PhD Research Student Profiles

The table below lists our students currently studying towards a research degree. You can go on to their profiles to find out more information about their work.

Click here to find out more about recent research graduates.

Student PhD Title Primary Supervisor Secondary Supervisor Started

A

Adekoya, Remigius

Prof. Graham Harrison Dr Simon Rushton 02/2015

Aguilar Marquez, Israel

Drug Trafficking Network Analysis: Partnerships between government actors and organised crime. Case study: Mexico 2006-2011 Dr Alistair McMillan Dr Nasos Roussias 10/2011

Aliyeva, Adila

aaliyeva1@sheffield.ac.uk

Social Capital in the South Caucasus: A comparative analysis of Azerbaijani and Georgian societies Prof Maria Grasso Prof Andrew Taylor 10/2013

Amidi, Sabina

Politics and Dissent Online: Gender and Civil Engagement in the Middle East Prof Maria Grasso Dr Genevieve Le Baron 10/2013

Argyroulis, Dimitrios

dargyroulis1@sheffield.ac.uk

ECOFIN and the Post-crisis Institutionalisation of European Economic Governance: A Sociological Institutionalist Approach Prof Simon Bulmer Dr Owen Parker 10/2015

Arnott, Andrew

andrew.arnott@sheffield.ac.uk

Variations in European Union anti-establishment parties Dr Nasos Roussias Dr Alistair McMillan 10/2016

B

Barber, Adam

Do Offshore Financial Centres Contribute to Financial Crisis? Prof Andrew Hindmoor Prof Nicola Phillips 10/2013

Baskan, Burak

Prof Jonathan Joseph Prof John Hobson 02/2014

Bayramova, Gunay

The Role of Energy in Azerbaijan’s Foreign Policy Dr Rhiannon Vickers Dr Hayley Stevenson 10/2011

Bin Ibrahim, Zakaria

From Tsunami to ‘Tsunami Politics’: The Impact of the Indian Ocean Tsunami 2004 on the 2008 General Election in Penang, Malaysia - A Complex Political Emergency Approach. Prof Andrew Taylor Dr Hayley Stevenson 10/2012

Bruckmayer, Michaela

m.bruckmayer@sheffield.ac.uk

A Vulnerable Threat? The Impacts of Policy Framing on Child Migration Policy Outcomes Prof Andrew Geddes Prof Nicola Phillips 10/2014

Buraczynska, Barbara

b.buraczynska@sheffield.ac.uk

Second Image Reversed: How the international system influences the domestic structures of states Prof Maria Grasso Dr Garrett W. Brown 10/2013

C

Chamberlain, James

Prof Graham Harrison Prof Andrew Hindmoor 10/2014

Chang, Yu-bin

Dr Matt Sleat Dr Edward Hall 10/2014

Cinar, Busra

Dr Garrett W. Brown Dr Alisdair Cochrane 04/2015

Conlan, Susan

The Relationship Between the Republic of Ireland and the UK: An examination of statehood through the prism of immigration control Prof Andrew Geddes Prof Andrew Hindmoor 10/2013

Cordasco, Carlo

c.cordasco@sheffield.ac.uk

Rethinking Spontaneous Order: Norms, Institutions and Legitimacy Dr Matt Sleat Dr Alasdair Cochrane 10/2012

D

Dafnos, Andreas

adafnos1@sheffield.ac.uk

Far-right groups in the UK: Investigating cumulative extremism Prof Maria Grasso Dr Nasos Roussias 10/2015

Dickinson, Hannah

Working in the BIOSEC Project Prof Rosaleen Duffy

F

Foley, Laura

laura.foley@sheffield.ac.uk

The governance of labour migration in Southeast Asia Prof Andrew Geddes Prof Nicola Phillips 10/2016

G

Garcia Velazquez, Jose Angel

jgarcia2@sheffield.ac.uk

The Social Construction of Security Policy: The Battle against Drug-Cartels in Mexico. Prof Matthew Flinders Dr Peter Watt 01/2012

Godziewski, Charlotte

c.godziewski@sheffield.ac.uk

Deliberative democracy and the influence of civil society organisations on EU policy-making: A critical discourse analysis of obesity preventing strategies Dr Garrett Brown Dr Simon Rushton 2016

Gonzalez Ginocchio, Brenda

b.gonzalezginocchio@sheffield.ac.uk

The Socioeconomic Dimensions of Drug Violence in Mexico. Prof Nicola Phillips Prof Martin J. Smith 10/2011

Gulmohamad, Zana

z.gulmohamad@sheffield.ac.uk

An analysis of Iraq’s foreign policy post-Saddam. Dr Rhiannon Vickers

Prof Andrew Taylor

01/2013

I

Ismail, Suzianah

Understanding the emergence, development and trajectories of the animal rights new social movement (NSM) in developing industrial nations: the case of Malaysia. Dr Alisdair Cochrane Prof Maria Grasso 01/2013

J

Jarvis, Sam

s.jarvis@sheffield.ac.uk

Moral Progress and its Political Limits: ‘Common Humanity’ as a Driver of State Behaviour Dr Garrett W. Brown Dr Adrian Gallagher (University of Leeds) 10/2014

Joanny, Laure

laure.joanny@sheffield.ac.uk

Green surveillance technologies Prof Rosaleen Duffy Prof Dan Brockington 10/2017

K

Karampampas, Sotirios

s.karampampas@sheffield.ac.uk

Why is the Phenomenon of Revolutionary Groups Resilient in Greece? A Relational Study of Three Contentious Episodes (1965-2015) Prof Maria Grasso Dr Lisa Stampnitzky 10/2012

L

Lappe-Osthege, Theresa

Dr Hayley Stevenson Prof Jonathan Joseph 10/2014

Leman, Jason

JCLeman1@sheffield.ac.uk

Local parties and participatory governance in English Local Councils Dr Alistair McMillan Dr Felicity Matthews 10/2014

Linger, Scott

scott.linger@sheffield.ac.uk

Justice, Legitimacy and European Citizenship Dr Alisdair Cochrane Dr Owen Parker 10/2013

Lixi, Luca

luca.lixi@sheffield.ac.uk

The European External Migration Governance: understanding the pathways to progress and the obstacles along the way.

Prof Andrew Geddes Dr Owen Parker 04/2015
M

Mélançon, Andrée-Anne

How Can Contemporary Aerial Warfare be Regulated to Uphold Non-Combatant Immunity and to be Just? Dr Ross Bellaby Dr Matt Sleat 10/2013

Mohd Hed, Norhafiz

nmohdhed1@sheffield.ac.uk

The Dynamics of Youth Political Participation in Southeast Asia: The Case of Malaysia Prof Maria Grasso Dr Nasos Roussias 10/2014

Morecroft, Sam

Towards Radical Political Unionism: What Does The Emergence of Independent Workers Organisations Mean for the Future of COSATU and for Labour Relations in South Africa? Prof Graham Harrison Prof Jonathan Joseph 10/2012

Mulugeta Gebrie, Daniel

d.gebrie@sheffield.ac.uk

Encountering the Everyday Sub-Sahara African state: local governance practices and the construction of state idea in Ethiopia. Prof Graham Harrison Dr Matt Sleat 10/2013

N

Nicolaou, Claire

Counter-terrorism Culture: The implications for the democratic tradition in the USA and UK Dr Inanna Hamati-Ataya (Aberystwyth University) Prof John Hobson 10/2011

P

Pettrachin, Andrea

apettrachin1@sheffield.ac.uk

Understanding the Refugee Crisis: An Actor-Centred Analysis of the Constitution of Asylum
Governance in Italy
Professor Andrew Geddes Dr Owen Parker 11/2016

Polanco Leal, Perla

perla.polanco@sheffield.ac.uk

Resource Nationalism in Mexico Dr Hayley Stevenson Prof Ian Bache 10/2011

R

Reis, Sara

sara.reis@sheffield.ac.uk

Gender mainstreaming in the EU: a paradox for women’s rights organisations. Prof  Ian Bache Dr Daniela Tepe-Belfrage 10/2014

S

Schmid, Davide

The Dialectic of Reality and Utopia in Critical International Relations Theory Prof Jonathan Joseph Prof John Hobson 10/2013

Smith, Katherine

katherine.smith@sheffield.ac.uk

A crisis in democratic participation? The impact of inequality on the political (dis)engagement of young people Prof Maria Grasso Dr Liam Stanley 2017

Southern, Polly

Dr Garrett W. Brown Dr Alisdair Cochrane 10/2014
W

Webb, Jonathan

j.webb@sheffield.ac.uk

The EU and Democratisation in Serbia Prof  Andrew Geddes Dr Simon Rushton 10/2014

Webster, Brian

Debtor Country Strategy and Influence over Loan Negotiations with the International Monetary Fund: A discursive approach Prof  John Hobson Prof  Graham Harrison 10/2011

Back to top