uk
Griffo, Dr Antonio Senior Lecturer Electrical Machines & Drives Group T: + 44 114 222 5050
E: a.griffo@sheffield.ac.uk
Groom, Dr Kristian Senior Lecturer Semiconductor Materials & Devices Group T: + 44 114 222 5822
E: k.m.groom@sheffield.ac.uk

H

Name Role Research group Contact
Heffernan, Professor Jon Professor Semiconductors/Centre Director EPSRC National Epitaxy Facility T: + 44 114 222 5165
E: jon.heffernan@sheffield.ac.uk
Hopkinson, Professor Mark Professor in Electrical Engineering Semiconductor Materials & Devices Group T: + 44 114 222 5385
E: m.hopkinson@sheffield.ac.uk
Houston, Professor Peter Personal Chair Semiconductor Materials & Devices Group T: + 44 114 222 5180
E: p.a.houston@sheffield.ac.uk

J

Name Role Research group Contact
Jewell, Professor Geraint Professor Electrical Machines & Drives Group T: + 44 114 222 5845
E: g.jewell@sheffield.ac.uk
Jin, Dr Chaoyuan Vice-Chancellor's Fellow Semiconductor Materials & Devices Group T: + 44 114 222 5176
E: c.jin@sheffield.ac.uk
Judd, Mr Peter University Teacher   T: + 44 114 222 5171
E: p.l.judd@sheffield.ac.uk

K

Name Role Research group Contact
Khamas, Dr Salam Lecturer Communications Group T: + 44 114 222 5824
E: s.khamas@sheffield.ac.uk

L

Name Role Research group Contact
Lee, Mr Kean Boon Lecturer in GaN Electronic Devices Semiconductor Materials & Devices Group T: + 44 114 222 5836
E: kboon.lee@sheffield.ac.uk
Li, Dr Guang-Jin Senior Lecturer in Electrical Machines Electrical Machines & Drives Group T: + 44 114 222 5132
E: g.li@sheffield.ac.uk
Liu, Dr Wei Senior Lecturer Communications Group T: + 44 114 222 5813
E: w.liu@sheffield.ac.uk

M

Name Role Research group Contact
Madathil, Professor Shankar Chair in Power Electronic Systems Electrical Machines & Drives Group T: + 44 114 222 5856
E: s.madathil@sheffield.ac.uk
Maiden, Dr Andrew Lecturer Computational Holography Semiconductor Materials & Devices Group T: + 44 114 222 5181
E: a.maiden@sheffield.ac.uk
Matcher, Professor Stephen Professor of Biophotonics Semiconductor Materials & Devices Group T: + 44 114 222 5994
E: s.j.matcher@sheffield.ac.uk
Mitchell, Mr Ken University Teacher Electrical Machines & Drives Group E: k.mitchell@sheffield.ac.uk

N

Name Role Research group Contact
Ng, Professor Jo

(Departmental Director of Research & Innovation)
Professor of Semiconductor Devices Semiconductor Materials & Devices Group T: + 44 114 222 5173
E: j.s.ng@sheffield.ac.uk

O

Name Role Research group Contact
Odavic, Dr Milijana Senior Lecturer Electrical Machines & Drives Group T: + 44 114 222 5170
E: m.odavic@sheffield.ac.uk
O'Farrell, Professor Timothy Chair in Wireless Communication Communications Group T: + 44 114 222 5193
E: t.ofarrell@sheffield.ac.uk

P

Name Role Research group Contact
Powell, Mr Neil University Teacher Communications Group T: + 44 114 222 5172
E: n.powell@sheffield.ac.uk

R

Name Role Research group Contact
Race, Mr Andrew Senior Experimental Officer Electrical Machines & Drives Group T: + 44 114 222 5835
E: a.m.race@sheffield.ac.uk
Richards, Dr Robert Research Fellow Semiconductor Materials & Devices Group T: + 44 114 222 5148
E: r.richards@sheffield.ac.uk
Rockett, Dr Peter Lecturer Communications Group E: p.rockett@sheffield.ac.uk
Rodenburg, Professor John Personal Chair Semiconductor Materials & Devices Group T: + 44 114 222 5391
E: j.m.rodenburg@sheffield.ac.uk

S

Name Role Research group Contact
Seed, Dr Luke

(Departmental Director of Learning & Teaching)
Senior Lecturer Semiconductor Materials & Devices Group T: + 44 114 222 5844
E: n.seed@sheffield.ac.uk
Smith, Dr Richard Lecturer in GaN Materials and Devices Centre for GaN Materials & Devices T: + 44 114 222 5179
E: richard.smith@sheffield.ac.uk
Stone, Professor David Professor in Electrical Engineering Electrical Machines & Drives Group T: + 44 114 222 5046
E: d.a.stone@sheffield.ac.uk

T

Name Role Research group Contact
Tan, Professor Chee

(Head of Department)
Professor of Opto-Electronic Sensors Semiconductor Materials & Devices Group T: + 44 114 222 5144
E: c.h.tan@sheffield.ac.uk
Tennant, Professor Alan Personal Chair Communications Group T: + 44 114 222 5438
E: a.tennant@sheffield.ac.uk

W

Name Role Research group Contact
Walther, Dr Thomas Reader in Advanced Electron Microscopy Semiconductor Materials & Devices Group T: + 44 114 222 5891
E: t.walther@sheffield.ac.uk
Wang, Professor Jiabin Personal Chair Electrical Machines & Drives Group T: + 44 114 222 5817
E: j.b.wang@sheffield.ac.uk
Wang, Professor Tao Professor in Advanced Opto-Electronics Centre for GaN Materials & Devices T: + 44 114 222 5902
E: t.wang@sheffield.ac.uk
Williams, Dr Gavin University Teacher Semiconductor Materials & Devices Group T: + 44 114 222 5814
E: g.williams@sheffield.ac.uk
Willmott, Dr Jon Senior Lecturer in Sensor Systems Semiconductor Materials & Devices Group T: + 44 114 222 5436
E: j.r.willmott@sheffield.ac.uk

Z

Name Role Research group Contact
Zhang, Professor Jie Chair in Wireless Systems Communications Group T: + 44 114 222 5380
E: jie.zhang@sheffield.ac.uk
Zhu, Professor Zi-Qiang Professor (Personal Chair) Electrical Machines & Drives Group T: + 44 114 222 5195
E: z.q.zhu@sheffield.ac.uk

Emeritus Professors

Name Research group Contact
Chambers, Professor Barry Communications Group E: b.chambers@sheffield.ac.uk
Cullis, Professor Tony Semiconductor Materials & Devices Group E: a.g.cullis@sheffield.ac.uk
Freeston, Professor Ian   E: i.l.freeston@sheffield.ac.uk
Tozer, Professor Richard Semiconductor Materials & Devices Group E: r.c.tozer@sheffield.ac.uk

Visiting Professors

  • Professor Alejandro Frangi
  • Professor Frank Smith
  • Professor Steve Williamson

Top 10 in the UK

We're in the top 10 UK Electronic and Electrical Engineering Departments (The World University Rankings 2020).

A world top-100 university

We're a world top-100 university renowned for the excellence, impact and distinctiveness of our research-led learning and teaching.