Our PhD candidates

The Department of Geography is at the forefront of human and physical geography research, with our internationally excellent and world-leading contribution being recognised in the most recent REF (2014). Find out more about the issues some of our PhD researchers are tackling.

Off
Name Contact Thesis title
Ambrose McCarron amccarron1@sheffield.ac.uk  
Ana Laura Zavala Guillén alzavalaguillen1@sheffield.ac.uk  
Barley Blyton bbblyton1@sheffield.ac.uk  
Barry Hunter bwhunter1@sheffield.ac.uk  
Chris Flower chris.flower@sheffield.ac.uk  
Daniel Casey djcasey1@sheffield.ac.uk  
Ella Hubbard erchubbard1@sheffield.ac.uk Democratic Politics for Community Economies
Felipe Tornquist fatornquist1@sheffield.ac.uk Examining the causes of phytoplankton variation along the Chilean coast
Greg Rushby gtrushby1@sheffield.ac.uk  
Hannah Mottram  hfmottram1@sheffield.ac.uk  
Hassan Onimisi Abu hoabu1@sheffield.ac.uk Life-Course Approach to Understanding the Relationships Between Forced Migration Trajectories and Food Insecurity/security Path in Central Nigeria
Hazal Dolek hidolek1@sheffield.ac.uk

Places that endure: women's spacings in the Palestinian Territories.

Henry Staples hstaples1@sheffield.ac.uk

Understanding mobilisation in ‘post-conflict’ Colombia

Ingun Borg iborg1@sheffield.ac.uk  
Itzel San Roman Pineda isanromanpineda1@sheffield.ac.uk

Clustering from below: a tool for development in the Yucatan Peninsula

Jennifer Ross jbross1@sheffield.ac.uk  
Joe Molloy jlmolloy1@sheffield.ac.uk  
Josephine Hornsey jhornsey1@sheffield.ac.uk  
KM Florentine Weber fkmweber1@sheffield.ac.uk Why is the atmosphere becoming drier? The roles of atmospheric processes and vegetation feedbacks, and their implications for future climate change.
Katie Sumner k.sumner@sheffield.ac.uk  
Laura Eddey ljhayes1@sheffield.ac.uk  
Naomi Oates nemoates1@sheffield.ac.uk  
Nerea Okong'o naokongo1@sheffield.ac.uk Politics of progress: an analysis of gender in the extractive sector in Kenya
Nico Dewald ndewald1@sheffield.ac.uk

Subglacial drainage networks of the last Scandinavian Ice Sheet.

Pete Tuckett patuckett1@sheffield.ac.uk Investigating the impact of surface melt on the Antarctic Ice Sheet
Rafaella Simas Lima r.lima@sheffield.ac.uk Transnational real estate investment in a semi-periphery: Uneven housing development in post-crisis Lisbon
Remy Veness r.veness@sheffield.ac.uk Exploring sediment transfer beneath ice sheets from model-data comparisons encompassing changing ice flow geometries
Rowan Jaines rvjaines1@sheffield.ac.uk

Geographies of discontent: uncanny materiality and the Cambridgeshire Fens

Rosie Archer rarcher4@sheffield.ac.uk Emulating the last Eurasian Ice Sheet
Sakariya Haji shaji2@sheffield.ac.uk The role of diaspora in state building
Sean Gilgannon smgilgannon1@sheffield.ac.uk  
Shuna Beckett scbeckett1@sheffield.ac.uk  
Stephen Langford smlangford1@sheffield.ac.uk   
Susan Moore srm543@york.ac.uk  
Teresa (Tete') Mausse tfmausse1@sheffield.ac.uk Informal Water Provision: Enabling or Constraining -Sustainable- Development?
William Haynes wrhaynes1@sheffield.ac.uk Seen and unseen: homeless migrants at Stazione Termini in Rome
Will Higson wjhigson1@sheffield.ac.uk  
Will Wenban wwenban1@sheffield.ac.uk Deciphering the Influence of Glacial Erosion on Alpine Landscape Evolution Through a Novel Application of Thermoluminescence Thermochronometry
Zulhan A. Harahap zaharahap1@sheffield.ac.uk  

Study with us

Join an international community of geographers and help tackle the biggest issues in our changing world.

Find a PhD

Search for PhD opportunities at Sheffield and be part of our world-leading research.