Academic staff

The names and contact details of the academic staff in the Dental School.

A B C D E F G H J K L M N O P R S T W Z

A

Name Title Email Phone
Mr Raad Abdulhamed Clinical Teacher in Restorative Dentistry    
Dr David Andrew Senior Clinical Lecturer / Consultant in Dental Radiology D.Andrew@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159311
Ms Fariba Ardabili Clinical Teacher in Oral Surgery F.Ardabili@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2717864
Mr Simon Atkins Head of Academic Unit of Oral & Maxillofacial Medicine & Surgery / Senior Clinical Lecturer S.Atkins@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159371

 

B

Name Title Email Phone
Prof. Sarah Baker Head of Academic Unit of Oral Health, Dentistry & Society / Professor of Psychology in Dentistry S.R.Baker@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159312
Dr Issam Bakri Senior Clinical Teacher in Oral Surgery I.Bakri@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159366
Mr Mark Barber Senior Clinical Teacher / Honorary Consultant in Restorative Dentistry M.Barber@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159374
Dr Emilia Barker Research Associate

emilia.barker@sheffield.ac.uk

 
Ms Hannah Barnes Clinical Teacher in Restorative Dentistry H.Barnes@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159339
Prof. Philip Benson Professor of Orthodontics / Honorary Consultant P.Benson@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159391
Ms Nabeela Bhatti Clinical Teacher in Restorative Dentistry N.Bhatti@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159334
Mrs Emma Bingham Head of Academic Unit of Dental Hygiene & Dental Therapy / Senior Clinical Tutor Emma.Bingham@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159387
Dr Lynne Bingle Reader in Oral Science / PGT Director of Learning and Teaching L.Bingle@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159344
Dr Emma Bird Research Associate E.V.Bird@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159373
Mr Mark Bishop Clinical Teacher in Restorative Dentistry M.J.Bishop@sheffield.ac.uk  
Prof. Fiona Boissonade Professor of Oral Neuroscience / Director for Impact and External Engagement F.Boissonade@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159314
Dr Robert Bolt Clinical Lecturer in Oral Surgery Robert.Bolt@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159372
Dr Daniel Brierley Clinical Teacher in Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology D.J.Brierley@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159378
Dr Tom Broomhead Research Associate

t.w.broomhead@sheffield.ac.uk

 
Mr George Bullock Research Associate

g.d.bullock@sheffield.ac.uk

 
Mr Mark Burdon Clinical Teacher in Restorative Dentistry M.Burdon@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159323

 

C

Name Title Email Phone
Miss Faith Campbell Clinical Teacher in Paediatric Dentistry

faith.campbell@sheffield.ac.uk

 
Mr Alexander Chadha Clinical Teacher in Oral Surgery

a.chadha@sheffield.ac.uk

 
Mr Andrew Chalmers Clinical Teacher in Oral Surgery A.F.Chalmers@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2717864
Mr Jason Clarke Clinical Teacher in Restorative Dentistry Jason.Clarke@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159323
Dr Helen Colley Senior Lecturer in Oral Bioscience H.Colley@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159352
Miss Elizabeth Court Research Associate

elizabeth.court@sheffield.ac.uk

 
Dr Aileen Crawford Reader in Biomaterials A.Crawford@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159337
Mr Nigel Crosthwaite Clinical Teacher in Oral Surgery n.crosthwaite@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2717864
Mr Tim Cudmore Clinical Teacher in Oral Surgery

t.cudmore@sheffield.ac.uk

 

 

D

Name Title Email Phone
Mr Stephen Davies Dental Hygiene & Dental Therapy Teacher

s.p.davies@sheffield.ac.uk

 
Dr Bhupinder Dawett NIHR Doctoral Research Fellow

b.k.dawett@sheffield.ac.uk

 
Prof. Christopher Deery Dean / Professor of Paediatric Dentistry / Honorary Consultant C.Deery@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159415
Mrs Amany Desouky Clinical Teacher in Oral Surgery A.Desouky@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2717864
Mr Jonathan Dixon Clinical Academic Fellow in Restorative Dentistry

jonathan.dixon@sheffield.ac.uk

 

E

Name Title Email Phone
Mr Bilal El-Dhuwaib Clinical Teacher in Restorative Dentistry

bilal.el-dhuwaib@sheffield.ac.uk

 
Dr Areeg Elmusrati Research Associate

a.a.elmusrati@sheffield.ac.uk

 
Mrs Sarab El-Yousfi Research Associate

s.el-yousfi@sheffield.ac.uk

 

F

Name Title Email Phone
Dr James Field Senior Clinical Teacher / Honorary Consultant in Prosthodontics / Director of Learning and Teaching J.C.Field@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159402
Dr Clare Fowles Clinical Teacher

c.fowles@sheffield.ac.uk

 
Dr Peter Fuzesi Research Associate

p.fuzesi@sheffield.ac.uk

 

G

Name Title Email Phone
Prof. Barry Gibson Professor of Medical Sociology B.J.Gibson@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159322
Miss Fiona Gilchrist Senior Clinical Lecturer / Honorary Consultant in Paediatric Dentistry F.Gilchrist@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159326
Miss Sarah Gossiel Clinical Teacher in Oral Surgery S.Gossiel@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2717864
Mrs Sally Gray Clinical Teacher S.J.Gray@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159356

H

Name Title Email Phone
Miss Amy Harding Postdoctoral Research Associate

amy.harding@sheffield.ac.uk

 
Mr Andrew Harrison Clinical Teacher in Restorative Dentistry Andrew.Harrison@sheffield.ac.uk  
Dr Sheelah Harrison Senior Clinical Teacher in Oral Surgery Sheelah.Harrison@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159365
Dr Caroline Harrison Research Associate

c.j.harrison@sheffield.ac.uk

 
Prof. Paul Hatton Professor of Biomaterials / Director or Research Paul.Hatton@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159336
Dr Susan Headlong Clinical Teacher in Restorative Dentistry S.Headlong@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159334
Dr Stuart Hunt Lecturer S.Hunt@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159352
Prof. Keith Hunter Head of Academic Unit of Oral & Maxillofacial Pathology / Professor in Head and Neck Pathology K.Hunter@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159405

J

Name Title Email Phone
Dr Hanieh Javidi Clinical Research Fellow

h.javidi@sheffield.ac.uk

 
Dr Michael Jones Clinical Teacher in Restorative Dentistry Michael.Jones@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159375
Dr Adrian Jowett Senior Clinical Teacher / BSc Programme Lead A.K.Jowett@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159329

 

K

Name Title Email Phone
Ms Jennifer Kettle Research Associate J.E.Kettle@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 2159324
Dr Ali Khurram Senior Clinical Lecturer S.A.Khurram@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 2159378
Mrs Rebecca Knapp Research Assistant

r.knapp@sheffield.ac.uk

 

 

L

Name Title Email Phone
Miss Rizwana Lala Clinical Lecturer - Dental Public Health R.Lala@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159408
Dr Daniel Lambert Deputy Dean / Reader in Molecular Cell Biology D.W.Lambert@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159347
Dr Emma Lane Clinical Teacher in Oral Surgery E.Lane@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2717864
Mr Jonathan Liew Clinical Teacher in Oral Surgery

j.liew@sheffield.ac.uk

 
Miss Kimberley Lloyd-Rees Dental Hygiene & Dental Therapy Teacher

k.a.lloyd-rees@sheffield.ac.uk

 
Prof. Alison Loescher Professor in Oral Surgery / Clinical Director Charles Clifford Dental Service A.Loescher@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159393
Mrs Sarah Longstaff Clinical Lecturer in Orthodontics

sarah.longstaff@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 114 2159408

M

Name Title Email Phone
Mrs Esther Machon Dental Hygiene & Dental Therapy Teacher

e.machon@sheffield.ac.uk

 
Prof. Zoe Marshman Professor of Dental Public Health Z.Marshman@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159398
Prof. Nicolas Martin Professor in Restorative Dentistry N.Martin@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159401
Mrs Rachel Martin Clinical Teacher in Restorative Dentistry Rachel.Martin@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159339
Dr Cheryl Miller Reader in Biomaterials C.A.Miller@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159394
Dr Keyvan Moharamzadeh Senior Clinical Lecturer in Restorative Dentistry K.Moharamzadeh@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159328
Mr Steven Mulligan Clinical Teacher in Restorative Dentistry S.Mulligan@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159375
Prof. Craig Murdoch Professor in Oral Bioscience C.Murdoch@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159367
Ms Paula Murray Clinical Teacher in Orthodontics    

N

Name Title Email Phone

Mr Nima Namin

Clinical Teacher in Restorative Dentistry

N.Namin@sheffield.ac.uk  

O

Name Title Email Phone

Dr Ilida Ortega Asencio

Lecturer in Dental Materials and Manufacturing

I.Ortega@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159382

Dr Jan Owens

Lecturer in Disability and Dental Public Health Jan.Owens@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159325
Mr Christopher Oxley Clinical Teacher in Restorative Dentistry

c.oxley@sheffield.ac.uk

 

P

Name Title Email Phone
Mr Martin Parsons Dentist/Clinical Teacher M.Parsons@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 2159418
Dr Thomas Paterson Research Associate

t.paterson@sheffield.ac.uk

0114 2159376
Ms Alison Patrick Teacher in Law & Ethics A.C.Patrick@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 2159320
Dr David Patrick Teacher in Dental Technology D.G.Patrick@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 2159376
Mrs Kate Peysner Dental Hygiene & Dental Therapy Teacher

k.peysner@sheffield.ac.uk

 
Dr Sarah Pollington Senior Clinical Teacher in Restorative Dentistry / Director of Student Affairs S.Pollington@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 2159331
Dr Matthew Pring Clinical Teacher in Restorative Dentistry

md1mjpr@sheffield.ac.uk

 

R

Name Title Email Phone
Mr Adrian Ripley Clinical Teacher in Restorative Dentistry

a.ripley@sheffield.ac.uk

 
Ms Diane Rockett Clinical Teacher in Restorative Dentistry

d.j.rockett@sheffield.ac.uk

 
Prof. Helen Rodd Chair in Paediatric Dentistry H.D.Rodd@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159416
Ms Helen Rogers NIHR Clinical Doctoral Research Fellow

h.j.rogers@sheffield.ac.uk

 
Mr Ian Rogerson Clinical Teacher in Restorative Dentistry I.W.Rogerson@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159375
Ms Jill Rushforth Tutor Hygienist J.Rushforth@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159418

S

Name Title Email Phone
Dr Shirin Shahr Baf NIHR Clinical Lecturer S.Shahrbaf@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159334
Dr Joanna Shepherd Non-clinical Lecturer in Oral Microbiology J.Shepherd@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159412
Mrs Sarmistha Solanky Clinical Teacher in Restorative Dentistry S.Solanky@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159339
Dr Oscar Solis Castro Research Associate

o.soliscastro@sheffield.ac.uk

 
Mrs Carol Speakman Clinical Teacher in Restorative Dentistry

c.speakman@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 114 2159334
Dr Graham Stafford Reader in Microbiology / Director of Postgraduate Research G.Stafford@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159413
Mrs Hayley Stanhope MLSO

h.stanhope@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 114 2159343
Prof. Christopher Stokes Professor of Digital Learning and Dental Education / BDS Programme Lead C.W.Stokes@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159353

T

Name Title Email Phone
Prof. Martin Thornhill Professor of Translational Research in Dentistry M.Thornhill@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159397
Mr Ashley Towers Teacher in Dental Skills Simulation and Informatics A.Towers@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159386
Mrs Carolyn Tsang Dental Epidemiologist

c.r.tsang@sheffield.ac.uk

 

 

W

Name Title Email Phone

Dr Simon Whawell

Reader in Oral Science

S.Whawell@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159345

Mr Harvey Wilkes

Clinical Teacher in Restorative Dentistry

H.J.Wilkes@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159323

Dr Duncan Wood

Senior University Teacher in Clinical Dental Technology

D.Wood@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159376

 

Z

Name Title Email Phone

Dr Sandra Zijlstra-Shaw

Senior Clinical Teacher S.Zijlstra-Shaw@sheffield.ac.uk +44 114 2159389

A world-class university – a unique student experience

Sheffield is a research university with a global reputation for excellence. We're a member of the Russell Group: one of the 24 leading UK universities for research and teaching.