Academic staff

Below is a list of current Academic Staff in the Department of Psychology. Each person's name links through to their personal profile.  All academic staff are based on the 5th floor of Cathedral Court (unless otherwise stated)

Name Research Topic Email/Phone/Room Research Area
Back to the top

A

Akram, Dr Asha

Neurodegenerative disorders: Understanding the mechanisms of cell death following ischaemic stroke; Identifying novel targets for pharmacological treatment; Improving outcome for patients through rehabilitation therapy; Bridging the gap between the laboratory to the clinical situation

a.akram@sheffield.ac.uk
26533

NEUROSCIENCE

Back to the top

B

Barkham, Professor Michael

Outcome of Psychological therapies , in particular on practice based research as a compliment to trials methodology.

m.barkham@sheffield.ac.uk
26527

CLINICAL PSYCHOLOGY

Bartlett, Dr Kirsten

Vocabulary acquisition in adults and children; Semantic aspects of word learning; Memory consolidation of new information with old; Teaching methods

kirsten.bartlett@sheffield.ac.uk 26557

COGNITIVE PSYCHOLOGY AND PSYCHOLINGUISTICS

Beail, Professor Nigel A

N.Beail@sheffield.ac.uk
26575

CLINICAL PSYCHOLOGY

Bijvoet-van den Berg, Dr Simone

The development of creativity and learning through exploration in young children. Generation of new ideas.

s.bijvoet-vandenberg@sheffield.ac.uk
26557

DEVELOPMENTAL PSYCHOLOGY

Blades, Dr Mark

Director of Postgraduate Studies

Children's understanding of media, in particular their understanding of advertising and marketing and the influence of food marketing on young children. Assessment of police interviews with abused children, and improving interview procedures.

M.Blades@sheffield.ac.uk
26549

DEVELOPMENTAL PSYCHOLOGY

Blakey, Dr Emma

Understanding how executive functions develop, how they underpin other important skills and how their development can be best supported.

Emma.Blakey@sheffield.ac.uk
26616

DEVELOPMENTAL PSYCHOLOGY

Bracci, Dr Enrico

Neuromodulation of striatal networks, Excitatory GABA interactions, Presynaptic interactions between striatal neurons.

E.Bracci@sheffield.ac.uk
26593

NEUROSCIENCE AND PSYCHOBIOLOGY

Buckland, Dr Nicola

The psychology of eating behaviour; appetite; satiation and satiety; weight management; psychometric eating behaviour traits; goal priming food intake and food choice; perceptions about foods; promoting sustainable diets.

N.Buckland@sheffield.ac.uk
26508

SOCIAL AND HEALTH PSYCHOLOGY
Back to the top

C

Carroll, Dr Dan

Executive function and inhibitory control in preschool children; Children's rule use and symbolic understanding; Conflict monitoring and conflict resolution.

d.carroll@sheffield.ac.uk
26603

DEVELOPMENTAL PSYCHOLOGY

Back to the top

D

Dean, Professor Paul, Emeritus

Computational models of the cerebellum and its role in oculomotor function and classical conditioning.

P.Dean@sheffield.ac.uk
26521

COMPUTATIONAL NEUROSCIENCE

Debowska, Dr Agata

Interpersonal violence against women and children, psychopathy, and criminal social identity.

a.debowska@sheffield.ac.uk
26564

FORENSIC PSYCHOLOGY
Delgadillo, Dr Jaime

Outcome measurement, prediction and feedback; personalized treatment-matching; psychological therapies for depression and anxiety

j.delgadillo@sheffield.ac.uk
26614
CLINICAL PSYCHOLOGY
Back to the top

E

Eiser, Professor Chris, Emeritus C.Eiser@sheffield.ac.uk
Eiser, Professor Richard, Emeritus J.R.Eiser@sheffield.ac.uk

Emerson, Dr Lisa-Marie

Mindfulness; intrusive thoughts; cognitive processes in clinical disorders; prevention of mental health difficulties

l.emerson@sheffield.ac.uk
26577

CLINICAL PSYCHOLOGY

F

Freeth, Dr Megan

Autism Spectrum Disorders
(including the broader autism phenotype),
Visual attention, Eye movements,
Gaze cues, Social cognition,
Neural correlates of visual attention

m.freeth@sheffield.ac.uk
26652

COGNITION AND COGNITIVE NEUROSCIENCE

Frisby, Professor John, Emeritus J.P.Frisby@sheffield.ac.uk

Back to the top

G

Gurney, Professor Kevin

Computational and robotic models of action selection and visual attention in the brain, working at multiple levels of description including: models of single neurons, small microcircuits, and systems-wide networks.

K.Gurney@sheffield.ac.uk
26566

COMPUTATIONAL NEUROSCIENCE

Back to the top

H

Hardy, Professor Gillian

Psychological treatments for depression: psychotherapy processes and outcomes; attachment theory; interpersonal processes.

G.Hardy@sheffield.ac.uk
26571/WB C5

CLINICAL PSYCHOLOGY

Hockey, Professor Bob, Emeritus

G.R.J.Hockey@sheffield.ac.uk

Hoicka, Dr Elena

How children come to understand conventional and factual wrongness through mistakes, jokes, pretending, and deception.  Creativity in infants and toddlers.

E.Hoicka@sheffield.ac.uk
26510

DEVELOPMENTAL PSYCHOLOGY

Howarth, Dr Clare

Understanding neurovascular coupling: cells and molecules involved. Investigating changes in neurovascular coupling during aging and in disease. c.howarth@sheffield.ac.uk, 26511 NEUROSCIENCE AND PSYCHOBIOLOGY
Back to the top

I

Dr Aarti Iyer

Antecedents of individuals’ challenges to inequality and injustice (i.e., political attitudes and political behaviour)

Strategies to improve organisations’  affirmative action programs and diversity initiatives

Role of social identity processes in navigating systems of inequality, with implications for well-being, self-views, and academic performance.

a.iyer@sheffield.ac.uk
26621
SOCIAL AND HEALTH PSYCHOLOGY
Back to the top

J

Jones, Dr Myles

Director of Undergraduate Studies

The coupling between neural activity and the changes in blood flow, volume and oxygenation.

M.Jones@sheffield.ac.uk
26551

NEUROSCIENCE AND PSYCHOBIOLOGY

Back to the top

K

Kellett, Dr Stephen

Psychotherapy outcome; compulsive hoarding; compulsive buying; cyclothymia. Clinical competency and therapist effects in routine practice.

s.kellett@sheffield.ac.uk
26537/Rm WB C18

CLINICAL PSYCHOLOGY

L

Levita, Dr Liat

Role of the fronto-striatal circuitry in emotion; anxiety and avoidance behaviours, structural and functional changes in the fronto-striatal circuitry in the transition from adolescence to adulthood.

l.levita@sheffield.ac.uk
26651 Rm 2-19

NEUROSCIENCE AND PSYCHOBIOLOGY; DEVELOPMENTAL PSYCHOLOGY

Back to the top

M

Martin, Dr Chris

Meaning of functional brain imaging signals; neurovacular coupling; transcranial direct current stimulation of the brain; neuromarketing; integrating neuroscience into psychological research; science communication.

c.martin@sheffield.ac.uk
26590

NEUROSCIENCE AND PSYCHOBIOLOGY

Martin, Dr Jilly

Psychological behaviour change strategies to change health-risk behaviour in young people.

jilly.martin@sheffield.ac.uk
26513

SOCIAL AND HEALTH PSYCHOLOGY

Matthews, Dr Danielle

Developmental Psychology & Language Development. Particularly development in the domains of pragmatics, grammar and communicative development in infancy.

danielle.matthews@sheffield.ac.uk
26548

DEVELOPMENTAL PSYCHOLOGY

Millings, Dr Abigail

Adult attachment relationships and family dynamics. Computerised therapy and e-health. Applying relationships psychology to assistive technology.

a.millings@sheffield.ac.uk
26525

x22986/Rm 1.06 (in CATCH in the Innovation Centre)

SOCIAL AND HEALTH PSYCHOLOGY/Centre for Assistive Technology and Connected Healthcare

Milne, Dr Elizabeth

Deputy Head of Department

Perception and attention in autism spectrum conditions. Heterogeneity in the autism spectrum. Identification of EEG biomarkers for autism and subtypes of autism. Electrophysiological correlates of perception and attention across the lifespan. Applications of EEG technology

E.Milne@sheffield.ac.uk
26558

COGNITION AND COGNITIVE NEUROSCIENCE

Back to the top

N

Norman, Professor Paul

Health Psychology; predicting and changing health behaviour; habit and health behaviour; intention-behaviour relations; planning and implementation intentions; self-affirmation; alcohol consumption; online interventions.

P.Norman@sheffield.ac.uk
26505

SOCIAL AND HEALTH PSYCHOLOGY

Back to the top

O

Overton, Professor Paul G

Dopamine; Neuropharmacology; Drugs of abuse; Basal ganglia function and dysfunction; Neurobiology of attention deficit hyperactivity disorder

P.G.Overton@sheffield.ac.uk
26624

NEUROSCIENCE AND PSYCHOBIOLOGY

Back to the top

P

Back to the top

R

Redgrave, Professor Peter

Sensorimotor control; Visual systems; Basal ganglia; Dopamine; Reinforcement.

P.Redgrave@sheffield.ac.uk

NEUROSCIENCE AND PSYCHOBIOLOGY

Rowe, Professor Richard

Director of Research

The development of antisocial behaviour. Unintentional injury: Psychological risk factors for accidents in children and adolescents, driver behaviour.

r.rowe@sheffield.ac.uk
26606

SOCIAL AND HEALTH PSYCHOLOGY

Rowse, Dr Georgina

Psychosis: early intervention in psychosis, sleep, cultural/religious and spiritual explanations of experiences, role of early experience and the continuum model of experiences (through the lifespan). Mindfulness in education.
Young people and Inflammatory Bowel Disease: identity, transition and health behaviours.

G.Rowse@sheffield.ac.uk
26574/WB B2b

CLINICAL PSYCHOLOGY

Back to the top

S

Saal, Dr Hannes Touch and tactile processing; neural coding; robotics; human psychophysics

h.saal@sheffield.ac.uk
26504

COMPUTATIONAL NEUROSCIENCE
Schmidt, Dr Robert Basal ganglia, dopamine, inhibitory control, computational models of neural networks and behaviour, neural oscillations, neural coding, data analysis, reinforcement learning, motor control

robert.schmidt@sheffield.ac.uk
26501

COMPUTATIONAL NEUROSCIENCE AND ROBOTICS
Sirois, Dr Fuschia Health Psychology; self-regulation of health behaviours; the role of time perspective in health and well-being; positive adjustment to chronic health conditions; use of complementary and alternative medicine; procrastination, perfectionism, self-compassion and gratitude in health and well-being

F.Sirois@sheffield.ac.uk
26552

SOCIAL AND HEALTH PSYCHOLOGY
Spencer, Professor Christopher, Emeritus C.P.Spencer@sheffield.ac.uk

Stafford, Dr Tom

Director of Public Engagement

Learning and decision making

T.Stafford@sheffield.ac.uk
26620

COGNITION AND COGNITIVE NEUROSCIENCE

Back to the top

T

Thompson, Dr Andrew

Clinical Health Psychology. Understanding psychosocial adaptation to trauma
and illness (particularly where disfigurement has occurred);psychodermatology; and development of psychosocial interventions for the management of appearance concern/stigma and anxiety.

A.R.Thompson@sheffield.ac.uk
26637/WB B12a

CLINICAL PSYCHOLOGY

Totterdell, Professor Peter

Emotion regulation of others and self, especially in relation to work, social
networks, well-being and performance

p.totterdell@sheffield.ac.uk

SOCIAL AND HEALTH PSYCHOLOGY

Back to the top

W

Waller, Professor Glenn

Head of Department

Cognitive content and processes that underlie and maintain the eating disorders (e.g., reassurance-seeking);
Body image disturbance (maintenance factors and treatment approaches);
The treatment of the eating disorders, with a particular focus on cognitive-behavioural approaches;
The translation of evidence-based approaches into real-life clinical settings, and the clinician variables that enhance or impede that process (e.g., therapist drift)

G.Waller@sheffield.ac.uk
26568

CLINICAL PSYCHOLOGY

Webb, Dr Thomas

Goal striving, particularly the role of intentions, planning, self-monitoring, and emotion regulation, including applications to clinical and environmental issues

T.Webb@sheffield.ac.uk
26516

SOCIAL AND HEALTH PSYCHOLOGY

Wilson, Dr Stuart

Theoretical, computational, experimental, and robotic models of the development of brain function and the representation of physical spaces.

s.p.wilson@sheffield.ac.uk
26595

COMPUTATIONAL NEUROSCIENCE

Wood, Dr Chantelle

Social categorisation; stereotyping and stereotype threat; prejudice and prejudice-reduction; category conjunctions; self-control and ego-depletion; social and health behaviour change

chantelle.wood@sheffield.ac.uk
26615

SOCIAL AND HEALTH PSYCHOLOGY

Back to the top

Z

Zawadzka Dr Katarzyna

Long-term memory and metacognition

k.zawadzka@sheffield.ac.uk
26585

COGNITION AND COGNITIVE NEUROSCIENCE

Back to the top