Academic staff

On this page you will find contact details for each member of academic staff. Each person's name links through to their staff profile, research interests and research group web pages.

All telephone numbers should be prefixed with 0114 22 if calling from inside the UK. All telephone number should be prefixed with +44 114 22, if dialling from outside the UK. All email addresses should be suffixed with '' All room numbers are in the Dainton Building, unless stated otherwise.

Name Room Phone Email
Dr Thomas Anderson University Teacher and Senior Tutor E48 29489
Prof. Steven Armes, FRS Professor of Polymer and Colloid Chemistry D42a 29342
Prof. Lee Brammer Professor of Inorganic and Solid State Chemistry C95 29536
Dr Jennifer A. Burnham Senior University Teacher C12m 29488
Dr Adrien Chauvet Lecturer in Physical Chemistry C94 29414
Prof. Beining Chen Professor of Medicinal Chemistry C91 29467
Dr Barbara Ciani Lecturer in Biophysical Chemistry C72 29438
Prof. Iain Coldham Professor of Synthetic Organic Chemistry C99 29428
Dr Marco Conte Lecturer in Physical Chemistry C92 29506
Dr Timothy D. Craggs Lecturer in Biological Chemistry E32 29347
Dr Colin J. Crook University Teacher D56 29407
Dr Robert Dawson Lecturer in Polymer Chemistry C96 29357
Dr Jonathan A. Foster Ramsay and Vice-Chancellor's Fellow C51 29427
Prof. Patrick Fowler, FRS Professor of Theoretical Chemistry G9 29538
Prof. Jane A. Grasby Professor of Biological Chemistry C83 29478
Prof. Joseph P. A. Harrity Professor of Synthetic Organic Chemistry C74 29496
Dr Anthony Haynes Reader in Inorganic Chemistry  C98 29326
Dr J. Grant Hill Lecturer in Theoretical Chemistry G5c 29392
Dr Michael Hippler Senior Lecturer in Physical Chemistry C90 29505
Dr Julie Hyde Senior University Teacher and Schools Liaison Coordinator C12L 29384
Dr Ahmed Iraqi Reader in Polymer Chemistry C76 29566
Prof. Richard F. W. Jackson Professor of Organic Chemistry E83 29464
Prof. Simon Jones Professor of Chemistry C78 29483
Prof. Graham Leggett Professor of Nanoscale Analytical Chemistry E17 29556
Dr Natalia Martsinovich Lecturer in Theoretical Chemistry G2 29562
Prof. Anthony J. H. M. Meijer Professor of Theoretical Chemistry G8a 29482
Dr Michael J Morris Senior Lecturer in Inorganic Chemistry C93 29363
Dr Oleksandr O. Mykhaylyk Senior Research Fellow in Crystallisation B13A 29418
Dr Benjamin M. Partridge Lecturer in Organic Chemistry C77 29303
Dr Peter Portius Lecturer in Inorganic Chemistry C80 29385
Dr Jim Reid Lecturer in Biological Chemistry C97 29558
Prof. Anthony J Ryan, OBE Professor of Physical Chemistry D37 29382
Dr Sebastian Spain Lecturer in Polymer Chemistry C73 29362
Dr Sarah Staniland Reader in Bionanoscience C71 29539
Prof. Peter Styring Professor of Chemistry and Head of Department C86 29336
Prof. Jim A. Thomas Professor of Coordination Chemistry C84 29325
Dr Lance Twyman Senior Lecturer in Polymer Chemistry D50 29560
Prof. Julia A. Weinstein Professor of Physical Chemistry C75 29408
Dr David M. Williams Reader in Chemical Biology C79 29502
Prof. Nick H. Williams Professor of Physical Organic Chemistry and Director of Learning and Teaching C81 29469/29336
Prof. Mark J. Winter Professor of Chemistry C82 29304
Dr James Wright Teaching Associate E50 29401
Back to the top