Our members

Current academic members of the Sheffield Institute of Corporate and Commercial Law include a wide variety of experts and experienced researchers:

Off

Name Contact Details Research Interests
Naomi Hawkins (Director) n.l.hawkins@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 6719
  • Intellectual property and innovation law
  • Patent law
  • Medical law and ethics
  • Socio-legal studies

Dr Konstantina Bania (Co-Deputy Director)

k.bania@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 114 222 6823

  • Competition Law Enforcement in Digital Markets
  • Platform Regulation (broadly defined)
  • Media Law
Sally Zhu (Co-Deputy Director)

s.s.zhu@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 114 222 6810

  • Property Law
  • Contract
  • Consumer Law
  • Digital Economy
  • Legal Theory

A

Name Contact Details  Research Interests
Dr Joe R Atkinson

j.r.atkinson@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 114 222 6826

  • Employment law
  • Human rights
  • Private law
  • Legal theory

B

Name Contact Details Research Interests
Luke Blindell l.blindell@sheffield.ac.uk
  • Company Law
  • Corporate Governance
  • Corporate Social Responsibility
  • Corporate Governance & Sustainability
  • International Human Rights
Bojan Bugaric b.bugaric@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 6770
  • Constitutional Law
  • Comparative (Constitutional) Law
  • EU Law
  • Law, Democracy and Populism
  • Law and Development
  • International Trade, War and Peace
David Benbow

d.benbow@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 114 222 6709

  • Healthcare Law
  • Socio-legal Studies
  • Legal Theory

C

Name Contact Details Research Interests
Ding Chen

ding.chen@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 114 222 6734

  • Law and development
  • Corporate governance
  • Company law
  • Financial regulation
  • New Institutional Economics

Jiahong Chen

jiahong.chen@sheffield.ac.uk
  • Data protection law
  • Cybersecurity law
  • Law and AI
  • Data ethics
  • Internet regulation

Richard Craven

richard.craven@sheffield.ac.uk
 +44 114 222 6856
  • Administrative Law
  • Regulation
  • Public Procurement Regulation
  • Empirical Legal Studies
  • Law and Economics

E

Name Contact Details Research Interest

Nwanneka Ezechukwu

n.v.ezechukwu@sheffield.ac.uk
  • Consumer protection law and policy
  • Financial services innovation (particularly payment services)
  • The impact of regulation on financial inclusion
  • The regulation of online platforms
  • Regulatory compliance

K

Name Contact Details Research Interests
Tsachi Keren-Paz t.keren-paz@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 (0)114 222 6844
  • Private law theory
  • Torts
  • Medical negligence
  • Restitution
  • Economic analysis of law
  • Human trafficking and privacy

M

Name  Contact Details Research Interests

Gulsirin Gok Muller

g.gok.muller@sheffield.ac.uk
 +44 114 222 6723
  • Competition law and policy objectives in emerging markets
  • The enforcement of competition law in digital and online retail markets

Callum Musto

c.musto@sheffield.ac.uk
  • International Law
  • Treaty interpretation
  • International dispute settlement
  • Environmental law 
  • Law of the sea

P

Name Contact Details Research Interests
Stefanie Pletz S.Pletz@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 6840
  • Transnational Financial Law
  • Public International Economic Law
  • Global Regulatory Regimes
  • Critical Legal Theory
  • Critical Legal Thinking

R

Name Contact Details Research Interests
Andreas Rühmkorf A.Ruhmkorf@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 6701
  • Corporate Social Responsibility
  • Company Law and Corporate Governance (European and Comparative)
  • Internet Law (E-Commerce and Privacy)

S

Name Contact Details Research Interests
Navajyoti Samanta N.Samanta@sheffield.ac.uk
  • Company law and corporate governance
  • Quantitative legal research
  • Law and Economics

W

Name Contact Details Research Interests
Dr Adam White

adam.white@sheffield.ac.uk

+44 114 222 6813

My research focuses on four interconnected themes:

  1. The rise of the private security and private military industries in the post-war era.
  2. Corresponding issues of governance, regulation and legitimacy in the security and military sectors.
  3. The conceptual and empirical connections between war and crime.
  4. The changing nature of state-market relations.

These interests are multidisciplinary, lying at the intersection of criminology, politics, international relations and socio-legal studies.

Z

Name  Contact Details Research Interests

Andrea Zappalaglio

a.zappalaglio@sheffield.ac.uk
  • Geographical Indications
  • Trademarks and International Trade
  • International IP Law
  • Traditional Knowledge and Heritage
  • Intellectual Property and Sustainable Development
  • Intellectual Property and Food Law
Dr Frank (Tietie) Zhang Tietie.Zhang@sheffield.ac.uk
+44 114 222 6717
  • International Commercial Arbitration
  • International Commercial Law
  • International Dispute Resolution
  • International Trade Law
  • Chinese Legal System

PhD Members 

Catherine Pocock cpocock1@sheffield.ac.uk
Dan Song DSong4@sheffield.ac.uk
James C Brown jcbrown1@sheffield.ac.uk
Kevin Fleming kfleming1@sheffield.ac.uk
Nora NT Abo Shareb NNTAboShareb1@sheffield.ac.uk
Yuheng Wang YWang12@sheffield.ac.uk

Members from outside School of Law

Alberto Montagnoli a.montagnoli@sheffield.ac.uk
Andrew Hindmoor a.hindmoor@sheffield.ac.uk
Genevieve LeBaron g.lebaron@sheffield.ac.uk
Liam Stanley l.m.stanley@sheffield.ac.uk
Zhong Zhang zhong.zhang@sheffield.ac.uk

 We welcome applications from academics, practitioners and anyone who has an interest in corporate and commercial law. 

Apply to be a visiting scholar


Our members at Renmin University Law School

Name Contact Details Research Interests
Professor Zhu Daqi zhudaqi@tom.com
  • Economic Law
  • Fiscal and Tax Law
  • Financial Law
Professor Yao Haifang  yaohaifang@sohu.com
  • Economic Law
  • Company Law
  • Consumer Law
  • Industrial Law
  • Law and Economics
Professor Xu Yangguang  xuyangguang@126.com
  • Economic Law
  • Corporate and Bankruptcy Laws
  • Tax and Financial Law

Flagship institutes

The University’s four flagship institutes bring together our key strengths to tackle global issues, turning interdisciplinary and translational research into real-world solutions.