Seminar series

External and Internal Seminar Programme 2017/2018

The Department of Biomedical Science runs a lively and exciting external and internal departmental seminar programme. Topics presented represent the wide-range of research interests within the department and are presented by experts in particular areas.

Seminars are held on Mondays at 12.00 noon (unless stated) in the Conference Room (room A225), A Floor, Alfred Denny building.

If you have any questions regarding our programme, please contact Wendy Howard.


Monday 23rd October 2017 - Internal Seminars

Dr Ivana Barbaric
"Genetic changes in human pluripotent stem cells: implications for regenerative medicine"

Professor Mikko Juusola
"Seeing through moving eye - microsaccadic information sampling provides Drosophila hyperacute vision"


Monday 30th October 2017

Dr Yanlan Mao, University College London

"Getting in Shape: in vivo and in silico studies of tissue mechanics in growth control"

Host: Dr Katie Fisher


Monday 13th November 2017

Dr Dominic Norris, MRC Harwell Institute

"Cilia, Flow and Polycystins: making a left-right axis"

Host: Dr Jarema Malicki


Monday 20th November 2017

Professor Anne von Philipsborn, Aarhus University

"Neuronal circuits for fly sexual behaviour"

Host: Dr Andrew Lin


Monday 4th December 2017

Dr Stefan Barakat, University of Edinburgh

"Making sense of Junk: deciphering the role of the non-coding genome in stem cells and models of brain development"

Host: Dr Anestis Tsakiridis


Monday 11th December 2017

Dr Patrick Caswell, University of Manchester

"Endocytic regulation of the cell migration and invasion"

Host: Dr Elena Rainero


Monday 18th December 2017
Lecture Theatre F02, Firth Court

Dr Caroline Pearson, University of California

"Building a Brain: The role of Foxp1 in the development of the mammalian cortex"

Host: Prof Marysia Placzek


Monday 8th January 2018

Dr Pradeepa Madapura, University of Essex

"Importance of noncoding RNAs in regulation of HOX genes in development and in cancer"

Host: Dr Anestis Tsakiridis


Monday 15th January 2018

Dr Stephen Tait, University of Glasgow

"Apoptosis and cancer - to the dark-side and back"

Host: Dr Chun Guo


Monday 22nd January 2018

Dr Diego di Bernardo, University of Naples

"A systems and synthetic biology approach reveals the dynamics of the transcriptional network regulated by TFEB"

Host: Dr Marta Milo


Monday 19th February 2018

Dr Gaia Pigino, Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics, Dresden

"Ciliary assembly and transport"

Host: Dr Jarema Malicki


Monday 5th March 2018

Professor Alfonso Martinez-Arias, University of Cambridge

"Clonal and polyclonal origin of Neuromesodermal Progenitors in mammalian embryos"

Host: Dr Anestis Tsakiridis


Monday 12th March 2018

Professor Joshua Brickman, University of Copenhagen

Title to be announced

Host: Prof Peter Andrews


Monday 19th March 2018

Dr Florian Merkle, University of Cambridge

"Implications of genetic variability in human pluripotent stem cells"

Host: Dr Ivana Barbaric


Monday 26th March 2018

Professor Maria Leptin, EMBO Germany

"Morphogenesis: from whole organism integration to biophysical principles"

Host: Prof David Strutt 


Monday 9th April 2018

Dr Rebecca Richardson, University of Bristol

Title to be announced

Host: Dr Emily Noel


Monday 14th May 2018

Professor Ronald Hay, University of Dundee

"Harnessing the PML-SUMO-RNF4 axis for cancer therapy"

Host: Dr Chun Guo


Monday 11th June 2018

Professor Bruce Turnbull, University of Leeds

"Re-engineering bacterial toxins for new purposes"

Host: Prof Bazbak Davletov


Monday 18th June 2018

Dr Sean Munro, University of Cambridge

Title to be announced

Host: Dr Andrew Peden


Monday 25th June 2018

Professor Dr Jutta Engel, Saarland University

Title to be announced

Host: Prof Walter Marcotti


Monday 2nd July 2018

Dr Jenny Gallop, Gurdon Institute, University of Cambridge

"Control of the actin cytoskeleton by membranes"

Host: Prof Kathryn Ayscough


Monday 9th July 2018

Dr Tobias Zech, University of Liverpool

Title to be announced

Host: Dr Jason King


2018/2019 Programme:

Monday 1st October 2018

Dr James Briscoe, University of Crick

Title to be announced

Host: Dr Anestis Tsakiridis