Seminar series

External and Internal Seminar Programme 2018/2019

The Department of Biomedical Science runs a lively and exciting external and internal departmental seminar programme. Topics presented represent the wide-range of research interests within the department and are presented by experts in particular areas.

Seminars are held on Mondays at 12.00 noon (unless stated) in the Conference Room (room A225), A Floor, Alfred Denny building.

If you have any questions regarding our programme, please contact Wendy Howard.


2018/2019 Programme:

Monday 22nd October
1.00 pm, Lecture Theatre F02, Firth Court

Dr Jörg Mansfeld, Biotechnology Centre, TU Dresden (BIOTEC)

"UFMylation for life: How a ubiquitin-like modification regulates the cell cycle and proliferation"

Host: Professor Liz Smythe


Friday 26th October 2018
3.00 pm, Richard Roberts Auditorium

Physiological Society GL Brown Prize Lecture 2017-18

Professor Andrew Parker, University of Oxford

"Seeing depth with two eyes: the binocular physiology of 3D space"

Host: Dr Anton Nikolaev


Monday 29th October 2018

Dr James Wakefield, University of Exeter

"How to build a mitotic spindle: The role of the Augmin complex"

Host: Prof David Strutt


Monday 5th November 2018

Professor Nancy Papalopulu, University of Manchester

"A quantitative, dynamic and single-cell analysis of cell state transitions during neurogenesis"

Host: Dr Andy Furley


Monday 12th November 2018

Please note: the Seminar due to be given by Professor Nancy Papalopulu has been rescheduled to take place on Monday 5th November.


Monday 19th November 2018

Dr Gonzalo de Polavieja, Champalimaud Foundation, Lisbon

"How useful is deep learning in the study of animal behavior?"

Host: Prof Mikko Juusola


Monday 26th November 2018

Dr James Sharpe, EMBL Barcelona

Title to be announced

Host: Dr Matthew Towers


Monday 3rd December 2018

Dr Emily Eden, University College London

"Lines of communication: the role of lysosomal membrane contact sites in cholesterol homeostasis"

Host: Dr Andrew Peden


Monday 10th December 2018

Dr Steffen Scholpp, University of Exeter

"Intercellular Wnt trafficking in vertebrates"

Host: Dr Freek van Eeden


Monday 14th January 2019

Professor Sarah Walmsley, University of Edinburgh

"Hypoxia and neutrophilic inflammation"

Host: Mr Jonathon Coates


Monday 28th January 2019

Dr Ben Steventon, University of Cambridge

"Comparative Multi-cellular Dynamics of Neuromesodermal Progenitors"

Host: Dr Anestis Tsakiridis


Monday 21st January 2019

Professor Bruce Turnbull, University of Leeds

"Re-engineering bacterial toxins for new purposes"

Host: Prof Bazbek Davletov


Monday 11th February 2019

Dr Neil Vargesson, University of Aberdeen

"Thalidomide-induced embryopathy: mechanistic insights"

Host: Miss Holly Stainton


Monday 18th February 2019

Dr Anna Andreou, Headache Research Lab, King's College London

Title to be announced

Host: Dr Bazbek Davletov


Monday 25th February 2019

Professor David Bennett, University of Oxford

"Pain as a channelopathy"

Host: Dr Liz Seward


Monday 4th March 2019

Professor Catherina Becker, University of Edinburgh

"Successful Spinal Cord Repair in Zebrafish"

Host: Dr Vincent Cunliffe


Monday 18th March 2019

Professor Matteo Carandini, University College London

"Local and global neural correlates of vision, action, and reward"

Host: Dr Andrew Lin


Monday 25th March 2019

Professor Adam Mead, University of Oxford

"Unravelling cancer stem cell heterogeneity in myeloproliferative neoplasms"

Host: Dr Martin Zeidler


Monday 15th April 2019

Professor Andreas Thum, University of Leipzig

Title to be announced

Host: Dr Anthi Apostolopoulou


Monday 17th June 2019

Professor Irene Miguel-Aliaga, Imperial College London

"Sex differences in intestinal plasticity"

Host: Dr Kyra Campbell