Double RSC Award Honours For Chemistry Staff

Two of our academic staff have been honoured with awards from the Royal Society of Chemistry in the 2016 round.

Sarah Staniland

Dr. Staniland wins Harrison-Meldola PrizeSSS nanopattern

Dr. Sarah Staniland has been awarded the 2016 Harrison-Meldola Memorial Prize. This has been awarded 'for her understanding and exploitation of biomineralisation to produce next-generation magnetic nanoparticles via biomimetic syntheses.' The Harrison-Meldola Memorial Prize is the RSC's premier award for early career academics, and is allocated annually to three outstanding young scientists who are normally up to 35 (this may be adjusted to take account of career breaks). The fact that Dr. Staniland has made such an impact with her research around the demands of a young family is especially noteworthy. The RSC announcement can be found here.


Mike Ward

MDW_cage_warfare smallProf. Mike Ward wins Prize for Supramolecular Chemistry

Prof. Mike Ward, the Head of Department, has been awarded the 2016 prize for Supramolecular Chemistry. This is awarded to one researcher every two years with no restrictions as to age or career stage; Prof Ward was selected for the award on the basis of his recent work on the synthesis and host-guest chemistry of polyhedral coordination cages, as highlighted in a recent news story about binding of chemical warfare agent simulants in cage cavities. The RSC announcement can be found here.

Congratulations to both!