Staff

PhD students

If you don't know who to contact for a particular query, you can use the following resources to search by role and responsibility:

  • Pastoral roles:
Information School Student Handbook: Staff Academic and Pastoral Responsibilities
  • PGT Programme Coordinators:
Information School Student Handbook: PGT Degree Programmes
  • Module Coordinators:
Directory of Modules 2018-19, Information School

The extension numbers detailed in the list below can be reached from outside the University by adding 22 to the front of the number i.e. 22644 becomes 2222644 when phoning locally and 0114 2222644 nationally. To phone these numbers internationally please use 00 44 114 22 followed by the extension.

Academic staff

Name Position Email Extension Room
Prof Val Gillet Head of School, Professor of Chemoinformatics v.gillet@sheffield.ac.uk 22652 229
Dr Pamela Abbott Senior Lecturer in Information Systems p.y.abbott@sheffield.ac.uk 22669 225
Dr Jo Bates Senior Lecturer in Information Politics and Policy jo.bates@shef.ac.uk 22648 236
Prof Peter Bath Professor of Health Informatics p.a.bath@sheffield.ac.uk 22636 319
Dr Briony Birdi Senior Lecturer in Librarianship b.birdi@sheffield.ac.uk 22653 305
Dr David Cameron Lecturer in Human-Computer Interaction d.s.cameron@sheffield.ac.uk 22644 232
Dr Alessandro Checco Lecturer in Business Analytics a.checco@sheffield.ac.uk 22670 232
Prof Paul Clough Professor of Search and Analytics p.d.clough@sheffield.ac.uk 22664 306
Dr Andrew Cox Senior Lecturer a.m.cox@sheffield.ac.uk 26347 222
Dr Salihu Dasuki Lecturer in Information Systems s.dasuki@sheffield.ac.uk 22656 234
Dr Jonathan Foster Lecturer in Information Management j.j.foster@sheffield.ac.uk 22665 310
Paula Goodale Lecturer p.goodale@sheffield.ac.uk 22683 307
Dr Morgan Harvey Lecturer in Data Science m.harvey@sheffield.ac.uk 26337 306
Peter Holdridge University Teacher p.g.holdridge@sheffield.ac.uk 22698 227
Dr Frank Hopfgartner Senior Lecturer in Data Science f.hopfgartner@sheffield.ac.uk 22658 212
Dr Andrea Jimenez Lecturer in Information Management a.jimenez@sheffield.ac.uk 22684 323a
Dr Angela Lin Lecturer a.lin@sheffield.ac.uk 22634 221
Dr Jorge Martins Senior Lecturer in Organisational Informatics Jorge.Martins@sheffield.ac.uk 22667 304
Dr Suvodeep Mazumdar Lecturer in Data Analytics s.mazumdar@sheffield.ac.uk 22697 210
Dr Pam McKinney Lecturer p.mckinney@sheffield.ac.uk 22650 219
Prof Stephen Pinfield Professor of Information Services Management s.pinfield@sheffield.ac.uk 22649 226
Dr Gillian Ragsdell Senior Lecturer in Information and Knowledge Management g.ragsdell@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Paul Reilly Senior Lecturer in Social Media and the Digital Society p.j.reilly@sheffield.ac.uk 22647 235
Dr Sophie Rutter Lecturer in Information Management s.rutter@sheffield.ac.uk 22659 234
Dr Laura Sbaffi Lecturer in Health Informatics l.sbaffi@sheffield.ac.uk 22686 211
Dr Peter Stordy  Senior University Teacher peter.stordy@sheffield.ac.uk 22668 220
Dr Ana Cristina Vasconcelos Senior Lecturer in Corporate Information Management a.c.vasconcelos@sheffield.ac.uk 22643 309
Dr Antonio de la Vega de Leon Lecturer in Chemoinformatics a.vega@sheffield.ac.uk 22674 323
Sheila Webber Senior Lecturer s.webber@sheffield.ac.uk 22641 212a
Professor James Wilsden Digital Science Professor of Research Policy j.wilsdon@sheffield.ac.uk
Dr Efpraxia D. Zamani Senior Lecturer in Information Systems e.zamani@sheffield.ac.uk 26331 209a
Dr Ziqi Zhang Lecturer in Social Media ziqi.zhang@sheffield.ac.uk 22657 323a
Dr Xin Zhao (Skye) University Teacher xin.zhao@sheffield.ac.uk 22677 209
Back to the top

Research staff

Name Position Email Extension Room
Dr Sarah Hargreaves Research Associate
A Shared Space and a Space for Sharing
sarah.hargreaves@sheffield.ac.uk 22671 323
Dr Zied Hosni Research Associate z.hosni@sheffield.ac.uk 22674 316
Dr Sonal Hukampal Singh Research Associate
Regional Technology Foresight
sonal.singh@sheffield.ac.uk 224
Dr Helen Buckley Woods Postdoctoral Research Associate
Research on Research Institute
h.b.woods@sheffield.ac.uk 224
Dr Hui Yang Research Fellow in Health Informatics hyang@sheffield.ac.uk 22674 323
Back to the top

Professional Services staff

Name Position Email Extension Room
Chay Beaumont Finance Assistant c.beaumont@sheffield.ac.uk 22679 217
Louise Beirne Research Support Officer fss-researchhub1@sheffield.ac.uk 26336 230
John Bennett Teaching and Learning Manager j.bennett@sheffield.ac.uk 26330 217
Sarah Bows Employability Hub Manager s.bows@sheffield.ac.uk 28393
Paul Fenn ICT Manager p.fenn@sheffield.ac.uk 22695 213
Harriet Godfrey-Holmes (Mon - Thu) Departmental Manager h.godfrey-holmes@sheffield.ac.uk 22663 224a
Corrie Houton Taught Programmes Assistant c.houton@sheffield.ac.uk 22640 217
Abigail Job Operations Assistant a.job@sheffield.ac.uk 22680 217
Steph Kelly Postgraduate Research Support Officer steph.kelly@sheffield.ac.uk 28080 217
Karen Kitchen Research Support Officer fss-researchhub1@sheffield.ac.uk 26344 230
Dr Agne Prochorskaite Research Hub Manager fss-researchhub1@sheffield.ac.uk 26335 230
Claire Du Puget Student Experience Assistant c.j.dupuget@sheffield.ac.uk 22696 217
Richard Spencer Marketing and Admissions Assistant richard.spencer@sheffield.ac.uk 22646 217
Andy Stones ICT Technician a.d.stones@sheffield.ac.uk 22639 213
Josh Talbot Finance Officer J.L.Talbot@Sheffield.ac.uk 28092 217
Julie Wharton (Mon - Thu) Taught Programmes Administrator j.priestley@sheffield.ac.uk 22839 217
Victoria Wood Marketing and External Relations Officer v.wood@sheffield.ac.uk 22688 217
Back to the top

Emeritus, Honorary & Visiting Staff

Name Position Email
Prof Micheline Beaulieu Emeritus Professor of Information Science m.beaulieu@sheffield.ac.uk
Prof Nigel Ford Professor Emeritus n.ford@sheffield.ac.uk
Yingshen Huang Visiting Scholar yingshen.huang@sheffield.ac.uk
Prof Michael Lynch Professor Emeritus m.lynch@sheffield.ac.uk
Miguel Nunes Honorary Senior Research Fellow
Alex Peng Honorary Research Fellow
Prof Bob Usherwood Professor Emeritus r.usherwood@sheffield.ac.uk
Jonathan Vessey Honorary Research Fellow
Martin White Visiting Professor, Managing Director, Intranet Focus Ltd
Peter Willett Professor Emeritus
Prof Tom Wilson Professor Emeritus t.d.wilson@sheffield.ac.uk
Back to the top

External Examiners

Name Position Programme
Prof Gobinda Chowdhury Professor in Information Science, Head of Department of Mathematics & Information Sciences, Northumbria University MSc Digital Library Management
Dr Amany Elbanna Reader in Information Systems, Royal Holloway, University of London MSc Information Management
Dr Ashok Jashapara Reader in Innovation Studies, Royal Holloway, University of London MSc Information Systems
Prof Adrienne Muir Professor of Information Management, Robert Gordon University MA Librarianship
Dr Anoush Simon Senior Lecturer in Information Studies MA Library and Information Services Management
Dr Graham Walton Honorary Research Fellow, Centre for Information Management, Loughborough University Business School MSc Health Informatics
Prof Udo Kuschwitz Professor, School of Computer Science and Electronic Engineering, University of Essex MSc Data Science
Back to the top

 Advisory Panel

Name Position Role
Bella Abrams

Director, Corporate Information and Computing services
University of Sheffield

Ex-officio Member
Andy Ball Managing Director
Peak Indicators
External Member
Kirsty Blyth Assistant Chief Executive Officer, Inspire: Culture, Learning and Libraries External Member
Leanne Fitzpatrick Head of Analytics
Consultancy & Solutions at Hello Soda Manchester
External Member
Sarah Gates Cabinet Office External Member
Anne Horn Director of Library Services & University Librarian Ex-officio Member
Anthony Lee Partner
DMH Stallard LLP
Ex-officio Member
Dirk Lewandowski Hamburg University of Applied Sciences &
Editor of Aslib Journal of Information Management
External Member
Alice Mathers Good Things Foundation External Member
Eleanor Mitchell Entrepreneurial Growth & Grant Appraisal
Management Director, Scottish Enterprise
External Member
Ian Oldershaw/Nicola McHugh Sheffield City Council External Member
Arjun Panesar Co-founder and CEO
Diabetes.co.uk
External Member
David Pearson Director of Culture, Heritage and Libraries
City of London Corporations
External Member
Daniele Quercia Bell Labs External Member
Ian Radmore Big Data Specialist
IBM Analytics
External Member
Liz Thomason Senior Solutions Developer External Member
Martin White Managing Director
Intranet Focus Ltd
Visiting Professor
Julian Williamson Business Strategy & Future Design, Strategy Directorate
DWP
External Member
Back to the top