Christian chaplaincy

The Christian chaplaincy is available, during the Covid-19 pandemic, online, via web chat, phone and video calls.

On

About the Christian chaplaincy

The Christian chaplaincy offer pastoral care and support, hospitality and community, and a space for questions, uncertainties and dilemmas. Come and explore how faith, love and justice relate to the world of study and work.

An inclusive community

We offer a warm welcome to all staff and students regardless of gender, sexual orientation, marital status, age, ethnicity, ability or faith identity.

Sign up to our mailing list

Find out what's going on at the Christian chaplaincy by signing up to our weekly mailing. It includes our events and other opportunities.

Sign up


Christian chaplains and advisers

Click any of the names to read more.

Name

Role

Email

Revd Dr Jeremy Clines

University Co-ordinating Chaplain

j.clines@sheffield.ac.uk

Revd Judith Jessop

University Associate Chaplain (Methodist)

j.jessop@sheffield.ac.uk

Melissa Quinn

Methodist Lay Pastor

melissa.quinn@sheffield.ac.uk

Fr Lee Marshall

Associate Chaplain (Roman Catholic)

lee.marshall@sheffield.ac.uk

Fr Edwin Hunt

Associate Chaplain (Eastern Orthodox)

j.e.hunt@sheffield.ac.uk

Revd Joel Bindanda

Associate Chaplain (Pentecostal)

j.bindanda@sheffield.ac.uk

Professor Tamara Hervey

Anglican/Catholic Adviser t.hervey@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Jean Russell

URC (United Reformed Church) Adviser

j.russell@sheffield.ac.uk

Professor Raymond Heng

Chinese Christian Adviser

r.heng@sheffield.ac.uk

Revd Andy Phillips

Unitarian Adviser

andy.phillips@sheffield.ac.uk

Rob Barnett

Chaplaincy Support Worker

rob.barnett@sheffield.ac.uk

Find a church

If you wish to explore further what these churches have to offer, feel free to contact one of the chaplains for a conversation.

Please note that these listings provide information only. The inclusion of any group or association within these listings does not represent an endorsement of its views or practices by the University of Sheffield.

Why not also check out the church search? Explore churches and find someone to take you to the church of your choice.

Trinitarian churches

Non-Trinitarian churches


Christian student societies

There are a number of Christian societies affiliated to the Students' Union.

Some are denominational, some relate to specific areas of study or extra-curricular activities, while others represent particular theological positions or areas of Christian life.

Christian Medical Fellowship

We aim to unite Christian Medical students in the University, and support one another in our faith.

Join the Society

Email: cmf@sheffield.ac.uk

Christian Orthodox Society

In our weekly meetings we discuss relevant and current topics from the point of view of our faith. We also dedicate periods in the year to studying certain books of the bible. We pride ourselves in offering an in-depth education of both old and new testament and in understanding who God is and what His intention for our lives.

Join the Facebook group

Email: cos@sheffield.ac.uk

Christian Union

An evangelical Christian group affiliated to UCCF with regular large meetings and smaller bible study groups looking at how we can be discipled and how we can reach out to our university.

Join the Facebook group

Email: christian-union@sheffield.ac.uk

Christians in Sport

A Christian group meeting for prayer and fellowship. For details about its activities, please contact:

Visit the website

Email: cis@sheffield.ac.uk

Just Love

A community of Christian students at the University of Sheffield committed to pursuing God’s heart for social justice in our city, our nation and our world.

Visit the blog

Email: justlove@sheffield.ac.uk

Catholic chaplaincy Fellowship Society

For (not only) Catholic students and their friends. SCS is based on the model of Acts 2:44,46-47: "All who believed were together and had all things in common. Day by day, as they spent much time together in the temple, they broke bread at home and ate their food with glad and generous hearts, praising God and having the goodwill of all the people."

Email: ccf@sheffield.ac.uk

Student Christian Movement (SCM)

SCM is a Christian group offering a vision of Christianity where it's okay to ask questions, a place to share insights, debate issues, work for positive change and make friends.

Visit the website

scm@sheffield.ac.uk

A world-class university – a unique student experience

Sheffield is a research university with a global reputation for excellence. We're a member of the Russell Group: one of the 24 leading UK universities for research and teaching.