Seminar series

External and Internal Seminar Programme 2017/2018

The Department of Biomedical Science runs a lively and exciting external and internal departmental seminar programme. Topics presented represent the wide-range of research interests within the department and are presented by experts in particular areas.

Seminars are held on Mondays at 12.00 noon (unless stated) in the Conference Room (room A225), A Floor, Alfred Denny building.

If you have any questions regarding our programme, please contact Wendy Howard.


Monday 2nd July 2018

Dr Jenny Gallop, Gurdon Institute, University of Cambridge

"Control of the actin cytoskeleton by membranes"

Host: Prof Kathryn Ayscough


Monday 9th July 2018

Dr Tobias Zech, University of Liverpool

"Actin on trafficking: How WASH coordinates endosomal transport"

Host: Dr Jason King



2018/2019 Programme:

Friday 14th September
10.00 - 1100 am, A225 Conference Room, Alfred Denny Building

Dr Tina Mukherjee, InStem, Bangalore, India

"Olfactory control of immune competency by odors in Drosophila"

Host: Dr Iwan Evans


Monday 24th September 2018

Prof Luis Toledo, University of Copenhagen

"Inhibition of Polymerase alpha reveals unexpected features of DNA replication in mammals"

Host: Miss Angela Ibler


Monday 1st October 2018

Dr James Briscoe, Francis Crick Institute

Title to be announced

Host: Dr Anestis Tsakiridis


Monday 8th October 2018

Dr Isabel Palacios, University of Cambridge

Title to be announced

Host: Dr Natalia Bulgakova


Monday 15th October 2018

Dr Anna Andreou, King's College London

Title to be announced

Host: Prof Bazbek Davletov


Friday 26th October 2018
3.00 pm, Richard Roberts Auditorium

Physiological Society GL Brown Prize Lecture 2017-18

Professor Andrew Parker, University of Oxford

"Seeing depth with two eyes: the binocular physiology of 3D space"

Host: Dr Anton Nikolaev


Monday 29th October 2018

Dr James Wakefield, University of Exeter

Title to be announced

Host: Prof David Strutt


Monday 12th November 2018

Professor Nancy Papalopulu, University of Manchester

Title to be announced

Host: Dr Andy Furley


Monday 19th November 2018

Dr Gonzalo de Polavieja, Champalimaud Foundation, Lisbon

Title to be announced

Host: Prof Mikko Juusola


Monday 26th November 2018

Dr James Sharpe, EMBL Barcelona

Title to be announced

Host: Dr Matthew Towers


Monday 3rd December 2018

Dr Emily Eden, University College London

Title to be announced

Host: Dr Andrew Peden


Monday 14th January 2019

Professor Sarah Walmsley, University of Edinburgh

Title to be announced

Host: Mr Jonathon Coates


Monday 21st January 2019

Professor Bruce Turnbull, University of Leeds

"Re-engineering bacterial toxins for new purposes"

Host: Prof Bazbek Davletov


Monday 11th February 2019

Dr Neil Vargesson, University of Aberdeen

Title to be announced

Host: Miss Holly Stainton


Monday 25th February 2019

Professor David Bennett, University of Oxford

Title to be announced

Host: Dr Liz Seward


Monday 4th March 2019

Professor Catherina Becker, University of Edinburgh

"Successful Spinal Cord Repair in Zebrafish"

Host: Dr Vincent Cunliffe


Monday 18th March 2019

Professor Matteo Carandini, University College London

"Local and global neural correlates of vision, action, and reward"

Host: Dr Andrew Lin


Monday 17th June 2019

Professor Irene Miguel-Aliaga, Imperial College London

"Sex differences in intestinal plasticity"

Host: Dr Kyra Campbell