Prizes and achievements

Our university has a rich record of achievement, from six Nobel Prize winners to four Queen's Anniversary prizes.

Our students, research teams and staff members have also won numerous awards for their innovations in teaching and research, and their contribution to the life of the University and city.

In the news: awards 

Public responsibility awards

Nobel Prize winners

Hans Krebs

Our staff and students achieve great things. Sir Hans Krebs (pictured second from left) was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine in 1953 for discovering the citric acid cycle, also known as the Krebs cycle, while working at the University of Sheffield. The cycle explains one of the most fundamental processes of life: the conversion of food into energy within a cell.

Our six Nobel Prize winners

Professor Sir Fraser StoddartProfessor Sir Fraser Stoddart

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2016

Professor Sir Fraser Stoddart (ICI Research Fellow then Lecturer 1970-1978; Reader in Chemistry 1981-1990) shared the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 2016 with Jean-Pierre Sauvage and Bernard L. Feringa for the design and synthesis of the world's smallest molecular machines, which are a thousand times thinner than a strand of hair. Their work has dramatically changed the way in which chemists can prepare complex assemblies of individually simple components so that useful functions emerge on a tiny scale. This will have a fundamental role to play in the future development of nanotechnology.

Sir Harry KrotoSir Harry Kroto, FRS

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1996

Sir Harry (BSc Chemistry 1961, PhD 1964) shared the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1996 with Robert Curl and Richard Smalley for discovering a new form of carbon, known as "buckminsterfullerene", which stands alongside the two other well-defined forms, diamond and graphite.

Sir Richard RobertsSir Richard Roberts, FRS

The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 1993

Sir Richard (BSc Chemistry 1965, PhD 1968) shared the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine in 1993 with Phillip Sharp for their discovery of "split genes", thereby disproving the long-held theory that genes in plants and animals were made up of continuous segments of DNA. This has important biological, medical and evolutionary consequences.

Lord PorterLord Porter of Luddenham, OM, FRS

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1967

Lord Porter (Professor of Physical Chemistry 1955-66) shared the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1967 with Ronald Wreyford for their discovery of flash photolysis, a technique which enabled chemists for the first time to measure the speed and mechanism of certain reactions that occurred too quickly for detection by conventional methods.

Sir Hans KrebsSir Hans Krebs, FRS

The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 1953

Sir Hans (Lecturer in Pharmacology 1935-45, Professor of Biochemistry 1945-54) was a German-born physician and biochemist who shared the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine in 1953 with Fritz Lipmann for his discovery of the citric acid cycle, since named the Krebs Cycle, which explains how life-giving energy is set free in cells by oxidation of glucose to carbon dioxide and water.

Howard FloreyHoward Florey, Baron Florey of Adelaide and Marston, FRS

The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 1945

Lord Florey (Joseph Hunter Chair of Pathology 1932-35) was an Australian pharmacologist and pathologist who shared the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine in 1945 with Sir Ernst Boris Chain and Sir Alexander Fleming for the discovery of penicillin and its curative effect in various infectious diseases. Florey is regarded by the Australian scientific and medical community as one of its greatest scientists.

Outstanding Sheffield alumni

Queen's Anniversary Prizes

The Queen visits Sheffield

We've been awarded four Queen’s Anniversary Prizes, an award given to recognise the outstanding contributions to the intellectual, economic, cultural and social life of the nation.

The Queen's Prize

The Queen's Prize is the most distinguished award that can be made to a UK institution for higher or further education. The awards are designed to recognise the outstanding contribution that universities and colleges in the United Kingdom make to the intellectual, economic, cultural and social life of the nation.

The scheme sits alongside, though separate from, the Queen's Awards to Industry and is operated by the Royal Anniversary Trust.

The first Queen's Anniversary Prizes were awarded in 1994 and the scheme is held biennially. All universities and colleges in the UK are eligible to enter the competition. The 1998 competition attracted over 200 entries and from these 21 awards have been made. Each institution is permitted only one entry to the competition.

AMRC robot2007

Advanced Manufacturing Research Centre

Our Advanced Manufacturing Research Centre (AMRC) received the Queen's Anniversary Prize for Higher and Further Education in 2007. This award commends 'outstanding achievement at a world-class level' and recognised the AMRC's innovative collaborations between academia and industry.


Pioneering ageing research


Sheffield University Waste Incineration Centre

Groundwater Protection and Restoration Group

Environmental Consultancy University of Sheffield


Humanities Research Institute

You might also be interested in..

How we're shaping the economy and skills:

Our impact locally and globally