Research Group Members

Academic Staff

Frank Dr Frank Hopfgartner
Head of Group
f.hopfgartner@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: 0114 2222658
My research to date can be placed in the intersection of information systems (e.g., information retrieval and recommender systems), document analysis and data science. I have (co-) authored over 150 publications in above mentioned research fields, including a book on smart information systems, various book chapters and papers in peer-reviewed journals, conferences and workshops. To date, I have successfully acquired over £700,000 in research funding from national and international sources to support my research.
Paul Clough Professor Paul Clough
p.d.clough@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: 0114 2222664
Room 226
I research the development of effective retrieval technologies that support users as they seek to fulfil their information needs. Specifically I have carried out research in the areas of multilingual retrieval, image search, geographic information retrieval, search log analysis and the evaluation of search systems. Another area of my research focuses on originality and attribution in digital media, in particular on text re-use and plagiarism detection.
Paula Goodale Paula Goodale
p.goodale@sheffield.ac.uk
My main research interest is in the needs and seeking behaviours of users in digital environments, including digital libraries, cultural heritage collections, and other information spaces. I am also interested in how people use and curate the information they find.
Peter Holdridge Peter Holdridge
p.g.holdridge@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: 0114 2222698
Room 227
I focus on Educational Informatics and e-Learning - including the creation/application of learning technologies. I am interested in accounting for cognitive style in networked learning systems.

Research Staff

Monica Monica Lestari Paramita
m.paramita@sheffield.ac.uk
I am working on a project to evaluate search capabilities of Europeana. I am also working on a PhD to investigate methods for identifying cross-lingual similarity in Wikipedia.
Simon Dr Simon Wakeling
s.wakeling@sheffield.ac.uk
I am interested in better understanding the information seeking and information search behaviour of the users of library systems, and how IR systems can better support these users. I am also interested in how mixed-methods can be best utilised to address Interactive IR related research questions.

PhD Researchers

man Faisal Alvi
Room 318
I am a researching methods of paraphrase detection for identifying cases of highly obfuscated text. Tackling this problem will help to improve plagiarism detection systems.
woman Sophie Rutter
SARutter1@sheffield.ac.uk
Room 318
I am researching how primary-age children are using the Internet in school. I am interested in how children search for information, and how the school environment shapes both search tasks and search processes.
man David Walsh
djwalsh1@sheffield.ac.uk
I am researching the users and uses of digital cultural heritage systems, such as online museum websites. I am working with collections, users and datasets from National Museums Liverpool, a group of free museums and galleries housing varied collections.
man Philip Webster
philip.webster@sheffield.ac.uk
I am researching entity-based methods for assisting users with search and discovery of web archives. I am working with staff from the UK National Archives to develop novel methods for accessing the UK Government Web Archive.
woman Mengdie Zhuang
mzhuang1@sheffield.ac.uk
Room 318
My research focuses on potential methods to model people’s search behaviour when they search for information, and how to simulate in the form of a full process.