Neil Hunter delivers the prestigious Biochemical Society Keilin Memorial Lecture at Oxford

Professor Neil Hunter FRS, Krebs Chair of Biochemistry in the Department of Molecular Biology and Biotechnology at the University of Sheffield, has presented the prestigious Biochemical Society Keilin Memorial Lecture at the University of Oxford in recognition of his contributions to research in bioenergetics and electron transfer. 

Keilin Memorial LectureProfessor Hunter today presented the Keilin Memorial Lecture at the 84th Biochemical Society Harden Conference on Single Cell Bacteriology on the topic 'Mapping membranes, molecule by molecule' following in the footsteps of previous awardees that include Nobel Prize Winners Sir John Walker FRS and Hartmut Michel. 

The lecturer and subject of the lecture are selected, by the Biochemical Society Awards Committee every two years, from a field related to the interests of Professor David Keilin FRS in bioenergetics, electron transfer and mitochondrial biology. David Keilin (1887-1963) was an entomologist and bioenergeticist most noted for his discovery of cytochromes and their role in electron transfer during respiration. 

Professor Hunter was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society in 2009, for his work to characterise the full set of molecular components that photosynthetic bacteria use to capture energy from sunlight. In awarding him the lecture, the Biochemical Society cited his research into energy and electron transfers in microbial photosynthesis, and the major contributions he has made to understanding the biosynthesis of chlorophyll.

Professor Hunter said: "I am delighted and honoured to be the recipient of the Keilin Medal and Lecture, particularly because I join a list of eminent recipients of this award. I would like to thank past and present members of my research group and my many collaborators for their contributions over the last 33 years."

Find out more about the Biochemical Society 2018 Award Winners