Linstead Manuscripts

Ref: MS 334

Title: Linstead Manuscripts

A collection of both manuscript and printed musical works by George Linstead (1908-1974)

Dates: 1930-1973
Level: Fonds
Extent: 1 box
Name of creator: George Frederick Linstead

Administrative / biographical history:

The collection consists of manuscript and printed musical works by George Linstead.

George Frederick Linstead (1908-1974) was born in Melrose, Scotland, in 1908, the youngest child of a stud-groom whose work took the family from Scotland to Doveridge in South Derbyshire. Following the death of his father when Linstead was 14, the family moved to Sheffield, where Linstead spent the rest of his life.

From an early age, Linstead showed a great talent for music, writing his oratorio "The Revelation of St. John the Divine" at the age of 13. When he left school at 15, he studied music in his spare time, and took the degrees of Bachelor and Doctor of Music, both externally, from Durham University. One of his mentors was Professor Frank Shera at the University of Sheffield.

Linstead´s musical career included music critic for the Sheffield Morning Telegraph from 1940, and part-time lecturer at the University of Sheffield from 1947. He was also choirmaster and organist at St. Mary´s Church, Walkley, and Christ Church, Fulwood, until his death.

Linstead has been described as "a very English composer, delighting in the glories of the countryside which surrounds Sheffield, and influenced by the English tradition of church music". He was also fond of French music, especially Poulenc, and its influence can also be seen in his compositions. Linstead´s output was prolific, tending to works for chamber orchestra and soloist, but his overtures also indicate a talent for orchestration for a full orchestra.

George Linstead died in 1974.

  • Related collections: Hadow Manuscripts; Shera Manuscripts; Staniforth Manuscripts; Lord Manuscripts; Kay Manuscripts
  • Source: Unknown
  • System of arrangement: By category
  • Subjects: Music
  • Names: University of Sheffield – Department of Music
  • Conditions of access: Available to all researchers, by appointment
  • Restrictions: None
  • Copyright: Estate of the author
  • Finding aids: Listed