Research staff

If you aren’t sure who to contact then get in touch using our general contact details.

Off

Contact the Department of Physics and Astronomy

Name Role Phone Room Email
Adedeji, Dr Abimbola Research Associate; Materials and Biological Physics Group 0114 22 24582 F06 a.adedeji@sheffield.ac.uk
Anthony, Dr Matt Research Associate; Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics Group 0114 22 23508 D44 matt.anthony@sheffield.ac.uk
Behrouznejad, Dr Fatemeh Research Associate; Materials and Biological Physics Group 0114 22 23536 G34 f.behrouznejad@sheffield.ac.uk
Benimetskiy, Dr Fedor Research Associate; Inorganic Semiconductors Group 0114 22 23522 E13 f.benimetskiy@sheffield.ac.uk
Bestenlehner, Dr Joachim Research Associate; Astrophysics Group 0114 22 23564 E13b j.m.bestenlehner@sheffield.ac.uk
Biswas, Dr Subhadip Research Associate; Materials and Biological Physics Group 0114 22 23580 E31 subhadip.biswas@sheffield.ac.uk
Bouteyre, Dr Paul Research Associate; Inorganic Semiconductors Group 0114 22 23522 E13 p.bouteyre@sheffield.ac.uk
Brunswick, Mr Luke Research Associate; Inorganic Semiconductors Group 0114 22 24569 E50 l.brunswick@sheffield.ac.uk
Burg, Dr Stephanie Research Associate; Materials and Biological Physics Group 0114 22 23505 G11b s.l.burg@sheffield.ac.uk
Cassella, Miss Elena Research Associate; Materials and Biological Physics Group 0114 22 23536 G34 e.j.cassella@sheffield.ac.uk
Chen, Dr Xinyue Research Associate; Materials and Biological Physics Group 0114 22 24274 F06 xinyue.chen@sheffield.ac.uk
Dost, Dr René Research Associate; Inorganic Semiconductors Group 0114 22 23599 E11 r.dost@sheffield.ac.uk
Dyer, Dr Martin Research Associate; Astrophysics Group 0114 22 24541 E13b martin.dyer@sheffield.ac.uk
Eatson, Mr Joe Research Associate; Astrophysics Group N/A E13b j.w.eatson@sheffield.ac.uk
Edwards, Mr Sam Instrumentation Research Engineer; Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics Group 0114 22 24538 D36 s.o.edwards@sheffield.ac.uk
Ezeribe, Dr Anthony Underground Laboratory Operations Officer; Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics Group 0114 22 23574 D35 a.ezeribe@sheffield.ac.uk
Gillard, Mr Dan Research Associate; Inorganic Semiconductors Group 0114 22 24569 E50 d.j.gillard@sheffield.ac.uk
Hall, Mr Jack Research Associate; Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics Group 0114 22 23508 D44 jjhall1@sheffield.ac.uk
Hallett, Mr Dominic Research Associate; Inorganic Semiconductors Group 0114 22 24569 E50 d.hallett@sheffield.ac.uk
Hodgkinson, Dr Mark Research Fellow; Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics Group 0114 22 23517 F33 m.hodgkinson@sheffield.ac.uk
Hollands, Dr Mark Research Associate; Astrophysics Group 0114 22 24536 E13b m.hollands@sheffield.ac.uk
Hu, Dr Roro [Xuerong] Research Associate; Inorganic Semiconductors Group 0114 22 23522 E13 xuerong.hu@sheffield.ac.uk
Isoniemi, Dr Tommi Research Associate; Inorganic Semiconductors Group 0114 22 23522 E13 t.isoniemi@sheffield.ac.uk
Johansson, Dr Per Research Associate; Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics Group 0114 22 23547 D36a/CERN p.johansson@sheffield.ac.uk
Jones, Dr Rhiannon Research Associate; Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics Group N/A G27 r.s.jones@sheffield.ac.uk
Kemp-Russell, Mr Paul Senior Development Engineer (ATLAS); Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics Group 0114 22 23515 D36/C39 p.kemp-russell@sheffield.ac.uk
Kneale, Dr Liz Research Associate; Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics Group 0114 22 23547 D36a e.kneale@sheffield.ac.uk
Knight, Dr Alex Research Associate; Inorganic Semiconductors Group 0114 22 24569 E50 alexander.knight@sheffield.ac.uk
Korolkova, Dr Elena Research Associate; Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics Group 0114 22 23553 E18a e.korolkova@sheffield.ac.uk
MacDonald, Mr Jack Research Associate; Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics Group 0114 22 23508 D44 jcmacdonald1@sheffield.ac.uk
Makhonin, Dr Maxim Research Fellow; Inorganic Semiconductors Group 0114 22 23522 E13 m.makhonin@sheffield.ac.uk
Marchese, Ms Marta Research Associate; Inorganic Semiconductors Group 0114 22 23550 E13a m.m.marchese@sheffield.ac.uk
Martin, Dr Alan Research Associate; Astrophysics Group [affiliated] 0114 22 25803 D133 Heartspace, Mappin alan.martin@sheffield.ac.uk
Mildner, Dr Hannes Research Associate; Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics Group 0114 22 23531 D36 h.mildner@sheffield.ac.uk
Mukherjee, Dr Biswaroop Research Associate; Materials and Biological Physics Group 0114 22 24274 F06 b.mukherjee@sheffield.ac.uk
Mullin, Dr Nic Senior Experimental Officer; Materials and Biological Physics Group 0114 22 24274 F06 n.mullin@sheffield.ac.uk
Oliver, Mr Robbie Research Associate; Materials and Biological Physics Group N/A N/A robert.oliver@sheffield.ac.uk
Pasquina Lemonche, Mrs Laia Research Associate; Materials and Biological Physics Group 0114 22 24530 F03 lpasquinalemonche1@sheffield.ac.uk
Perry, Mr Mitchell Computing Cluster Administrator; Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics Group 0114 22 23553 E18a mitchell.perry@sheffield.ac.uk
Phillips, Dr Catherine Research Associate; Inorganic Semiconductors Group 0114 22 23527 E46 c.l.phillips@sheffield.ac.uk
Pidcott, Dr Celeste Research Associate; Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics Group 0114 22 23547 D36a c.pidcott@sheffield.ac.uk
Readioff, Dr Nathan Research Associate; Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics Group N/A N/A n.readioff@sheffield.ac.uk
Scarff, Dr Andrew Research Fellow; Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics Group 0114 22 23574/23559 D35/Neutron Building a.scarff@sheffield.ac.uk
Sheldon, Dr Sam Research Associate; Inorganic Semiconductors Group 0114 22 23550 E13a s.sheldon@sheffield.ac.uk
Smith, Dr Paul Research Associate; Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics Group 0114 22 23598 D30 p.j.smith@sheffield.ac.uk
Sich, Dr Maksym Research Associate - UoS Doctoral Prize Fellow; Inorganic Semiconductors Group 0114 22 23522 E13 m.sich@sheffield.ac.uk
Sun, Dr Ning-Chen Research Associate; Astrophysics Group 0114 22 24536 E13b n.sun@sheffield.ac.uk
Taylor, Mr Jamie Senior Data Scientist; Materials and Biological Physics Group 0114 22 24584 F27 jamie.taylor@sheffield.ac.uk
Thiesse, Dr Matthew Research Associate; Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics Group 0114 22 23547 D36a m.thiesse@sheffield.ac.uk
Turkoglu, Dr Cenk Research Associate; Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics Group 0114 22 23553 E18a c.turkoglu@sheffield.ac.uk
Tyley, Mr Edward Research Associate; Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics Group 0114 22 23553 E18a e.tyley@sheffield.ac.uk
Venkatraman, Dr Ravi Kumar Research Associate; Materials and Biological Physics Group 0114 22 24285 E29 r.k.venkatraman@sheffield.ac.uk
Velychko, Dr Anton Research Associate; Inorganic Semiconductors Group 0114 22 23599 E11 a.velychko@sheffield.ac.uk
Walker, Dr Paul Research Associate; Inorganic Semiconductors Group 0114 22 23522 E13 p.m.walker@sheffield.ac.uk
Wang, Dr Simon [Shuangqing] Research Associate; Materials and Biological Physics Group 0114 22 24285 E29 shuangqing.wang@sheffield.ac.uk
Wang, Dr Yadong Research Associate; Inorganic Semiconductors Group 0114 22 24569 E50 yadong.wang@sheffield.ac.uk
Ward, Dr Wil Research Associate; Materials and Biological Physics Group 0114 22 24285 E29 w.ward@sheffield.ac.uk
Wheeler, Mr Jamie Research Associate; Materials and Biological Physics Group N/A Firth Court F09 j.h.wheeler@sheffield.ac.uk
Wilbur, Dr Scott Research Associate; Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics Group N/A N/A s.h.wilbur@sheffield.ac.uk
Zhang, Dr Dengfeng Research Fellow; Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics Group N/A F43 dengfeng.zhang@sheffield.ac.uk
Zorbas, Dr Theo Research Associate; Particle Physics and Particle Astrophysics Group 0114 22 23508 D44 t.zorbas@sheffield.ac.uk
Zotev, Dr Panaiot Research Associate; Inorganic Semiconductors Group 0114 22 24569 E50 p.zotev@sheffield.ac.uk
REF 2021 illustration

Research Excellence Framework 2021

We have been rated 1st in the UK in terms of the quality of our research. In the latest REF, 100 per cent of research and impact from our department has been classed as world-leading or internationally excellent.

A world top-100 university

We're a world top-100 university renowned for the excellence, impact and distinctiveness of our research-led learning and teaching.