PhD Research Student Profiles

The table below lists our students currently studying towards a research degree. You can go on to their profiles to find out more information about their work.

Click here to find out more about recent research graduates.

Student PhD Title Primary Supervisor Secondary Supervisor Started

A

Adekoya, Remigius

Prof. Graham Harrison Dr Simon Rushton 02/2015

Aliyeva, Adila

aaliyeva1@sheffield.ac.uk

Social Capital in the South Caucasus: A comparative analysis of Azerbaijani and Georgian societies Prof Maria Grasso Prof Andrew Taylor 10/2013

Amidi, Sabina

Women and Social Change in Egypt and Tunisia Prof Maria Grasso Prof John Hobson 10/2013

Argyroulis, Dimitrios

dargyroulis1@sheffield.ac.uk

ECOFIN and the Post-crisis Institutionalisation of European Economic Governance: A Sociological Institutionalist Approach Prof Simon Bulmer Dr Owen Parker 10/2015

Arnott, Andrew

andrew.arnott@sheffield.ac.uk

Variations in European Union anti-establishment parties Dr Nasos Roussias Prof Maria Grasso 10/2016
Asiamah, George
Prof James Wilsdon Em Prof Peter Horton FRS 10/2018

B

Barker, Jennifer Dr Matthew Wood 10/2018
Bastaki, Ahmed Dr Anastasia Shesterinina Prof Maria Grasso 10/2018

Bayramova, Gunay

The Role of Energy in Azerbaijan’s Foreign Policy Dr Hayley Stevenson 10/2011

Bruckmayer, Michaela

m.bruckmayer@sheffield.ac.uk

A Vulnerable Threat? The Impacts of Policy Framing on Child Migration Policy Outcomes Prof Andrew Geddes Dr Matthew Bishop 10/2014

C

Chamberlain, James

Prof Graham Harrison Liam Stanley 10/2014
Coiley, George 10/2017

Cordasco, Carlo

c.cordasco@sheffield.ac.uk

Rethinking Spontaneous Order: Norms, Institutions and Legitimacy Dr Matt Sleat Dr Alasdair Cochrane 10/2012

D

Dafnos, Andreas

adafnos1@sheffield.ac.uk

Far-right groups in the UK: Investigating cumulative extremism Prof Maria Grasso Dr Nasos Roussias 10/2015
Delfin, Pilana 02/2017

Dickinson, Hannah

Working in the BIOSEC Project Prof Rosaleen Duffy Prof Dan Brockington 10/2016
Duncan, Lynzi 01/2016

F

Ferhani, Adam 10/2017
Fey, Jana Maria 10/2017

Foley, Laura

laura.foley@sheffield.ac.uk

The governance of labour migration in Southeast Asia Prof Andrew Geddes Prof Genevieve LeBaron 10/2016

G

Godziewski, Charlotte

c.godziewski@sheffield.ac.uk

Possibilities and limitations of deliberation in health governance: The case of EU governance of health promotion Dr Owen Parker Dr Simon Rushton 10/2016

H

Hanif, Hasrul 05/2018
Hansen, Rasmus 10/2015
Hill, Mary Anne 10/2015

Ho, Ka Chun Prof Ian Bache 10/2018
Hughes, Robin 10/2016

J

Jackson, James

jjackson13@sheffield.ac.uk

Driving towards climate change - the barriers to decarbonising the automobile sector Professor Charlotte Burns Professor Ian Bache 10/2018

Joanny, Laure

laure.joanny@sheffield.ac.uk

Green surveillance technologies Prof Rosaleen Duffy Prof Dan Brockington 10/2017
Jung, Minju 10/2018

K

Kaleem, Amna 10/2018
Kaczmarczyk, Patrick 10/2018

L

Lappe-Osthege, Theresa

Dr Hayley Stevenson Prof Jonathan Joseph 10/2014
Leary, Andrew 10/2017

Leman, Jason

JCLeman1@sheffield.ac.uk

Local parties and participatory governance in English Local Councils Dr Felicity Matthews Dr Kate Dommett 10/2014

Lixi, Luca

luca.lixi@sheffield.ac.uk

The European External Migration Governance: understanding the pathways to progress and the obstacles along the way.

Prof Andrew Geddes Dr Owen Parker 04/2015

M

Mangule, Indra 10/2015

Meakin, Alexandra

a.meakin@sheffield.ac.uk

The politics of the Restoration and Renewal of the Palace of Westminster

Professor Matthew Flinders  Dr Felicity Matthews 10/2016

Mensah, Gloria

gmmensah1@sheffield.ac.uk

Agenda-setting and Carbon Dioxide Utilization Technologies (CDU) in the UK Dr. Kate Dommett Dr. Chris Jones and Prof. Peter Styring 10/2016

Morecroft, Sam

Towards Radical Political Unionism: What Does The Emergence of Independent Workers Organisations Mean for the Future of COSATU and for Labour Relations in South Africa? Prof Graham Harrison Prof Jonathan Joseph 10/2012

Mulambia, Chishimba

chishimba.mulambia@sheffield.ac.uk

Decentralisation and Health Service Governance in Zambia Dr. Simon Rushton Dr. Muhammad Sadiq 10/2016

N

Nie, Cong 10/2018
Norton, Rod 10/2018

P

Pettrachin, Andrea

apettrachin1@sheffield.ac.uk

Understanding the Refugee Crisis: An Actor-Centred Analysis of the Constitution of Asylum
Governance in Italy
Professor Andrew Geddes Dr Owen Parker 11/2016
Pemberton, Edward 10/2018
Pietila, Kaisa 10/2016

Polanco Leal, Perla

perla.polanco@sheffield.ac.uk

Resource Nationalism in Mexico Dr Hayley Stevenson Prof Ian Bache 10/2011

S

Smith, Katherine

katherine.smith@sheffield.ac.uk

A crisis in democratic participation? The impact of inequality on the political (dis)engagement of young people Prof Maria Grasso Dr Liam Stanley 2017

Southern, Polly

Dr Garrett W. Brown Dr Alisdair Cochrane 10/2014

V

Valenca, Henrique 10/2018

W

Wang, Zidi 10/2018

Webb, Jonathan

j.webb@sheffield.ac.uk

The EU and Democratisation in Serbia Prof  Andrew Geddes Dr Simon Rushton 10/2014
Weinberg, James 10/2015
Woolf, Alex 10/2018

Z

Zhang, Shizhi 10/2015

Back to top