Current Research Students (by period)

P: Primary Supervisor | S: Secondary Supervisor

Pre-1500

Bell, Joshua (also listed under 1500-1800)

JBell7@sheffield.ac.uk

The Reception of Dreams in Early Modern Italian Popular Culture - 1450-1550.

P: James Shaw

S: Erin Maglaque


Dagnall, Lewis

LWDagnall1@sheffield.ac.uk

Tribute and the Transformation of the Later Roman World (c.284-602 CE).

P: Julia Hillner

S: Charles West


Gilbert, Richard

RGilbert2@sheffield.ac.uk

Late Medieval English Society in Transition: the Tinsley Court Rolls in Context.

P: Charles West

P: Anthony Milton


Heffron, Robert

RLHeffron1@sheffield.ac.uk

Late Antique Female Segregation: Gendered Spaces in Rome and Constantinople.

P: Julia Hillner

S: Jane Rempel (Archaeology)


Palombi, Diego

DPalombi1@sheffield.ac.uk

Gender in progress. Feminine and Masculine Representations in the Old French Sept Sages.

P: Martial Staub

S: Charlotte Steenbrugge (English)


Traves, Alex

AWTraves1@sheffield.ac.uk

Kinship in Early Medieval England, AD 600 – 1050: Law, Land and Literature.

P: Charles West

S: Julia Hillner

 


Wu, Rosa

RWu6@sheffield.ac.uk

The Veil in Biblical and Classical Antiquity: A Sociocultural and Exegetical Study of 1 Corinthians 11: 2-16.

P: Mark Finney

S: Hugh Pyper (Philosophy)

 


Young, Mary

MPYoung1@sheffield.ac.uk

'De libris quos legere solebam'. Multi-text Manuscripts and the Accumulation and Transfer of Knowledge at Reichenau and St Gall in the Ninth Century.

P: Charles West

S: Martial Staub

 


Zhang, Tianpeng

TZhang68@sheffield.ac.uk

The Ministerium of the Male Secular Aristocracy in Others' Eyes: A Study of the Carolingian Admonition.

P: Charles West

S: Julia Hillner

 

1500-1800

Alston, Laura

ega08laa@sheffield.ac.uk

Women's Negative Emotions and Micro-Emotional Values 1700-1830: Examining Experiential Possibilities through Emotional Linguistics.

P: Bob Shoemaker

S: Karen Harvey (Birmingham)

 


Baxter, Roger (also listed under Post-1800)

RBaxter3@sheffield.ac.uk

Crime, Innovation and Mobility: Transport Migration and Policing in England, 1750-1950.

P: Bob Shoemaker

S: Colin Reid

S: Mark Roodhouse (York)


Bell, Joshua (also listed under Pre-1500)

JBell7@sheffield.ac.uk

The Reception of Dreams in Early Modern Italian Popular Culture - 1450-1550.

P: James Shaw

S: Erin Maglaque


Bennett, Michael

MDBennett1@sheffield.ac.uk

Merchant Capital and the Origins of the Barbados Sugar Boom, 1627-1671.

P: Michael Braddick

S: Tom Leng

 


Booth, Callum

CWBooth1@sheffield.ac.uk

Information Extraction and Entity Linkage in Historical Crime Records.

P: Bob Shoemaker

S: Rob Gaizauskas (Comp Sci)

 


Chatterjee, Apurba

AChatterjee2@sheffield.ac.uk

Images of Empire: A Study of Visual Representations in Early British India c.1757-1820.

P: Phil Withington

S: Saurabh Mishra

 


Graves, Jamie

JAGraves1@sheffield.ac.uk

Emotions and Social Status in Early Modern England.

P: Phil Withington

S: Kate Davison


Price, Leonie

lrprice2@sheffield.ac.uk

Initials, Goods and Buildings: Marriage as a Material and Social Practice in Early Modern England.

P: Phil Withington

S: Kate Davison


Slack, Hannah

HSlack2@sheffield.ac.uk

Defining America: The influence of the natural world on colonial migrants to the Chesapeake and New England (1607-1730).

P: Tom Leng

P: Caroline Pennock


Tapply, Kay

KGTapply1@sheffield.ac.uk

A Social and Intellectual Biography of Lucius Cary, 2nd Viscount Falkland.

P: Tom Leng

P: Phil Withington


Tomlinson, Kristine (also listed under Post-1800)

hip11kat@sheffield.ac.uk

Extralegal, Religious, and Legal Discipline in Harvard, Massachusetts from 1772 to 1815.

P: Bob Shoemaker

S: Andrew Heath


Tryner, Joe

JTryner1@sheffield.ac.uk

Entrate nel fuoco: Popular Politics in Early Renaissance Florence.

P: James Shaw

P: Michael Braddick


Walker, Nicola

NJWalker1@sheffield.ac.uk

Industrialising Communities in South Yorkshire, 1650-1850: A Case Study of Cannon Hall.

P: Bob Shoemaker

S: Karen Harvey (Birmingham)

S: John Tanner (Barnsley MBC)


Wallace, Hannah (School of English)

HWallace1@sheffield.ac.uk

Community, Conflict and Change at Chatsworth, 1700-1820.

P: Jane Hodson (English)

S: Karen Harvey (Birmingham)

S: James Towe (Chatsworth)


Winter, Mabel

MWinter2@sheffield.ac.uk

Finance, commerce, and politics in seventeenth-century England: The case of Thompson and Company 1671-1678.

P: Phil Withington

S: Tom Leng

Post 1800

Abakunova, Hanna

HAbakunova1@sheffield.ac.uk

The Rescue of Jews and Roma in Ukraine during the Holocaust.

P: Bob Moore

S: Benjamin Ziemann

 


Ackerley, Aaron

AMAckerley1@sheffield.ac.uk

Economic Ideas in the Interwar British Daily Press.

P: Adrian Bingham

 


Alruwaili, Mohammed

MAlruwaili1@sheffield.ac.uk

Radical Islam and Terrorism.

P: Mark Finney

S: Casey Strine

 


Baker, Joel

JRBaker1@sheffield.ac.uk

Public works, infrastructure development, and the social construction of the Spanish state under the Primo de Rivera dictatorship, 1923-1930.

P: Mary Vincent

S: Miriam Dobson (leave)

S: Simon Toner (cover)


Baxter, Roger (also listed under 1500-1800)

RBaxter3@sheffield.ac.uk

Crime, Innovation and Mobility: Transport Migration and Policing in England, 1750-1950.

P: Bob Shoemaker

S: Colin Reid

S: Mark Roodhouse (York)


Bird, Leo

LMBird1@sheffield.ac.uk

The British Comedy Industry: Prosperity and Decline in Live Comedy Performance, 1945-65.

P: Adrian Bingham

S: Caoimhe Nic Dhaibheid

 


Brennan, Patricia

POBBrennan1@sheffield.ac.uk

Working Together to Safeguard Children in Britain: Sheffield, 1870-1918.

P: Julia Moses

S: Colin Reid


Broeckx, Sylvia

SJJBroeckx1@sheffield.ac.uk

Sexual Violence and Rape during the American Civil War.

P: Andrew Heath

S: Simon Toner

 


Carter, Isabelle

IPCarter1@sheffield.ac.uk

The lived experience of multi-storey council housing in post-war Sheffield and Manchester.

P: Adrian Bingham

S: Julie Gottlieb

 


Diviney, Joseph

JDiviney1@sheffield.ac.uk

The 1984-5 Miners’ Strike and the Demise of the British Coal Mining Industry.

P: Adrian Bingham

S: Colin Reid


Everitt, Katherine

k.everitt@sheffield.ac.uk

Global Cotton Trade in the Late 18th and 19th Centuries.

P: Esme Cleall

S: James Shaw


Feerick, Mary

MFeerick1@sheffield.ac.uk

The Daily Mirror Shopping Clock an examination of the social and cultural impact of inflation on the domestic lives of the working class reader of this tabloid paper.

P: Adrian Bingham

S: Julie Gottlieb


Gutierrez Ramos, Carla

CAGutierrezRamos1@sheffield.ac.uk

Labour and Nation. Welfare, Sub-State Nationalism and Labour Unionism in Galicia and Scotland.

P: Eirini Karamouzi

P: Mary Vincent


Hall, Hilary

HAHall1@sheffield.ac.uk

The newspaper comic strip in the making of American mass culture, 1900-1935.

P: Andrew Heath

S: Adrian Bingham

 


Hanke, Sabine

SHanke1@sheffield.ac.uk

Bodies, Beasts, and the Others. Empire in the German and British Circus, 1890-1945.

P: Esme Cleall

P: Julia Moses

S: Mary Vincent


Hanna, Rory

R.Hanna@sheffield.ac.uk

Student Protest and Activism in West Germany, 1949-1967.

P: Andrew Tompkins

S: Benjamin Ziemann

 


John, Diana

DEJohn1@sheffield.ac.uk

Beards and Fag-hags: an Oral History of women who married gay men.

P: Adrian Bingham

S: Chris Millard

 


Jones, Vernon

VOSJones1@sheffield.ac.uk

Improving the Social and Working Conditions of Miners 1920-1946: The Contribution of the Miners' Welfare Fund.

P: Julie Gottlieb

S: Adrian Bingham

 


Kann, David

DMKann1@Sheffield.ac.uk

Conflicts and Collaboration in the Relationship between the Joodsche Weekblad (Jewish Weekly), the Joodsche Raad (Jewish Council) and the Germans during the Persecution of the Jews in the Occupied Netherlands.

P: Mary Vincent

S: Kostis Kornetis


Locke, Chris

CLocke1@sheffield.ac.uk

GPs, Politics and the Evolution of State-funded Healthcare in Britain 1909- 1949.

P: Julia Moses

S: Adrian Bingham

 


McAllister, Catherine

CAMcAllister1@sheffield.ac.uk

Epidemic Encephalitis and the Intersection of General and Mental Health Service Provision in Sheffield, 1917-1951.

P: Chris Millard

S: Adrian Bingham


Neffati, Imen

INeffati1@sheffield.ac.uk

The Politics of Offence in Hara Kiri and Charlie Hebdo 1960-2015.

P: Mary Vincent

S: Claire Chambers (York)

S: Wendy Michallat (French)


Noonan, Alex

ANoonan1@sheffield.ac.uk

The Political Culture of England, 1974-1994.

P: Adrian Bingham

S: Julie Gottlieb


Nowland, Joseph

JGNowland1@sheffield.ac.uk

A Lawless Land?: Crime, Violence and the San Francisco Committee of Vigilance, 1845 - 1865.

P: Andrew Heath

S: R.J. Knight


O'Connor, Aoife

AMOConnor1@sheffield.ac.uk

An Ancestor in Crime : Digitisation and the Discovery of Family Deviance.

P: Bob Shoemaker

S: Barry Godfrey (Liverpool)

S: Michael Pidd (Humanities Research Institute)


Olewicz, Chris

hip09cao@sheffield.ac.uk

History, Radicalism, and the New Left: Studies on the Left, 1959 - 1967.

P: Andrew Heath

S: Bob Moore


Prosser, Cherie

CLProsser1@sheffield.ac.uk

BEYOND NATIONALISM: Profression to Modernism in propaganda posters 1914-1920.

P: Julie Gottlieb

S: Teresa Vernon

S: Adrian Bingham


Pugh, Vicki

VLPugh1@sheffield.ac.uk

Problem bodies and sideshow space: A study of twentieth century sideshow in Blackpool 1930-1940.

P: Mary Vincent

P: Julia Dobson (French)


Roffey, Hallam

HRoffey1@sheffield.ac.uk

Offence, Obscene Material and the Boundaries of Acceptability in British Culture, c. 1960-2000.

P: Adrian Bingham

S: Lucy Brown

S: Mary Vincent


Royle, Daniel

hia05dr@sheffield.ac.uk

Spain in 1848: On the Edge of Revolution?

P: Mary Vincent

S: Colin Reid


Tomlinson, Kristine (also listed under 1500-1800)

hip11kat@sheffield.ac.uk

Extralegal, Religious, and Legal Discipline in Harvard, Massachusetts from 1772 to 1815.

P: Bob Shoemaker

S: Andrew Heath


Vasquez-Aguilar, Maria

pop05mev@sheffield.ac.uk

Exiles in Action: Political activism amongst the Chilean Refugees in the UK, 1973-2013.

P: Mary Vincent

S: Andrew Tompkins

 

Non-period specific

Gunce, Bayram

BGunce1@sheffield.ac.uk

Religious Literacy in schools.

P: Casey Strine

S: Joshua Forstenzer (Philosophy) 

 


Kennedy, Catherine

CHKennedy1@sheffield.ac.uk

Playing with the Hebrew Bible: Godly Play’s use of Genesis as a Case Study in Children’s Catechesis.

P: Casey Strine

S: Sara Whiteley (English)

 


Lee, Young Gil

YGLee1@sheffield.ac.uk

Birth Narratives in the Bible: Structural Function and Thematic Continuity.

P: Casey Strine

S: Mark Finney

 


Stanton, Bryan

BEStanton1@sheffield.ac.uk

The Interface between Demonology and Second Temple Purity Systems in the Markan Exorcism Stories.

P: Mark Finney

S: Katie Edwards (English)