Department contacts for postgraduate visit afternoons

If you're coming to a postgraduate visit afternoon and wish to book a department visit, use this page to find the contact details for the relevant member of staff.

Organising a department visit

The department visit is an optional part of a postgraduate visit afternoon.

Use the table to find the relevant contact details and book your appointment well in advance of your visit.

  • You should organise your appointment for any time from 3pm to ensure that you don't miss other events happening during the afternoon.
  • Your department visit is not confirmed until you have received confirmation from your department.
  • Some departments are currently unable to provide individual visits and visits are dependent on staff availability.

If you have any questions about postgraduate visit afternoons or department visits, please contact us at ukrec@sheffield.ac.uk.

Department

Postgraduate taught/ postgraduate research

Contact Email Telephone
Animal and Plant Sciences Postgraduate taught and research

Andy Burch

Angela Doncaster

a.burch@sheffield.ac.uk

a.doncaster@sheffield.ac.uk

0114 222 4774

0114 222 0067

Archaeology Postgraduate taught and research Kathryn Goldsack archaeology@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 5104
Automatic Control Systems and Engineering

Postgraduate taught

Postgraduate research

Richard Holmes

Frances Bright

pgtacse@sheffield.ac.uk

pgracse@sheffield.ac.uk

0114 222 5644

0114 222 5248

Architecture

Postgraduate taught

Postgraduate research

Sam Guest

Rhian V Whitehead-Wright

s.guest@sheffield.ac.uk

r.whitehead-wright@sheffield.ac.uk

0114 222 0349

0114 222 0351

Faculty of Arts and Humanities Interdisciplinary Programmes Postgraduate taught and research

Ida Kemp

Ruaridh Watson

i.kemp@sheffield.ac.uk

ruaridh.watson@sheffield.ac.uk

 
Sheffield Institute for Interdisciplinary Biblical Studies
 
Postgraduate taught and research   siibs@sheffield.ac.uk  

Biomedical Science

(NB. you will only be invited for a meeting once you have submitted a CV to the department for approval)

Postgraduate taught and research

Beckii Suttill 

Sue Fletcher

r.suttill@sheffield.ac.uk

sue.fletcher@sheffield.ac.uk

0114 222 2319
Chemical and Biological Engineering

Postgraduate taught

Postgraduate research

Maria Soto

Tanya Berresford

m.soto@shef.ac.uk

t.c.berresford@sheffield.ac.uk

0114 222 7500

0114 222 8250

Chemistry Postgraduate taught and research Sarah Alexander chem-pgadmissions@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 9521
Civil and Structural Engineering

Postgraduate taught and research

Nicky Nash

Emily Dorman

n.e.nash@sheffield.ac.uk

e.dorman@sheffield.ac.uk

0114 222 5711
School of Clinical Dentistry

Postgraduate taught

Postgraduate research

 

Sue Spriggs

pgtdental.admin@sheffield.ac.uk

s.spriggs@sheffield.ac.uk

0114 2159319

0114 2159342

Computational Medicine Postgraduate taught Dr Cecile Perrault computationalmedicine-admissions@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 7852
Computer Science

Postgraduate taught

Postgraduate research

Georgia-Jay Sapsford

com.mscadmin@sheffield.ac.uk

compgr-apply@sheffield.ac.uk

0114 222 1800
East Asian Studies Postgraduate taught and research Laura Hull l.hull@sheffield.ac.uk
 
0114 222 8423
Economics

Postgraduate taught

Postgraduate research

Louise Harte

Emily White

l.harte@sheffield.ac.uk

e.white@sheffield.ac.uk

0114 222 3456
School of Education Postgraduate taught and research Lorraine Roe

edu-apply@sheffield.ac.uk

0114 222 8173

0114 222 8177 

Electronic and Electrical Engineering

Postgraduate taught

Postgraduate research

Natasha Partt

Hilary Levesley

n.partt@sheffield.ac.uk

h.j.levesley@sheffield.ac.uk

0114 222 5389

0114 222 5367

English Language and Linguistics

Postgraduate taught

Postgraduate research

Caroline Rawle

Emma Bradley

c.l.rawle@sheffield.ac.uk

e.f.bradley@sheffield.ac.uk

0114 222 0241

0114 222 6296

 

English Literature

Postgraduate taught

Postgraduate research (including Theatre and Performance)

Jane Lowe

Emma Bradley

j.lowe@sheffield.ac.uk

e.f.bradley@sheffield.ac.uk

0114 222 6296

0114 222 0241

French

Postgraduate taught

Postgraduate research

Caroline Wordley

Claire Leavitt

c.wordley@sheffield.ac.uk

c.leavitt@sheffield.ac.uk

0114 222 0631

0114 222 4398

Geography Postgraduate taught and research Tommie Hassall geography@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 7980
Germanic Studies

Postgraduate taught

Postgraduate research

Caroline Wordley

Claire Leavitt

c.wordley@sheffield.ac.uk

c.leavitt@sheffield.ac.uk

0114 222 0631

0114 222 4398

Hispanic Studies

Postgraduate taught

Postgraduate research

Caroline Wordley

Claire Leavitt

c.wordley@sheffield.ac.uk

c.leavitt@sheffield.ac.uk

0114 222 0631

0114 222 4398

History Postgraduate taught and research Beky Hasnip history.admissions@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 2552
Information School

Postgraduate taught

Postgraduate research

Richard Spencer

Daniel Rose

ispgt@sheffield.ac.uk
 

ispgr@sheffield.ac.uk
 

0114 222 2839
 
Journalism Studies

Postgraduate taught

Postgraduate research

Georgina Gear

Jose Cree

jnladmissions@sheffield.ac.uk

jnlresearch@sheffield.ac.uk

0114 222 2500
 
Landscape Postgraduate taught and research Emma Shaw emma.shaw@sheffield.ac.uk
 
0114 222 0602
 
School of Languages and Cultures (Translation and Intercultural Communication Studies)
 
Postgraduate taught Caroline Wordley c.wordley@sheffield.ac.uk
 
0114 222 0631
 
Law

Postgraduate taught
Professional Courses (Legal Practice Course)

Postgraduate research

Lauren Bartles l.e.bartles@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 6857
Management School

Postgraduate taught

Postgraduate research

Josie Smith

pmgt_help@sheffield.ac.uk

pgrmgt_help@sheffield.ac.uk

 

0114 222 3349

0114 222 3477

Materials Science and Engineering Postgraduate taught and research Andrew Keating a.keating@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 5941
School of Mathematics and Statistics

Postgraduate taught

Postgraduate research

Fiona Maisey

Laura Oliver

postgrad-maths@sheffield.ac.uk

maths-phd@shef.ac.uk

0114 222 3789
Mechanical Engineering Postgraduate taught and research Jocelyn Storey j.c.storey@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 7704
The Medical School (MRes in Cardiovascular Medicine) Postgraduate taught and research

Vicky Cottam

Sue Furness

vicky.cottam@sheffield.ac.uk 

s.furness@sheffield.ac.uk 

0114 215 9504 

0114 215 9506

The Medical School (Orthoptics/MSc Vision & Strabismus)  Postgraduate taught Sheena Coales s.coales@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 5541
The Medical School (MSc Reproductive & Developmental Medicine) Postgraduate taught Laszlo Tecsi reproduction@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 215 9031
The Medical School (MSc Molecular Medicine) Postgraduate taught Jane Shields j.shields@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 5535
 
The Medical School (MRes Musculoskeletal Ageing) Postgraduate taught Natalie Grinvalds n.grinvalds@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 215 9033
The Medical School (MSc (Res) Translational Oncology) Postgraduate taught

Dr Carolyn Staton

Helen Mason

c.a.staton@sheffield.ac.uk

h.c.mason@sheffield.ac.uk

0114 215 9063

0114 215 9014

The Medical School (General) Postgraduate research   med-pgradmissions@sheffield.ac.uk
 
 
The Medical School (MSc Genomic Medicine, MSc Translational Neuroscience, MSc Translational Pathology, MSc Clinical Neurology)
 
Postgraduate taught Helen Hickson h.hickson@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 2296
The Medical School (Human Nutrition Unit) Postgraduate taught Theresa Caruth t.caruth@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 5536
The Medical School (Postgraduate Diploma in Physician Associate Studies) Postgraduate taught James Gray j.t.gray@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 2090
Molecular Biology and Biotechnology  Postgraduate taught and research Linda Harris linda.harris@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 2750
MSc Science Communication (Faculty of Science) Postgraduate taught Chloe Davis sciencecommunication@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 4774
Music Postgraduate taught and research Rachel Plumb r.m.plumb@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 0473
Nursing and Midwifery Postgraduate taught and research Tracey Pacan t.m.pacan@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 226 9784
Philosophy  Postgraduate taught and research   phi-pgadmissions@sheffield.ac.uk
 
 
Physics and Astronomy

Postgraduate taught

Postgraduate research

Fiona Maisey

Laura Oliver

postgrad-physics@shef.ac.uk

physics-phd@sheffield.ac.uk

0114 222 3789
Politics

Postgraduate taught

Postgraduate research

Sue Kelk

Sarah Cooke

s.kelk@sheffield.ac.uk
 

s.cooke@sheffield.ac.uk

0114 222 1642

0114 222 1640

Psychology

Postgraduate taught

Postgraduate research

Steven Rowley

Jayne Whitley

psypgt@sheffield.ac.uk

psy-pgr@sheffield.ac.uk

0114 222 6534

0114 222 6583

Russian and Slavonic Studies
 

Postgraduate taught

Postgraduate research

Caroline Wordley

Claire Leavitt

c.wordley@sheffield.ac.uk

c.leavitt@sheffield.ac.uk

0114 222 0631

0114 222 4398

School of Health and Related Research Postgraduate taught and research   scharrtu@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 5454
Sociological Studies Postgraduate taught and research Zoe Spink z.spink@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 6402
Urban Studies and Planning Postgraduate taught and research Emma Ryszka usp@sheffield.ac.uk
 
0114 222 6900