Research Group Members

Academic Staff

Frank Dr Frank Hopfgartner
Head of Group
f.hopfgartner@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: 0114 2222658
My research to date can be placed in the intersection of information systems (e.g., information retrieval and recommender systems), content analysis and data science. I have (co-) authored over 150 publications in above mentioned research fields, including a book on smart information systems, various book chapters and papers in peer-reviewed journals, conferences and workshops. To date, I have successfully acquired over £1 Million in research funding from national and international sources to support my research.
Dave Cameron Dr David Cameron
d.s.cameron@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: 0114 2222644
Room 232
Alessandro Checco Dr Alessandro Checco
a.checco@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: 0114 2222674
Room 232
Paul Clough Professor Paul Clough
p.d.clough@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: 0114 2222664
Room 226
I research the development of effective retrieval technologies that support users as they seek to fulfil their information needs. Specifically I have carried out research in the areas of multilingual retrieval, image search, geographic information retrieval, search log analysis and the evaluation of search systems. Another area of my research focuses on originality and attribution in digital media, in particular on text re-use and plagiarism detection.
Paula Goodale Paula Goodale
p.goodale@sheffield.ac.uk
My main research interest is in the needs and seeking behaviours of users in digital environments, including digital libraries, cultural heritage collections, and other information spaces. I am also interested in how people use and curate the information they find.
Peter Holdridge Peter Holdridge
p.g.holdridge@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: 0114 2222698
Room 227
I focus on Educational Informatics and e-Learning - including the creation/application of learning technologies. I am interested in accounting for cognitive style in networked learning systems.
Suvodeep Mazumdar Dr Suvodeep Mazumdar
s.mazumdar@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: 0114 2222697
Room 210
My research explores developing techniques and mechanisms for reducing the barrier for user communities in understanding and enriching very large complex multidimensional datasets. I conduct inter-disciplinary research on highly engaging, interactive and visual mechanisms in conjunction with complex querying techniques for seamless navigation, exploration and understanding of complex datasets. I have carried out research in a variety of domains such as aerospace engineering, emergency response, event management and smart cities.
Sophie Dr Sophie Rutter
s.rutter@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: 0114 2222659
Room 234
I am particularly interested in how the environment influences the way people interact with information, what techniques people use to search for information, and how information use can be evaluated in different environments. My research so far has been broadly focused on school children, search interfaces and health communication.
Ziqi Zhang Dr Ziqi Zhang
ziqi.zhang@sheffield.ac.uk
Tel: 0114 2222657
Room 209
My research addresses methods that enable machines to extract human knowledge from text, to represent such knowledge in a structured representation that is understandable and usable by machines. This ultimately enhances our capability of processing and sense-making of very large-scale data, improving decision making. Specifically, this include but is not limited to: Information Extraction, Semantic Web and Linked Data, knowledge graphs, and social media analytics.

Research Staff

Soufiana Dr Soufiana Mekouar
s.mekouar@sheffield.ac.uk
I’m interested in all kind of research work that falls within extracting, analyzing and understanding the hidden pattern in the data to gain insights and improve user experience.
Monica Monica Lestari Paramita
m.paramita@sheffield.ac.uk
I am working on a project to evaluate search capabilities of Europeana. I am also working on a PhD to investigate methods for identifying cross-lingual similarity in Wikipedia.

PhD Researchers

man Ahmed Alnuhayt
AAlnuhayt1@sheffield.ac.uk
I am researching the role of computational intelligence and aggregation systems in decision making.
man Abdulkareem Alqusaid
AOAlqusair1@sheffield.ac.uk
I am researching product category extraction and linking in the area of semantic web.
woman Cui Cui
CCui3@sheffield.ac.uk
My research is working towards creating a small scale, topic-based digital library of web archives of Chinese studies.
woman Omaima Fallatah
oafallatah1@sheffield.ac.uk
I am researching the mapping and aligning of large knowledge bases.
woman Paula Goodale I am researching the construction of personal narratives through exploration of cultural spaces online.
man Yuyang Liu
YLiu369@sheffield.ac.uk
I am researching machine learning and health informatics.
man Haoyu Xie
HXie5@sheffield.ac.uk
I am researching the self-organisation of crowdsourcing workers.
man Zhixue Zhao
zzhao33@sheffield.ac.uk
My research interests are focused on handling unbalanced data and limited data in the task of hateful speech classification. I am examining the effects of different transfer learning strategies on improving models when using limited data. I am also interested in applying my research to other natural language processing and deep learning methods with the view to mitigate the destructive effects of poor training data.