Seminars

Seminars

We host, on average three or four seminars each month, usually on a Wednesday at 1pm during term. We invite a range of guest speakers with expertise covering all areas of molecular bioscience. All students, academics and staff are welcome to attend.

Other bioscience seminars are hosted by the Imagine: Imaging Life project and the Florey Institute:


Molecular Biology and Biotechnology seminars, 2017-2018:

Wednesday 4 October: iGEM team: Antimicrobial resistance

Antimicrobial Resistance
iGEM team
Wednesday Oct 4 at 1 pm in MBB F2

Host: Dr S Casson

Wednesday 11 October: The Roper Lecture, Richard Summers

Richard Summers
RAGT Seeds
Wednesday October 11 at 1 pm in MBB F2

Host: Prof Pete Sudbery

Wednesday 18 October: Sam Griffiths-Jones: Evolution and function of microRNAs in early development

Evolution and function of microRNAs in early development
Sam Griffiths-Jones

University of Manchester
Wednesday October 18 at 1 pm in MBB F2

Host: Dr Ian Sudbery

Wednesday 25 October: Alex Taylor: Beyond DNA & RNA: Synthetic Genetic Polymers

Beyond DNA & RNA: Synthetic Genetic Polymers
Alex Taylor

University of Cambridge
Wednesday October 25 at 1 pm in MBB F2

Host: Dr Julien Bergeron

Wednesday 8 November: Luning Liu : Understanding the structure, self-assembly and mechanics of bacterial organelles for metabolic engineering

Understanding the structure, self-assembly and mechanics of bacterial organelles for metabolic engineering
Luning Liu

University of Liverpool
Wednesday November 8 at 1 pm in MBB F2

Host: Dr Matt Johnson

Wednesday 15 November: Thorsten Allers

Thorsten Allers
University of Nottingham
Wednesday November 15 at 1 pm in MBB F2

Host: Dr Andrew Fenton

Wednesday 22 November: William Ferdinand Memorial Lecture, Jane Clarke

William Ferdinand Memorial Lecture
Jane Clarke FRS

University of Cambridge
Wednesday November 22 at 1 pm in MBB F2

Host: Prof Mike Williamson

Wednesday 29 November: Seth Davis

Biotechnology in the extremophile red alga Galdieria
Seth Davis
University of York
Wednesday November 29 at 1 pm MBB F2 

Host: Dr Lynda Partridge

Wednesday 6 December: Daniela Barilla

Daniela Barilla
University of York
Wednesday December 6 at 1 pm MBB F2

Host: Dr Ling Chin Hwang

Wednesday 13 December: Kate Barker: Horizontal transfer of antimicrobial resistance drives multi-species population level epidemics

Horizontal transfer of antimicrobial resistance drives multi-species population level epidemics
Kate Barker

University of Liverpool
Wednesday December 13 at 1 pm MBB F2

Host: Dr Roy Chaudhuri

Wednesday 17 January: Ian Henderson

Ian Henderson
University of Birmingham
Wednesday January 17 at 1 pm MBB F2

Host: Dr Rob Fagan

Wednesday 24 January: West Riding Lecture, James Prosser: Molecular analysis of ammonia oxidisers: enlightenment and entanglement

West Riding Lecture
Molecular analysis of ammonia oxidisers: enlightenment or entanglement
James Prosser

University of Aberdeen
Wednesday January 24 at 1 pm MBB F2

Host: Prof Robert Poole

Wednesday 31 January: Andrew Jackson

Andrew Jackson
University of Edinburgh
Wednesday January 31 at 1 pm MBB F2

Host: Prof Sherif El-Khamisy