Academic clinical fellowships in Haematology

Clinical Haematology at Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust partners closely with the University of Sheffield Medical School with several active academic programmes in myeloma, myeloproliferative neoplasms, clinical trials, stem cell transplantation and haemostats and thrombosis.

Dr Andy Chantry, Senior Clinical Lecturer and Honorary Consultant in Haematology, runs the academic myeloma programme and is joint principal investigator of the Sheffield Myeloma Research Group along with his non-clinical colleague, Dr Shelly Lawson. The Sheffield myeloma research team researches bone anabolic approaches to myeloma bone disease and has just published in the Journal of Bone and Mineral Research key data showing the efficacy of bone anabolic approaches in pre-clinical models of myeloma bone disease. The group is also investigating ways of targeting minimal residual disease in myeloma and has been developing a potent myeloma specific oncolytic virus which appears extremely promising.

An increasing number of our clinical trainees are taking time out to conduct cutting edge research. Dr Sally Thomas, NIHR Lecturer, is investigating the regulation of JAK STAT signalling in myeloproliferative neoplasms. Dr Rebecca Andrews, Clinical Research Fellow, is conducting PhD studies to optimise bone anabolic therapy in myeloma. Dr Philippa Kelsy is applying oncolytic viral therapy to pre-clinical models of lymphoma as part of her MD studies. Dr Clare Samuelson is using gene-editing techniques in the treatment of pre-clinical models of haemoglobinopathies as part of her MD studies. She is currently performing research at the Fred Hutchinson Centre, Seattle, US.

Academic lead

If you are interested in academic research into Haematology at the University of Sheffield, as an Academic Clinical Fellow, or in other capacities, contact Dr Andy Chantry

A global reputation

Sheffield is a research university with a global reputation for excellence. We're a member of the Russell Group: one of the 24 leading UK universities for research and teaching.