Free part-time English classes (CELTA)

The ELTC runs part-time and full-time teacher training courses (Cambridge CELTA) throughout the year. The trainees on these courses are preparing to become English language teachers. We need volunteers to join these classes so that our trainee teachers can practise their teaching.

Students laughing in class
Off

Our Free English classes are a great way of learning English language in a relaxed environment and volunteers enjoy and benefit from these classes.

The Free English classes are not part of a course. If you wish to join these classes, you will do so as a volunteer not a student. Certificates and student cards are not provided. The classes may also be recorded for training purposes.

Who can join?

To join our free English classes you must:

  • Be over 18 years old
  • Have an English level between pre-intermediate (IELTS 3.5 - 5.0) and upper-intermediate (IELTS 5.0 - 6.5)
  • Be able to attend at least 80% of the classes.

For face-to-face classes you must live in the UK and be able to come to classes at our building in Sheffield. For online classes, you can be in any country, but you must have an adequate internet connection and a computer with a microphone and a camera.

Who are the classes not suitable for?

Unfortunately, our free English classes are NOT suitable for people who:

  • Are under 18 years old
  • Have a beginner level of English (IELTS 3.0 or lower)
  • Have an advanced level of English (IELTS 6.5 or over)
  • Cannot attend regularly

When do classes take place?

Our free classes take place in blocks throughout the year. Each block of classes is taught alongside one of our CELTA teacher training courses. You can sign up to attend more than one block of classes, but you must be able to attend at least 80% of the classes in each block.

Tuesday Evenings (5:30pm to 7:30pm) - February 1 2022 to June 7 2022

2022

Tuesday February 1 - 5:30pm to 7:30pm

Tuesday February 8 - 5:30pm to 7:30pm

Tuesday February 15 - 5:30pm to 7:30pm      

Tuesday February 22 - 5:30pm to 7:30pm    

Tuesday March 1 - 5:30pm to 7:30pm      

Tuesday March 8 - 5:30pm to 7:30pm           

Tuesday March 15 - 5:30pm to 7:30pm         

Tuesday March 22 - 5:30pm to 7:30pm           

3-week break   

Tuesday April 19 - 5:30pm to 7:30pm          

Tuesday April 26 - 5:30pm to 7:30pm        

Tuesday May 3 - 5:30pm to 7:30pm           

Tuesday May 10 - 5:30pm to 7:30pm          

Tuesday May 17 - 5:30pm to 7:30pm          

Tuesday May 24 - 5:30pm to 7:30pm    

Tuesday May 31 - 5:30pm to 7:30pm     

Tuesday June 7 - 5:30pm to 7:30pm  

Friday Afternoons (1:30pm to 3:30pm) - February 25 2022 to June 10 2022

2022

Friday February 25 - 1:30pm to 3:30pm (lower level class only)

Friday March 4 - 1:30pm to 3:30pm (lower level class only)

Friday March 11 - 1:30pm to 3:30pm (lower level class only)

Friday March 18 - 1:30pm to 3:30pm (lower level class only)

Friday March 25 - 1:30pm to 3:30pm (lower level class only)

Friday April 1 - 1:30pm to 3:30pm (lower level class only)

3-week break

Friday April 29 - 1:30pm to 3:30pm (higher level class only)

Friday May 6 - 1:30pm to 3:30pm (higher level class only)

Friday May 13 - 1:30pm to 3:30pm (higher level class only)

Friday May 20 - 1:30pm to 3:30pm (higher level class only)

Friday May 27 - 1:30pm to 3:30pm (higher level class only)

Friday June 3 - 1:30pm to 3:30pm (higher level class only)

Thursday June 9 - 1:30pm to 3:30pm (higher level class only)

When do the free classes take place?

Our free classes take place in blocks throughout the year. Each block of classes is taught alongside one of our CELTA teacher training courses. You can sign up to attend more than one block of classes, but you must be able to attend at least 80% of the classes in each block.

Where do these free English classes take place?

All the face-to-face free English classes take place at:

The English Language Teaching Centre (ELTC)
University of Sheffield
78 Hoyle Street
Sheffield
S3 7LG

Our classrooms are on D floor. For directions to our centre, please click here.

All our online classes take place on Zoom. You will need to download Zoom onto your computer to join these classes.

How to join

To sign up for the classes, please click the link below and fill in the application form:

Free English classes application form

After you complete the application form we will add your details to our waiting list. When a place in the free classes becomes available we will send you an email inviting you to attend the free classes.

These free classes are popular, so you might have to wait a few weeks before a place in the free classes becomes available for you.

If you have any questions about joining the free classes, please contact tefl@sheffield.ac.uk for assistance.


For more information on how we hold and process your personal data, please see the Privacy Notice for free English class volunteers.

A world top-100 university

We're a world top-100 university renowned for the excellence, impact and distinctiveness of our research-led learning and teaching.