Current Research Students

Trevino Choudhury

Email: AChoudhury1@sheffield.ac.uk

Research area: Overeducation and graduate outcomes in the French labour market

Professor Steve McIntosh and Dr Gurleen Popli

Photo of Raslan AlzuabiRaslan Alzuabi

Tel: +44 (0)114 222 3421 or +44 (0) 114 222 3311

Email: ecp11rz@sheffield.ac.uk

Research area: The Channels of Monetary Transmission

Supervisors: Dr Kostas Mouratidis and Dr Juan Paez-Farrel

Photo of Emily BarkerEmily Barker

Tel: +44 (0)114 222 3421 or +44 (0) 114 222 3311

Email: ERBarker1@sheffield.ac.uk

Thesis title: Macroeconomics of Migration

Supervisors: Professor Christoph Thoenissen and Dr Eugenia Vella

Meruyert Beisenbayeva

Email: ecr10mb@sheffield.ac.uk

Thesis title: The Rates of Return to Education by gender and by race in Kazakhstan

Supervisors: Professor Steven McIntosh and Dr Pam Lenton

Photo of PhD Student Andrew BryceAndrew Bryce

Tel: +44 (0) 114 222 3421 or +44 (0) 114 222 3311

Email: AMBryce1@sheffield.ac.uk

Thesis title: Impact of working hours on the wellbeing of self-employed people

Supervisors: Professor Jenny Roberts and Dr Mark Bryan

Andrew is part of the research team at the Institute for Economic Analysis of Decision-making (InstEAD).

Photo of Myriam Alejandra Gomez CardenasMyriam Alejandra Gomez Cardenas

Tel:  +44 (0)114 222 3421 or +44 (0) 114 222 3311

Email: magomezcardemas1@sheffield.ac.uk

Thesis title: Global Value Chains: The Impact of Leading Foreign Affiliates on Business Cycle Co-movements

Supervisors: Dr Antonio Navas and Professor Karl Taylor

Mahvish FaranPhoto of Mahvish Faran

Tel: +44 (0)114 222 3421 or +44 (0) 114 222 3311

Email: MFaran1@sheffield.ac.uk

Thesis title: Increasing Productivity through Innovative Management Practices

Supervisors: Professor Karl Taylor and Dr Mark Bryan

Petros Gkolitsis

Email: PGkolitsis1@sheffield.ac.uk

Supervisor: Dr Kostas Mouratidis

Photo of Shinawat HorayangkuraShinawat Horayangkura

Tel: +44 (0) 114 222 3421 or +44 (0) 114 222 3311

Email: SHorayangkura1@sheffield.ac.uk

Thesis title: Market and Supplier Access and Wage Inequality in Manufacturing and Service Sectors: Thailand's Micro-level Data

Supervisors: Professor Peter Wright and Dr Rodrigo Moreno-Serra

Photo of Ioannis KarfakisIoannis Karfakis

Tel: +44 (0) 114 222 3421 or +44 (0) 114 222 3311

Email: IKarfakis1@sheffield.ac.uk

Thesis title: Global Exchange Rate Volatility and Variability Configurations

Supervisors: Dr Konstantinos Mouratidis and Dr Eugenia Vella

Photo of Cyriac KodathCyriac Kodath

Tel: +44 (0) 114 222 3421 or +44 (0) 114 222 3311

Email: ckodath1@sheffield.ac.uk

Thesis title: Labour Market Policies and Post-unemployment Outcomes

Supervisors: Professor Peter Wright and Dr Bert Van Landeghem

Photo of Samuel LordemusSamuel Lordemus

Tel: +44 (0)114 222 3421 or +44 (0) 114 222 3311

Email: SLordemus1@sheffield.ac.uk

Thesis title: Development assistance through formula funding, public sector behaviour and health outcomes

Supervisors: Dr Arne Risa Hole and Dr Rodrigo Moreno Serra

Photo of Jialong LiJialong Li

Tel: +44 (0)114 222 3421 or +44 (0) 114 222 3311

Email: JLi152@sheffield.ac.uk

Thesis title: Household finance

Supervisor: Professor Karl Taylor

Photo of Jiao LiJiao Li

Tel: +44 (0)114 222 3421 or +44 (0) 114 222 3311

Email: JLi144@sheffield.ac.uk

Thesis title: Tax Administration

Supervisors: Dr Matthew Rablen and Dr Tobias Wenzel

Photo of Konstantina MaragkouKonstantina Maragkou

Tel: +44 (0) 114 222 3421 or +44 (0) 114 222 3311

Email: KMaragkou1@sheffield.ac.uk

Thesis title: Vocational Education

Supervisors: Professor Steven McIntosh and Professor Andrew Dickerson

Photo of Mike MasiyeMike Masiye

Tel: +44 (0) 114 222 3421 or +44 (0) 114 222 3311

Email: ecp07mm@sheffield.ac.uk

Thesis title: Why Zambia's Macroeconomic Policies are Barely Reducing Poverty Zambia's Macroeconomic Policies and Incidence of Poverty Macroeconomic Management and Poverty Incidence in Zambia

Supervisors: Professor Paul Mosley and Dr Pamela Lenton

Photo of PhD Student Jen-Chung MeiJen-Chung Mei

Tel: +44 (0)114 222 3421 or +44 (0) 114 222 3311

Email: JMei5@sheffield.ac.uk

Thesis title: Foreign Direct Investment, Economic Growth and Firm's Productivity

Supervisors: Professor Karl Taylor, Dr Antonio Navas

Photo of Jamie MurrayJamie Murray

Email: jmurray1@sheffield.ac.uk

Thesis title: Fiscal policy and the natural rate of interest

Supervisors: Dr Kostas Mouratidis and Professor Christoph Thoenissen

Photo of Maria PetrilloMaria Petrillo

Tel: +44 (0)114 222 3421 or +44 (0) 114 222 3311

Email: MPetrillo1@sheffield.ac.uk

Thesis title: Vocational education research

Supervisors: Professor Steve McIntosh and Professor Andy Dickerson

Photo of Miroslava TrevinoMiroslava Quiroga Trevino

Tel: +44 (0)114 222 3421 or +44 (0) 114 222 3311

Email: MQuirogaTrevino1@sheffield.ac.uk

Thesis title: Economic Growth and State Public Debt in Mexico

Supervisor: Professor Christoph Thoenissen

Christopher Robinson

Email: cjrobinson2@sheffield.ac.uk

Thesis tile: Effects of UK regional firm competition on wage determination

Supervisors: Professor Peter Wright and Professor Andy Dickerson

Photo of Bertha Rohenkohl CruzBertha Rohenkohl Cruz

Tel: +44 (0)114 222 3421 or +44 (0) 114 222 3311

Email: BRohenkohlCruz1@sheffield.ac.uk

Thesis title: Intergenerational Income Mobility in the UK

Supervisors: Professor Andrew Dickerson, Dr Nicolas Van de Sijpe and Dr Anita Ratcliffe

Photo of Argyris Sakalis Argyris Sakalis

Tel: +44 (0)114 222 3421 or +44 (0) 114 222 3311

Email: asakalis1@sheffield.ac.uk

Thesis title: Culture, Institutions and Long Term Growth. Understanding the Endogenous Process of Institution Reform

Supervisor: Dr Vassilis Sarantides

Photo of Alessandro SassoAlessandro Sasso

Tel: +44 (0) 114 222 3421 or +44 (0) 114 222 3311

Email: SAlessandro1@sheffield.ac.uk

Thesis title: Gender Discrimination and Reservation Wage Inequalities in the Italian Labour Market

Supervisors: Dr Gurleen Popli and Professor Sarah Brown

Alessandro is part of the research team at the Institute for Economic Analysis of Decision-making (InstEAD).

David Takyi

Tel: +44 (0) 114 222 3421 or +44 (0) 114 222 3311

Email: DTakyi1@sheffield.ac.uk

Thesis title: A Product of Your Environment: Neighbourhood Influence on Ethnic Minorities’ Higher Education Qualification Attainment

Supervisors: Dr Pam Lenton and Professor Arne Risa Hole

Photo of An Thu TaAn Thu Ta

Tel: +44 (0) 114 222 3421 or +44 (0) 114 222 3311

Email: anna.ta@sheffield.ac.uk

Thesis title: Measuring Welfare Through Equivalent Consumption Over the Life Course

Supervisors: Professor Aki Tsuchiya and Dr Bert Van Landeghem

Photo of Celia WallaceCelia Wallace

Tel: +44 (0)114 222 3421 or +44 (0) 114 222 3311

Email: CTWallace1@sheffield.ac.uk

Thesis title: Happiness in the Macroeconomy

Supervisors: Dr Alberto Montangnoli and Dr Daniel Gray

Bingxue Wang 150x150Bingxue Wang

Tel: +44 (0)114 222 3421 or +44 (0) 114 222 3311

Email: bwang22@sheffield.ac.uk

Thesis title: The Role of Strategic Interactions in Innovation and Foreign Direct Investment for Small and Medium Enterprises

Supervisors: Dr Antonio Navas and Dr Jolian McHardy

Photo of Kemar WhyteKemar Whyte

Tel: +44 (0) 114 222 3421 or +44 (0) 114 222 3311

Email: KPWhyte1@sheffield.ac.uk

Thesis title: Testing and evaluating the "procyclicality hypothesis" in the financial systems of Jamaica and the United Kingdom.

Supervisors: Dr Alberto Montagnoli and Dr Kostas Mouratidis

Photo of Meng XuMeng Xu

Tel: +44 (0) 114 222 3421 or +44 (0) 114 222 3311

Email: MXu35@sheffield.ac.uk

Thesis title: Labour market, dynamic general equilibrium, heterogeneous agents, fiscal policy analysis in emerging countries.

Supervisors: Professor Christoph Thoenissen and Professor Alberto Montagnoli

Photo of Xiaoguang YuanXiaoguang Yuan

Tel: +44 (0) 114 222 3421 or +44 (0) 114 222 3311

Email: Xyuan3@sheffield.ac.uk

Thesis title: Exchange rate determination: news effects in both macroeconomic fundamentals and microstructure

Supervisors: Dr Juan Paez-Farrell

Photo of Dongzhe ZhangDongzhe Zhang

Tel: +44 (0) 114 222 3421 or +44 (0) 114 222 3311

Email: DZhang20@sheffield.ac.uk

Thesis title: Quality and Heterogeneous Firms based on H-O Model

Supervisors: Dr Antonio Navas and Dr Ian Gregory-Smith