Staff

 

If you don't know who to contact for a particular query, you can use the following resources to search by role and responsibility:

  • Pastoral roles:
Information School Student Handbook: Staff Academic and Pastoral Responsibilities
  • UG Programme Coordinators
Information School Student Handbook: UG Degree Programmes
  • PGT Programme Coordinators:
Information School Student Handbook: PGT Degree Programmes
  • Module Coordinators:
Directory of Modules 2014-15, Information School

The extension numbers detailed in the list below can be reached from outside the University by adding 22 to the front of the number i.e. 22644 becomes 2222644 when phoning locally and 0114 2222644 nationally. To phone these numbers internationally please use 00 44 114 22 followed by the extension.

Academic staff

Name Position Email Extension Room
Prof Peter Bath Head of School, Professor of Health Informatics p.a.bath@sheffield.ac.uk 22636 229
Dr Pamela Abbott Senior Lecturer in Information Systems p.y.abbott@sheffield.ac.uk 22669 225
Dr Jo Bates Lecturer in Information Politics and Policy jo.bates@shef.ac.uk 22648 236
Dr Briony Birdi Lecturer in Librarianship b.birdi@sheffield.ac.uk 22653 305
Prof Paul Clough Professor in Information Retrieval p.d.clough@sheffield.ac.uk 22664 226
Dr Andrew Cox Senior Lecturer a.m.cox@sheffield.ac.uk 26347 222
Dr Christopher Foster Lecturer in ICT and Innovation christopher.foster@sheffield.ac.uk 22656 209a
Dr Jonathan Foster Lecturer in Information Management j.j.foster@sheffield.ac.uk 22665 310
Prof Val Gillet Professor of Chemoinformatics v.gillet@sheffield.ac.uk 22652 323
Paula Goodale Lecturer p.goodale@sheffield.ac.uk 22683 307
Peter Holdridge Associate University Teacher p.g.holdridge@sheffield.ac.uk 22698 227
Dr Robert Jäschke Senior Lecturer r.jaschke@sheffield.ac.uk 22682 232
Dr Angela Lin Lecturer a.lin@sheffield.ac.uk 22634 221
Dr Jorge Martins Lecturer in Organisational Informatics Jorge.Martins@sheffield.ac.uk 22667 304
Pam McKinney Lecturer p.mckinney@sheffield.ac.uk 22650 219
Prof Stephen Pinfield Professor of Information Services Management s.pinfield@sheffield.ac.uk 22649 210
Dr Paul Reilly Senior Lecturer in Social Media and the Digital Society p.j.reilly@sheffield.ac.uk 22647 235
Dr Laura Sbaffi Lecturer in Health Informatics l.sbaffi@sheffield.ac.uk 22686 211
Dr Peter Stordy  Senior University Teacher peter.stordy@sheffield.ac.uk 22668 220
Dr Ana Cristina Vasconcelos Senior Lecturer in Corporate Information Management a.c.vasconcelos@sheffield.ac.uk 22643 309
Dr Farida Vis Research Fellow in the Social Sciences f.vis@sheffield.ac.uk 22654 303
Sheila Webber Senior Lecturer s.webber@sheffield.ac.uk 22641 212a
Prof Peter Willett Professor of Information Science p.willett@sheffield.ac.uk 22633 234
Dr Hui Yang Research Fellow in Health Informatics HYang@sheffield.ac.uk 22674 323
Dr Xin Zhao (Skye) International Teaching Associate xin.zhao@sheffield.ac.uk 22677 209
Back to the top

Research staff

Name Position Email Extension Room
Alessandro Checco Research Associate
FashionBrain Project
a.checco@sheffield.ac.uk 22674 323
Sarah Hargreaves Research Associate
A Shared Space and a Space for Sharing
sarah.hargreaves@sheffield.ac.uk 22671 323
Kathryn MacKellar Research Project Officer
FashionBrain Project
k.mackellar@sheffield.ac.uk 22674 323
Monica Lestari Paramita Research Associate
Information Retrieval Group
m.paramita@sheffield.ac.uk 22666 318
Dr Elisa Serafinelli Research Associate
IMPROVER : Improved risk evaluation and implementation of resilience concepts to critical infrastructure.
e.serafinelli@sheffield.ac.uk 22666 318
Dr Antonio de la Vega de Leon Postdoctoral Research Assistant & Marie Curie Fellow
D3i4AD Project
a.vega@sheffield.ac.uk 22674 323
Dr Simon Wakeling

Research Associate
Megajournals project

s.wakeling@sheffield.ac.uk 22666 318
Back to the top

Professional Services staff

Name Position Email Extension Room
John Bennett Teaching and Learning Manager j.bennett@sheffield.ac.uk 26330 217
Paul Fenn ICT Manager p.fenn@sheffield.ac.uk 22695 213
Harriet Godfrey-Holmes (Mon - Thu) Departmental Manager h.godfrey-holmes@sheffield.ac.uk 22663 230
Larah Hogg
Taught Programmes Assistant larah.hogg@sheffield.ac.uk 22640 217
Lois Logan PA to Head of School / Resources Administrator l.logan@sheffield.ac.uk 22687 230
Daniel Rose Research and Finance Manager daniel.rose@sheffield.ac.uk 22661 230
Julie Priestley (Mon - Thu) Taught Programmes Administrator j.priestley@sheffield.ac.uk 22839 217
Richard Spencer Marketing and Admissions Assistant richard.spencer@sheffield.ac.uk 22646 217
Andy Stones ICT Technician a.d.stones@sheffield.ac.uk 22639 213
Back to the top

Emeritus, Honorary & Visiting Staff

Name Position Email
Prof Micheline Beaulieu Emeritus Professor of Information Science m.beaulieu@sheffield.ac.uk
Prof Nigel Ford Professor Emeritus n.ford@sheffield.ac.uk
Prof Michael Lynch Professor Emeritus m.lynch@sheffield.ac.uk
Miguel Nunes Honorary Senior Research Fellow
Alex Peng Honorary Research Fellow
Prof Bob Usherwood Professor Emeritus r.usherwood@sheffield.ac.uk
Jonathan Vessey Honorary Research Fellow
Martin White Visiting Professor, Managing Director, Intranet Focus Ltd
Prof Tom Wilson Professor Emeritus t.d.wilson@sheffield.ac.uk
Back to the top

External Examiners

Name Position Programme
Prof Gobinda Chowdhury Professor in Information Science, Head of Department of Mathematics & Information Sciences, Northumbria University MSc Digital Library Management
Dr Amany Elbanna Reader in Information Systems, Royal Holloway, University of London MSc Information Management
Dr Ashok Jashapara Reader in Innovation Studies, Royal Holloway, University of London MSc Information Systems
Prof Adrienne Muir Professor of Information Management, Robert Gordon University MA Librarianship
Dr Anoush Simon Senior Lecturer in Information Studies MA Library and Information Services Management
Dr Graham Walton Honorary Research Fellow, Centre for Information Management, Loughborough University Business School MSc Health Informatics
Prof David Weir Professor of Computer Science (Informatics), University of Sussex MSc Data Science
Back to the top

 Advisory Panel

Name Position Role
Andy Ball Managing Director
Peak Indicators
External Member
Sarah Gates Policy & Governance
Government Digital Service
External Member
Anne Horn Director of Library Services and University Librarian
University of Sheffield
Ex-officio Member
Geoff Kendall Smith Interim Director, CiCS
University of Sheffield
Ex-officio Member
Dirk Lewandowski Hamburg University of Applied Sciences &
Editor of Aslib Journal of Information Management
External Member
Chris Lowry Policy and Improvement Officer
Sheffield City Council
External Member
Alice Mathers Tinder Foundation External Member
David Pearson Director of Culture, Heritage and Libraries
City of London Corporation
External Member
Daniele Quercia Bell Labs External Member
Ian Radmore Big Data Specialist External Member
Martin White Managing Director
Intranet Focus Ltd
Visiting Professor
Back to the top