Current Research Students (by student)

P: Primary Supervisor | S: Secondary Supervisor

Pre-1500

Dagnall, Lewis

LWDagnall1@sheffield.ac.uk

Tribute and the Transformation of the Later Roman World (c.284-602 CE).

P: Julia Hillner

S: Charles West

 


Gilbert, Richard

RGilbert2@sheffield.ac.uk

Late Medieval English Society in Transition: the Tinsley Court Rolls in Context.

P: Charles West

P: Eliza Hartrich

 S: none at present.


Heffron, Robert

RLHeffron1@sheffield.ac.uk

Late Antique Female Segregation: Gendered Spaces in Rome and Constantinople.

P: Julia Hillner

S: Jane Rempel (Archaeology)

 


Mawdsley, Harry

HEMawdsley1@sheffield.ac.uk

Exile in the Western Successor-States (435 - c.700).

P: Julia Hillner

P: Simon Loseby

S: Charles West


Murphy, Dan

DTMurphy1@sheffield.ac.uk

A Time of Great Necessity: Images of Crisis and Reform in the Twelfth Century.

P: Martial Staub

S: none at present.

 


Smart, Harriet

HLCSmart1@sheffield.ac.uk

Fire and Filth: Nahua ritualism in pre-Hispanic Central Mexico.

P: Caroline Pennock

S: Phil Withington

 


Wu, Rongxi (Rosa)

RWu6@sheffield.ac.uk

The Veil in Biblical and Classical Antiquity: A Sociocultural and Exegetical Study of 1 Corinthians 11: 2-16.

P: Mark Finney

S: Hugh Pyper (Philosophy)

 


Young, Mary

MPYoung1@sheffield.ac.uk

'De libris quos legere solebam'. Multi-text Manuscripts and the Accumulation and Transfer of Knowledge at Reichenau and St Gall in the Ninth Century.

P: Charles West

S: Martial Staub

 

1500-1800

Alston, Laura

ega08laa@sheffield.ac.uk

Women's Negative Emotions and Micro-Emotional Values 1700-1830: Examining Experiential Possibilities through Emotional Linguistics.

P: Phil Withington

S: Karen Harvey (Birmingham)

 


Baxter, Roger

RBaxter3@sheffield.ac.uk (also listed under Post 1800)

Crime, Innovation and Mobility: Transport Migration and Policing in England, 1750-1950.

P: Bob Shoemaker

S: Colin Reid

S: Mark Roodhouse (York)


Bennett, Michael

MDBennett1@sheffield.ac.uk

Merchant Capital, Hybrid Knowledge, and the Formation of English Colonial Labour Regimes c.1600 – c.1700.

P: Michael Braddick

S: Tom Leng

 


Bland, Eleanor

EBland2@sheffield.ac.uk

Policing and the Identification of Offenders in Metropolitan London, 1780-1850.

P: Bob Shoemaker

S: Julia Moses

 


Chatterjee, Apurba

AChatterjee2@sheffield.ac.uk

Imaging Authority: A Study of the Visual Representations of the Early British Indian Empire (1730-1820).

P: Phil Withington

S: Saurabh Mishra

 


Churcher, Helen

hia08hec@sheffield.ac.uk

Understandings of Habitual Criminality in England from 1770 to 1870.

P: Bob Shoemaker

S: Andrew Heath

 


Cree, Jose

JCree2@sheffield.ac.uk

The Invention of Addiction in Early Modern England.

P: Phil Withington

S: Tania Demetriou (York)

 


Finley, Will

WAFinley1@sheffield.ac.uk

Making an Impression: Printed Book Illustration 1750-1850.

P: Colin Reid

S: James Baker (Sussex)

S: Karen Harvey (Birmingham)


Gibson, Kate

KLGibson1@sheffield.ac.uk

Perceptions and Experiences of Illegitimacy in the Long Eighteenth Century.

P: Bob Shoemaker

S: Karen Harvey (Birmingham)


Graves, Jamie

JAGraves1@sheffield.ac.uk

Emotions and Social Status in Early Modern England.

P: Phil Withington

S: Kate Davison


Hitchman, Alex

AHitchman1@sheffield.ac.uk

'They themselves will be the Judges what commands are lawfull': Legal pamphlets and political mobilisation in the early 1640s.

P: Michael Braddick

S: Tom Leng


Huggins, Lucy

LEHuggins1@sheffield.ac.uk

The Social and Spatial Worlds of Old Bailey Convicts, 1750-1800.

P: Bob Shoemaker

S: Barry Godfrey (Liverpool)

S: Julia Moses


Middleton, Daniel

DEMiddleton1@sheffield.ac.uk

Elite and popular perceptions of the Grand Alliance and the War of the Spanish Succession, 1688-1714.

P: Anthony Milton

S: Kate Davison


Smart, Harriet

HLCSmart1@sheffield.ac.uk

Fire and Filth: Nahua ritualism in pre-Hispanic Central Mexico.

P: Caroline Pennock

S: Phil Withington

 


Tapply, Kay

KGTapply1@sheffield.ac.uk

Imaging Authority: A Study of the Visual Representations of the Early British Indian Empire (1730-1820).

P: Phil Withington

P: Tom Leng

S: none at present.


Tomlinson, Kristine

hip11kat@sheffield.ac.uk

Extralegal, Religious, and Legal Discipline in Harvard, Massachusetts from 1772 to 1815.

P: Bob Shoemaker

S: Andrew Heath


Taylor, Alex

ATaylor2@sheffield.ac.uk

Dealing Smoke: The trade, consumption and regulation of tobacco in early modern England, 1624-1685.

P: Phil Withington

S: Tom Leng


Walker, Nicola

NJWalker1@sheffield.ac.uk

Industrialising Communities in South Yorkshire, 1650-1850: A Case Study of Cannon Hall.

P: Bob Shoemaker

S: Karen Harvey (Birmingham)

S: John Tanner (Barnsley MBC)


Wallace, Hannah

HWallace1@sheffield.ac.uk

Community, Conflict and Change at Chatsworth, 1700-1820.

P: Jane Hodson (English)

S: Karen Harvey (Birmingham)

S: James Towe (Chatsworth)


Winter, Mabel

MWinter2@sheffield.ac.uk

Reputation, Law, and Commercial Life in Seventeenth Century England: The Case of Thompson and Company in 1677.

P: Phil Withington

S: Tom Leng

Post 1800

Abakunova, Hanna

HAbakunova1@sheffield.ac.uk

The Rescue of Jews and Roma in Ukraine during the Holocaust.

P: Bob Moore

S: Benjamin Ziemann

 


Ackerley, Aaron

AMAckerley1@sheffield.ac.uk

Economic Discourse during Depression: A Study of Newspapers in Inter-War Britain.

P: Adrian Bingham

S: Dina Gusejnova

 


Back, Phil

PBack1@sheffield.ac.uk

'If you build it, they will come': the origins of Scotland's Country Parks.

P: Tim Baycroft

S: Caoimhe Nic Dhaibheid

 


Baker, Joel

JRBaker1@sheffield.ac.uk

Public works, welfare provision, and the social construction of the Spanish state under the Primo de Rivera dictatorship, 1923-1930.

P: Mary Vincent

S: Miriam Dobson

 


Baxter, Roger

RBaxter3@sheffield.ac.uk (also listed under 1500-1800)

Crime, Innovation and Mobility: Transport Migration and Policing in England, 1750-1950.

P: Bob Shoemaker

S: Colin Reid

S: Mark Roodhouse (York)


Bell, Lucy

LBell1@sheffield.ac.uk

From Cooperation to Confrontation: Trade Unionism, British Politics and the Media, 1945-1979.

P: Adrian Bingham

S: Sarah Miller-Davenport

 


Bird, Leo

LMBird1@sheffield.ac.uk

The British Comedy Industry: Prosperity and Decline in Live Comedy Performance, 1945-65.

P: Adrian Bingham

S: Caoimhe Nic Dhaibheid

 


Broeckx, Sylvia

SJJBroeckx1@sheffield.ac.uk

Sexual Violence and Rape during the American Civil War.

P: Andrew Heath

S: Simon Toner

 


Carter, Isabelle

IPCarter1@sheffield.ac.uk

How did high-rise council estates shape the lived experience of women and children in post-war Britain? 'Streets in the Sky and Dreams in the 'Sink': Youth, Gender, and Experience on High-Rise Council Estates in Britain, 1961-1998'.

P: Adrian Bingham

S: Julie Gottlieb

 


Chesworth, Andrew

hip08ac@sheffield.ac.uk

Planning and Realities: The Recovery of Britain's Far East Prisoners of War 1941 - 1945.

P: Bob Moore

S: Daniel Lee

 


Galley, Mirjam

MGalley1@sheffield.ac.uk

Builders of Communism, 'Defective' Children and Social Orphans. Soviet Children in Care after 1953.

P: Miriam Dobson

S: Dina Gusejnova


Gutierrez Ramos, Carla

CAGutierrezRamos1@sheffield.ac.uk

Labour and Nation. Welfare, Sub-State Nationalism and Labour Unionism in Galicia and Scotland.

P: Mary Vincent

S: Eirini Karamouzi

 


Hall, Hilary

HAHall1@sheffield.ac.uk

In Full Color or Black and White? White Ethnicity and American Citizenship in the Newspaper Comic Strip, 1900-1932.

P: Andrew Heath

S: Adrian Bingham

 


Hanke, Sabine

SHanke1@sheffield.ac.uk

Staging Local, Acting Global. A History of the German and British Circus (1847-1945).

P: Dina Gusejnova

S: Esme Cleall

S: Bob Moore


Holland, David

DHolland1@sheffield.ac.uk

Natives and Newcomers, Marriage and Belonging - South Asian migration, settlement and working-class tolerance in the Sheffield area during the early twentieth century.

P: Adrian Bingham

S: Esme Cleall


Kann, David

DMKann1@Sheffield.ac.uk

Conflicts and Collaboration in the Relationship between the Joodsche Weekblad (Jewish Weekly), the Joodsche Raad (Jewish Council) and the Germans during the Persecution of the Jews in the Occupied Netherlands.

P: Bob Moore

S: Daniel Lee

 


Liburd, Liam

LJLiburd1@sheffield.ac.uk

Constructions of Race, Gender and Empire on the Extreme Right in Britain, 1920s to 1960s.

P: Julie Gottlieb

S: Emily Baughan

 


Locke, Chris

CLocke1@sheffield.ac.uk

GPs, Politics and the Evolution of State-funded Healthcare in Britain 1909- 1949.

P: Julia Moses

S: Adrian Bingham

 


Middleton, Daniel

DEMiddleton1@sheffield.ac.uk

Elite and popular perceptions of the Grand Alliance and the War of the Spanish Succession, 1688-1714.

P: Anthony Milton

S: Kate Davison


Mytton, Rebecca

RMytton1@sheffield.ac.uk

Nationalist Masculinities and the Irish Revolution 1916-1923.

P: Caoimhe Nic Dhaibeid

S: Mary Vincent


Neffati, Imen

INeffati1@sheffield.ac.uk

Beyond Charlie, Anticlerical Print Culture and Ideas of Free Speech.

P: Mary Vincent

S: Claire Chambers (York)

S: Wendy Michallat (French)


O'Connor, Aoife

AMOConnor1@sheffield.ac.uk

An Ancestor in Crime : Digitisation and the Discovery of Family Deviance.

P: Bob Shoemaker

S: Barry Godfrey (Liverpool)

S: Michael Pidd


Olewicz, Chris

hip09cao@sheffield.ac.uk

Constructing Leviathan: Studies on the Left and the Rise of Corporate Liberalism 1959-1979.

P: Andrew Heath

S: Bob Moore


Parker, Hannah

HParker2@sheffield.ac.uk

Emancipated from Above: Women's Voices in the Early Soviet Era.

P: Miriam Dobson

S: Mary Vincent

 


Prosser, Cherie

CLProsser1@sheffield.ac.uk

A Comparative Analysis of Visual Propaganda in France and Britain during the First World War.

P: Tim Baycroft

S: Teresa Vernon

S: Julie Gottlieb


Pugh, Vicki

VLPugh1@sheffield.ac.uk

Performing Bodies: Anatomical Display in the Twentieth-Century Fairground.

P: Mary Vincent

S: Julia Dobson

S: none at present.


Roddy, Gareth

GRoddy1@sheffield.ac.uk

Landscapes, Literature, and Travel in the Western British-Irish Isles, c.1880-1940.

P: Adrian Bingham

S: Caoimhe Nic Dhaibheid


Vasquez-Aguilar, Maria

pop05mev@sheffield.ac.uk

Exiles in Action: Political activism amongst the Chilean Refugees in the UK, 1973-2013.

P: Mary Vincent

S: Andrew Tompkins

 


Vastenhout, Laurien

L.Vastenhout@sheffield.ac.uk

The Jewish Councils of Western Europe under Nazi Occupation: A Comparative Analysis.

P: Bob Moore

S: Daniel Lee

 


Jones, Vernon

VOSJones1@sheffield.ac.uk

The Achievements and Legacy of the Miners' Welfare Fund.

P: Julie Gottlieb

S: Adrian Bingham

 


Wright, Stephanie

SMWright1@sheffield.ac.uk

Mentally and Physically Disabled Nationalist Veterans and Perceptions of Masculinity in Franco's Spain, 1936-75.

P: Mary Vincent

S: Benjamin Ziemann

 


Yokoe, Ryosuke

RYokoe1@sheffield.ac.uk

Medical Understandings of Alcohol and the Liver in the Twentieth Century.

P: Phil Withington

S: Mary Vincent

S: Richard Cooper (ScHARR)

Non-period specific

Antonius, Pedro

PAntonius1@sheffield.ac.uk

The Fulfillment of All Righteousness: Matthew's Unique Perspective on Jesus' Baptism.

P: Mark Finney

S: Katie Edwards (English)

 


Flanagan, Marie

MVFlanagan1@sheffield.ac.uk

The Gender Pairs: Focusing on an Overlooked Aspect of Luke-Acts.

P: Mark Finney

S: Meredith Warren (English)

 


Lee, Young Gil

YGLee1@sheffield.ac.uk

Birth Narratives in the Bible: Structural Function and Thematic Continuity.

P: Casey Strine

S: Hugh Pyper (Philosophy)

 


Perry, Hilary

bsp08hmp@sheffield.ac.uk

Dispensing Dispensationalism: A Critical Analysis of the 1917 Scofield Reference Bible and Two Later Editions.

P: Mark Finney

S: Katie Edwards (English)

 


Stanton, Bryan

BEStanton1@sheffield.ac.uk

The Interface between Demonology and Second Temple Purity Systems in the Markan Exorcism Stories.

P: Mark Finney

S: Katie Edwards (English)