Seminar series

External and Internal Seminar Programme 2018/2019

The Department of Biomedical Science runs a lively and exciting external and internal departmental seminar programme. Topics presented represent the wide-range of research interests within the department and are presented by experts in particular areas.

Seminars are held on Mondays at 12.00 noon (unless stated) in the Conference Room (room A225), A Floor, Alfred Denny building.

If you have any questions regarding our programme, please contact Wendy Howard.


2018/2019 Programme:

Monday 1st April 2019

Please note that the talk due to be given by Dr Bénédicte Sanson has been cancelled and will now take place later in the year.


Monday 8th April 2019

Dr Sara-Jane Dunn, Biological Computation, Microsoft Research Ltd

"Uncovering the Biological Program that Governs Naïve Pluripotency"

Host: Dr Zoe Hewitt


Monday 15th April 2019

Professor Andreas Thum, University of Leipzig

"Learning and Memory in Drosophila Larvae: Behavioural, Neuronal, and Molecular Fundamentals"

Host: Dr Anthi Apostolopoulou


Monday 29th April 2019

Dr Juan Burrone, King's College London

"Mapping Synaptic Contacts: From Dendrites to the Axon Initial Segment"

Host: Dr Anton Nikolaev


Monday 13th May 2019

Professor Paul Luzio, Cambridge Institute for Medical Research

"The lysosome-endosome kissing, fusion and regeneration cycle"

Host: Dr Andrew Peden


Monday 20th May 2019

Professor Liz Miller, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge

"Policing secretion: structure and assembly of the COPII coat"

Host: Prof Liz Smythe


Monday 3rd June 2019

Dr Benjamin Housden, University of Exeter

"Accelerating drug discovery using novel genetic screening methods in Drosophila"

Host: Dr Stephen Brown


Monday 10th June 2019

Dr Katja Röper, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge

"Mechanics and mechanisms of tube formation"

Host: Dr Kyra Campbell


Monday 17th June 2019

Professor Irene Miguel-Aliaga, Imperial College London

"Sex differences in intestinal plasticity"

Host: Dr Kyra Campbell


Monday 1st July 2019

Dr Joanna Loizou, Research Center for Molecular Medicine (Ce-M-M), Austria

"Safeguarding the human genome"

Host: Miss Angela Ibler


Monday 8th July 2019

Dr Lucia Prieto-Godino, The Francis Crick Institute

"Evolution of olfaction in Drosophilds: from receptors to networks"

Host: Dr Anton Nikolaev


Thursday 18th July 2019

Dr Nathalie Jurisch-Yaksi, Norwegian University of Science and Technology

"The function of motile-cilia driven flow in the nervous system"

Host: Prof Tanya Whitfield



2019/2020 Programme:

Monday 7th October 2019

Professor Suzanne Eaton, Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics

"Tissue mechanics and the control of wing shape in Drosophila"

Host: Prof David Strutt


Monday 14th October 2019

Professor Kate Storey, University of Dundee

Title to be announced

Host: Dr Anestis Tsakiridis


Monday 28th October 2019

Professor Matteo Carandini, University College London

"Local and global neural correlates of vision, action, and reward"

Host: Dr Andrew Lin


Monday 4th November 2019

Dr Bénédicte Sanson, University of Cambridge

"Mechanisms of developmental morphogenesis"

Host: Dr Natalia Bulgakova


Monday 11th November 2019

Dr Robert Pinnock, RDP Life Sciences

"Drug discovery - minimizing risk of failure - maximizing patient benefit"

Host: Prof Bazbek Davletov


Monday 18th November 2019

Dr Steven Farber, Carnegie Institute, Baltimore

Title to be announced

Host: Dr Vincent Cunliffe


Monday 2nd December 2019

Professor Helen Skaer, University of Cambridge

Title to be announced

Host: Dr Kyra Campbell


Monday 9th December 2019

Professor David Price, University of Edinburgh

Title to be announced

Host: Prof Andy Furley


Monday 13th January 2020

Dr Cynthia Andoniadou, King's College London

Title to be announced

Host: Dr Carl Harrison


Monday 20th January 2020

Professor Oscar Marin, King's College London

Title to be announced

Host: Prof Andy Furley