Principal Investigators in the Integrated Bioscience

Below is a list of current academic staff in the Integrated Bioscience Research Group in Sheffield. Each person's name links through to their personal profile, where available.

Group Management structure:

Group Lead: Dr Graham Stafford
PGR selector: Dr Helen Colley

Name Area of Expertise Email Telephone
Dr D Andrew Anatomy and Physiology of pain D.Andrew@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 271 7830
Dr S Atkins Peripheral Nerve Injuries S.Atkins@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 226 5462
Dr L Bingle Innate immune proteins and immune responses, 3D models of normal and cancerous salivary glands L.Bingle@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 2717953
Prof FM Boissonade Inflammatory and neuropathic pain, nerve regeneration f.boissonade@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 271 7850
Dr Helen Colley 3D mucosal models and cancer drug delivery h.colley@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 2717963
Prof I Douglas Oral Microbiology, Host-pathogen interactions I.Douglas@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 2717958
Dr C Elcock TBC C.Elcock@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 2717885
Prof PM Farthing Diagnostic Oral Pathology, Mucosal Immunology P.Farthing@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 2717951
Prof CD Franklin Oral Pathology C.Franklin@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 2717955
Prof G Griffiths Periodontitis: diagnosis and treatments G.S.Griffiths@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 2717933
Dr S Hunt miRNA, cell biology, oral cancer S.Hunt@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 2717963
Prof K Hunter Pathology of oral cancer development K.Hunter@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 2717956
Dr. Syed Ali Khurram Pathobiology, Cancer invasion and metastasis s.a.khurram@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 22 65477
Dr D Lambert Molecular mechanisms of cancer, miRNA D.W.Lambert@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 2717959
Prof A Loescher Trigeminal nerve injury and Facial Pain a.loescher@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 2717849
Dr C Murdoch Infection and cancer tissue models, immunity c.murdoch@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 2765458
Prof A Rawlinson Periodontology: Diagnosis and treatment a.rawlinson@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 2717840
Prof H Rodd Mechanisms of inflammatory pain h.d.rodd@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 2717885
Prof P Speight Patholobiology, biomarkers & screening for oral cancer P.Speight@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 2717951
Dr Joey Shepherd Microbiology, models of infection j.shepherd@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr G Stafford

Molecular microbiology of biofilms and pathogen-host interactions G.Stafford@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 2717959
Prof M Thornhill Treatment, modelling, mechanisms & genetics of oral disease M.Thornhill@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 2717857
Dr S Whawell Integrins & proteases in oral cancer & host-bacteria interactions S.Whawell@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 2717953